We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, family-friendly, casino hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, family-friendly, casino hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We've stayed here quite a few times, and it is the better of the two casino hotels in the immediate area. Nice, big rooms, with a huge bathroom, with both a shower and a separate tub, and with a sunken sitting area near the window, with its own TV and mini-fridge. They recently improved the TV offerings to the best and most comprehensive lineup of (mostly HD) channels I've seen in a hotel. I like that they have things for the whole family -- an indoor outdoor pool, and an arcade for the kids -- and that they (unlike the other casino nearby) have late-night dining options other than the in-casino snack bar.

There were some small glitches in the room, moreso than in the past. Missing glassware, very dirty windows, A/C unit that seemed to have trouble keeping up, and it was missing the book that listed the hotel services and numbers (why would someone steal that?) It was very crowded, and I apparently got the room below where they keep the herd of bison, but it was mostly a nice, comfortable, enjoyable stay (once the bison laid down for the night.)

This hotel was recently sold, and I just this month stopped receiving the Promotional offers I'd been receiving every month for the last 5 years, so if they're tightening up on the promos, I hope that's not a foreshadow on what will happen to the hotel, as it really is my 1st choice of casino hotels in the area.

Room Tip: The desk seem to be very good at trying to accommodate preferences, so if you prefer a river view, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    86
    29
    15
    20
See reviews for
63
169
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wintena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here while visiting family in St Louis. Beautiful hotel with great service. Many excellent dining choices on site. Great pool which we had a view of from our floor to ceiling hotel room window. There were 4 of us staying there plus a baby and we never felt cramped for space. Check in and check out went smoothly.Very close to shops and restaurants of historic St Charles. Would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights with our two boys ages 4 and 6. The room was very nice and spacious. The boys loved the fact they could watch tv while in the tub. During the day we enjoyed swimming at the pool. It was very big and security was around to make sure only guest were allowed in and enforced the rules.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The Ameristar casino hotel and spot is truly one of St. Louis area's best kept secrets. As you arrive valet parking is available or if you self park like we did, it is very close to entrance. Walking into the gorgeous hotel lobby, you will be greatest with friendly staff and an ice cold bottle of water. When we made it to our room, I thought we were at the Ventian in Las Vegas. The rooms are beautiful here. Everything is luxurious. Bathrooms have private toilet area, very modern separate shower and large tube. There is even a tv in restroom with plush robes to use while you stay. Very nice bed-oh so comfy!!! And then step down into a cozy living room to see a 3rd TV in the room with refrigerator and safe. Take a look out the window and see the Missouri River. Very nice pool area with indoor/ outdoor pool, hot tub and bar. The spa is very elegant as well. It is not heavily advertised, but it is a real treat if you go. Friendly staff and outstanding service!! Excellent restaurants and casino are attached to hotel. It is also within walking distance of downtown historical St. Charles. This hotel Is a must-you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel & casino complex is huge. There is an easy option to park your car, with two huge parking garages - parking was free. Service was good when checking in.

Rooms were huge and nice. The bed let me down a little bit, but it was okay. I was expecting more for the price.

There is a a highway nearby where you can expect to have delays because of the traffic but it should take like 30 minutes to drive to St Louis downtown. There is also lots of shopping malls within driving distance.

This hotel is very good, but I was expecting a little bit more for the price.

Room Tip: Higher floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review and we're glad that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

I celebrated my birthday and Thanksgiving at this Ameristar near St. Louis . A gorgeous room. It was clean and very plush. St. Charles is a quaint town with quaint shops so that was enjoyable as well. The casino was nice but the payoffs could have been better. I played quarter slots for over an hour and didn't have one win! The Thanksgiving buffet was delicious and the on site restaurants were very nice with good food.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice hotel. However, smoking was permitted in public spaces, which was annoying. Very nice indoor/outdoor pool. Suites are spacious and bathrooms very large. Overall, a nice place to stay, but better choices may exist if you are not gaming.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.