We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in St Charles and disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1101 N. 3rd Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First time in St Charles and disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was our first time visiting St Charles and we found the bittersweet Inn online and it seemed to be a good find. It was about 3/4 of a mile from the historic district so it wasn't a bad walk and the price of $139 seemed reasonable for a B&B. Well I should have checked tripadvisor prior to booking. We arrived a little after 3 pm and the Innkeeper was just returning from the airport and told us we could not come in until 4pm because she had to water the plants. Okay not sure what that has to do with anything. So we walked to town and had a late lunch. On our return, we checked in, which was no more than giving us a front door key (1 key for 4 people.)telling us which room was ours and an hour conversation about her personal life. We finally got to our room, which was over stuffed with so much "stuff, there was no room for our items, the closet was full of winter coats and junk,it was hot and no air. There was a sticky note on the thermostat that said do not touch. We had this portable air conditioner that you had to stick a tube out the window that we were told we could use but she didn't use it because she didn't want anybody breaking in through the window. Also none of the bedroom doors had locks on the outside. You could lock yourself in but if you left the house you could not lock the door to prevent anyone from going in your room. We made it through the night only to find out we had no hot water and stiff scratchy towels. I guess the cold shower was to make up for the hot room. Breakfast was interesting. The innkeeper said she overslept so breakfast was 45 minutes late. She gave us coffee & fruit while we waited, but no mugs, plates or silverware. when breakfast was brought out, it was served to two people at a time so everyone, as a courtesy, was waiting for all plates to be served. Then she started bringing out so much food all at once, it bordered on ridiculousness. At least the other guest were fun and we all had a good laugh at this lady's crazy antics. I guess the icing on the cake was when we checked out, our bill was 30 dollars more than we expected. So to say the least we will definitely return to St Charles but will not be staying at the Bittersweet Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falcon, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

What a strange experience from start to finish. We arrived in the area about 30 minutes prior to check in. Thought we would at least put our bags in the house and have a look around. Oh no! We were "greeted" at the door by a woman with a phone to her ear, stepped out on the porch, closed the door behind her, said "I had to kick out the people who were in your room and then my daughter called and the flowers have not been watered yet!" So, off we went in 90 degrees walking to town. When we came back after dinner, we were given a key, shown our room and were told breakfast would be served at 9am. Kind of late for us but ok. Not sure there is enough room here to describe all of the kooky things that happened at breakfast. At 9am, I sat in the living room with 3 other couples, looking at a table with a coffee decanter but no mugs and water goblets with no water. Thankfully my husband had gotten up earlier and went to town for breakfast so he did not have to live through this. Lol! When the innkeeper finally appeared, she rambled on and on about her daughter, the dishwasher, her neighbors.....she placed a huge plate of fruit on the table but we had no plates or silverware. I apologized that my husband would not be joining us for breakfast but there would not have been a place for him at the table anyway. In short, my food was ice cold, the room was extremely hot, shower was lukewarm at best. Beautiful home and decorations but would recommend a Holiday Inn before this place, that's for sure. Thankfully we had only one night booked. Oh, our friends room gad a closet full of women's clothing......

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redfield
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The reviews on here are exactly right, we were served breakfast and coffee from the owner in her night gown and small cover up. She made vulgar comments that were not appropriate.
While we were trying to have conversation we were interrupted by unwanted, not nice information about past guests.
We had trouble sleeping, there was no air conditioning turned on, just fans.
Five of us had to share the same bathroom, the towels and cloths were scratchy and grey.
I would not recommend this B&B, We were considering leaving the first evening we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wish we had consulted Tripadvisor before we stayed, but our special occasion was ruined by many of the unbelievable antics of the innkeeper detailed in previous reviews. She was unwilling to open her door for check-in until the stroke of 4 p.m. (as opposed to 3:50, leaving us to swelter on her front porch). The room was miserably hot, and we were strictly prohibited from touching the thermostat. And she spouted so many sharply worded rude and inappropriate comments on any number of topics: calling her neighbors names, charged political comments, and inexplicably revealing highly inappropriate personal details at breakfast. Absolutely no mind/mouth filter. Added to a finale of bait and switch on price, we would never, ever recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at the Bittersweet w/Sandy. We couldn't have asked for anything more. There were 3 other couples staying in the house but we never heard anything or had problems w/neighborhood noise. It was quiet & peaceful.
Sandy is like an old friend the minute you meet her. She has a talent in her decor, cooking & gardens. She was helpful in recommendations for dinner, shopping & attractions.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My adult daughter and I spent a very comfortable night at the Bittersweet Inn the evening in June that tornadoes hit nearby areas of St. Charles. No fun! After spending forty-five minutes after our dinner in the cellar at Tony's on Main, it was great to return to the extremely comfortable bed in the cozy bedroom on the first floor. Sandy said it was the best room and I believe it was. Things were wonderfully peaceful and quiet all night long on 3rd Street. Too bad the building across the street is in such bad shape. Unfortunately it reflects poorly on the whole neighborhood.
Besides that comfy bed, there's the yummy breakfast. Wow! It was incredible. Sandy outdid herself with magnificent item after magnificent item--each one of which could have been a delicious breakfast in and of itself. And, it was served to us at an exquisitely set table. I'd only encountered buffets at previous B&B stays, so this was a real treat.
I'd read the reviews which complained about Sandy's excessive loquaciousness. But seriously, would it be better to have a sullen, unfriendly hostess? Sandy definitely makes you feel that you're a guest staying in her house and that was just fine with me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found this inn on the internet, and it sounded good, so we booked without seeing it first.
When we entered the dark cluttered living room entrance, a strong stale smell was the first thing we noticed.
After getiing settled in our upstairs room, we discovered our closets were also used for Inn storage, and debris littered our floor. We could only conclude in our opinion,that the room had not been cleaned since the last guest. However, the sheets seemed clean.
The bathtub could not be used as there was hair in it, and the bathroom floor had hair on it also. We should have left before staying the night, but the full picture was not evident until the next morning's daylight. I am sorry to say that I couild not recommend this Inn. Upon visiting the Visitor's Center, we realized that there were many more options to choose from.

Room Tip: I could not recommend this place, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1101 N. 3rd Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.