We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another amazing trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Ameristar again for a weekend getaway. As always the check-in was a breeze and the rooms were immaculate. The room service was ok, and the amenities are great such as the pool and gym. The spa as always was amazing, a bit pricey but it’s a casino hotel, so pretty standard for price wise. At night the hotel staff seem to be policing the elevators to the rooms to prohibit 20+ people gathered in the lobby area, trying to get access to the hotel part for some reason. That was a little weird as the hotel staff should have just removed them from the premise, instead of paying hotel guest having to walk through them.
Overall though, the hotel is great and service is amazing!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    74
    28
    14
    18
See reviews for
54
151
18
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A great place to stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. With the dining options available you could stay for days and never leave the building. The weekday rates we had for this clean room were comparable to other nice hotels we've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sappington, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Upfront I will say it was a comped room, but in all fairness, I wasn't expecting a last minute reservation for my birthday would pan out the day before! I was wrong! Check in was hassle free and the room was spacious and quite clean. Loved the stepdown to the living room. I had requested a high riverview and not only could you see lots, it was very quiet. The casino was a bit tight, but to be expected. We played for hours tho. The buffet was good (champagne breakfast) and the Monte Cristo at the diner was to die for! I like the feel of the shops as it feels a bit more Vegas style- good to meander around for a small casino. Overall, I'd come here for a special weekend and pay for it! Oh btw, if it is your birthday, you have special beads to wear. All night long employees and such are wishing you a happy birthday. Ya can't help but smile, even when you are losing..lol

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stay Nov.21st 2014 for one night. It was the most pleasurable stay of all casino& hotels in all our life!! After our first time staying at River City Casino , we thought we wouldn't experience any place better!! There was so much to do there for all ages! Loved all the shops & different eateries!! We didn't win a lot of money in casino,but played for hours!! We can't wait for our next stay!! We are going again Jan. 2nd 2015&we can't wait!! I am telling everyone it will be the best experience of there life&the most fun!! We loved the landscape!! We rate Ameristar five stars!! So people pack your bags & take your next vacation to Ameristar hotel , casino& spa! The staff are the best!!! Thank You Ameristar John & Barbie

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not a gambler but I needed a nice room in that area of the city. The room was among the nicest I've ever stayed in over the years. Most important of all things to me is the cleanliness and this place is among the best! Also, plenty of great restaurants in the complex. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite the 4- 4.5 star rating on travel sites like Expedia, this hotel belongs in the 3 to 3.5 range, as it does not offer the level of service or amenities you might expect from an upper tier hotel, especially considering the price. We traveled to St. Louis over the Thanksgiving weekend, and stayed at this hotel for four nights, and were completely underwhelmed.

Check-in was standard; although the front desk was polite, it was the same service you might expect from a Holiday Inn. On Friday night, when we passed the lobby, the line was monstrous (50-60 people long...honestly), so be prepared to wait if you check in over a congested time period.

The hotel room was large, but the amenities were nothing special. The room is broken down into two sections; there is a sunken living area with couch (non sleeper), TV (40 inch flat screen), small table and chair, and mini fridge (unstocked, no mini bar). There was also a small safe. The second part offers your sleeping area, which for us was two queen beds, and there is an additional 40ish inch flat screen as well. Missing from the room were some very basics things; one of the most basic was a hotel information book; you had no idea what restaurants/amenities were open/available. There was no room service menu, no ice bucket (not even sure where the ice machine would have been.. we looked), and nothing that seemed upgraded (from the alarm clock to the toiletries, everything in the room seemed perfectly suited for a 3 star hotel... underwhelming). On the plus side, I will say that the rooms are extremely quiet; this is one of the few hotels I’ve stayed in, that I didn’t hear so much as a peep from the hallway, or the adjacent rooms.

Housekeeping was adequate, but just barely. The floors were not swept during our stay (when I first walked in the room, I noticed confetti like material around the edges of the carpet, and under the bed from a previous guest). The room seemed like it was getting a bit worn as well.

One of the more troubling parts of the hotel was the air quality. The hotel is quite smoking friendly, and surprisingly to us, this extends to the hallways, elevators, and restaurants (i expected it simply to be limited to their casino). Unlike what you might see at other hotel/casinos, there was absolutely no smoke mitigation whatsoever... that smell just seems to waft in the air everywhere. We visited the casino a few times, and it was hard to stay in there more than an hour, as there is nothing circulating or pumping in fresh air. Disgusting, if you are a nonsmoker. Even the nonsmoking sections in the restaurants were hard to breath in.

And lastly, the decorum and courteousness of the staff, especially around the casino area, was well below expectation. Whether you were a hotel guest paying 200+ per night, or just someone coming in off the street, expect to be treated the same (with superficial politeness, and underling contempt).

Room Tip: We chose a poolside room versus the river view at check-in, but when you're on a higher floor, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the property for 3 days during a recent business trip to St. Charles. The entry and lobby are beautiful and upscale, which make me optimistic about the room. While the non-smoking room had a fantastic layout and decor with a step down 'living space', someone had clearly smoked there in the recent past because there was a lingering odor that air freshener could not overcome. For me, that put a damper on the whole experience. This was, btw, the second non-smoking room they put me in. The first non-smoking room had a really strong smell of cigarette smoke and I could not stay in it and requested a move. The room was generally clean - despite the odor - with some mold around the tub in the bathroom. The hotel store had limited hours so I was unable to buy water when I got there or before I left for work the next day. Also, travelers should note that the on-property restaurants (with the exception of the 'diner) are not open on Mondays. Overall, a typical business hotel experience - nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.