We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should have read tripadvisor first” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Charles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1101 N. 3rd Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Redfield
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I should have read tripadvisor first”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The reviews on here are exactly right, we were served breakfast and coffee from the owner in her night gown and small cover up. She made vulgar comments that were not appropriate.
While we were trying to have conversation we were interrupted by unwanted, not nice information about past guests.
We had trouble sleeping, there was no air conditioning turned on, just fans.
Five of us had to share the same bathroom, the towels and cloths were scratchy and grey.
I would not recommend this B&B, We were considering leaving the first evening we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I wish we had consulted Tripadvisor before we stayed, but our special occasion was ruined by many of the unbelievable antics of the innkeeper detailed in previous reviews. She was unwilling to open her door for check-in until the stroke of 4 p.m. (as opposed to 3:50, leaving us to swelter on her front porch). The room was miserably hot, and we were strictly prohibited from touching the thermostat. And she spouted so many sharply worded rude and inappropriate comments on any number of topics: calling her neighbors names, charged political comments, and inexplicably revealing highly inappropriate personal details at breakfast. Absolutely no mind/mouth filter. Added to a finale of bait and switch on price, we would never, ever recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our 10th anniversary at the Bittersweet w/Sandy. We couldn't have asked for anything more. There were 3 other couples staying in the house but we never heard anything or had problems w/neighborhood noise. It was quiet & peaceful.
Sandy is like an old friend the minute you meet her. She has a talent in her decor, cooking & gardens. She was helpful in recommendations for dinner, shopping & attractions.
We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My adult daughter and I spent a very comfortable night at the Bittersweet Inn the evening in June that tornadoes hit nearby areas of St. Charles. No fun! After spending forty-five minutes after our dinner in the cellar at Tony's on Main, it was great to return to the extremely comfortable bed in the cozy bedroom on the first floor. Sandy said it was the best room and I believe it was. Things were wonderfully peaceful and quiet all night long on 3rd Street. Too bad the building across the street is in such bad shape. Unfortunately it reflects poorly on the whole neighborhood.
Besides that comfy bed, there's the yummy breakfast. Wow! It was incredible. Sandy outdid herself with magnificent item after magnificent item--each one of which could have been a delicious breakfast in and of itself. And, it was served to us at an exquisitely set table. I'd only encountered buffets at previous B&B stays, so this was a real treat.
I'd read the reviews which complained about Sandy's excessive loquaciousness. But seriously, would it be better to have a sullen, unfriendly hostess? Sandy definitely makes you feel that you're a guest staying in her house and that was just fine with me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found this inn on the internet, and it sounded good, so we booked without seeing it first.
When we entered the dark cluttered living room entrance, a strong stale smell was the first thing we noticed.
After getiing settled in our upstairs room, we discovered our closets were also used for Inn storage, and debris littered our floor. We could only conclude in our opinion,that the room had not been cleaned since the last guest. However, the sheets seemed clean.
The bathtub could not be used as there was hair in it, and the bathroom floor had hair on it also. We should have left before staying the night, but the full picture was not evident until the next morning's daylight. I am sorry to say that I couild not recommend this Inn. Upon visiting the Visitor's Center, we realized that there were many more options to choose from.

Room Tip: I could not recommend this place, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very friendly owner, she was chatty, attentive and asked what we would like for breakfast the evening before. The room was a good size, clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was amazing, it just kept coming! Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and couldn't believe the other reviews - yes the innkeeper is very chatty (since when is that bad? Would you rather a silent ignorant person?). The rooms were clean and tidy, she told us beforehand she would be turning our beds down which didn't bother me at all (can't understand the people moaning when they do the same at some hotels!) there were no ants or bugs in our room either. People are too quick to complain and nitpick. The breakfast was fantastic and the only bad thing was that the room was a bit too hot. Other than that, a pleasant stay with a lovely innkeeper - some people on this site just seem to enjoy complaining!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1101 N. 3rd Street, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bittersweet Inn Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.