We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious and spacious rooms.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Charles, Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Luxurious and spacious rooms.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Very large rooms and beautiful view of the river. Feels very luxurious. The bathroom is unbelievable, spa tub. The bathroom is almost as big as most bedrooms. Pool area is very large as well as a large outdoor pool area. Very nice for the family. Well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    80
    28
    15
    19
See reviews for
58
158
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Let me start with overall the 1 night stay was a nice visit. I was working a couple hours away from the STL airport and had a morning flight out to come home. Did my driving the evening before and stayed at Ameristar. Casino was nice, meal at the buffet was fine.

Upon check in I had an issue, the room price at the desk was not the price I remembered from when I booked several weeks earlier. I mentioned the rate did not sound right and intended to go back when I had the exact number from the reservation email. Went up to the room and booted computer. Lo and behold the email showed a reservation but where the room rate should have been inserted was blank. My recommendation - if the room rate is not on your email - call the hotel. Not calling seems to get you the rack rate.

Room Tip: No room tips to offer. Evening into night was spent in the casino and I was asleep within 3 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were coming for a meeting that was scheduled at this facility. We reserved a non smoking king room. We arrived at the hotel at 3:30pm on Sunday (2/16). There was a line to check in. When we finally got up to the desk to check in, rooms were not ready. The reservation was wrong, hotel said we were to have two queen beds, but my reservation confirmation said king. At that point our question as to why so many people were "camped out in the lobby" had been answered. We were told they would call when our room was ready. Around 5:00pm we had not been contacted so we checked back with the front desk. We were given the same story we had been given an hour and a half before. We were also told it could be 9pm before our room could be ready. The two day meeting we were there for had a reception scheduled at 5:30 that night. After getting upset we were finally given a room on the twelfth floor. We got up to the room and it smelled like stale smoke and was a handicap assessable room. Which doesn't work well for us, mainly because of the closet situation with having garments to hang up. In this room they were dragging on the floor due to the placement of the bar in the closet. The next morning we called down for another room because the smell was too much for us. We were moved to the 20th floor. When I say we were moved, we gathered all of our stuff, went down to the front desk to get the new key. No offer to have our luggage taken to the new room. This room was much better, but still had a stale smell. The hallways and area around the elevators were unkept, the floors didn't look like they had been mopped or vacuumed in awhile. Very disappointed! Expected more and staff were not friendly or helpful!!

Room Tip: Put excellent on location because our two day meeting was held at this hotel. Room on the twentieth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
I am so sorry to hear this, Shelly, and apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. Quality guest service and cleanliness are both top priorities for us and what you described is certainly not our standard. We do appreciate your feedback and would like to follow up with you. Please feel free to send your contact information and details of your experience to Guest.Services@pnkmail.com and we'd be more than happy to get in touch with you. Thank you for visiting and we hope you give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warriors Mark, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night during a business trip and regret not having more time to enjoy the room. By the time we got in it was almost dinner time. After dinner there was play time. After play time it was bed time. The room was quite large, as was the bathroom. The large tub was nice to soak in while watching TV on the small flat screen beside the sink. The large sitting area was a nice place to sit a read for a short time and the bed was quite comfortable. Great night sleep, just wish I had more time to enjoy the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I'm glad you had a pleasant experience with us. We too regret you were unable to stay longer. Thanks for sharing your review and for being our guest. We can't wait to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 1 night on January 18th. Check in was easy, and they gave me a king room, with a river view, on a high floor, which is what I requested.

The room was spacious, and super clean. It had a separate sitting area with a couch and television. The bathroom was also large with a separate tub and shower. There was also a tv in the bathroom which was a nice touch. The bed was average, not super comfortable, but it was not terrible either.

We went to the pool to hang out for a while. It is a great area. It is an indoor/outdoor combo. you could swim outside even in the winter and the pool was heated. There were two hot tubs, one inside and one outside. There were a lot of kids there but we have four kids at home so noise and commotion don't bother us. There was no drink service at the pool area.

The only restaurant we visited was the buffet. I would say it was average, nothing special, but decent food.

We visited the casino. It was large and had a Vegas feel. It wasn't very smoky which we liked. There were plenty of slots and table games, and we never had any problems finding somewhere to play even on a Saturday night. We lost money, but we had a great time in the casino.

All of the staff that we came into contact with were friendly and helpful. This was a great place to visit, and we would definitely recommend this property. We can't wait to return and maybe stay two or three nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We're so happy to hear you and your wife had such a great stay with us! Thanks for sharing your review and for being our guest. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Check In....Quick & very friendly!
Room....King Bed....Super, w/river view. Very clean & roomy!
Buffet...Usually really good, but last time there, wasn't so great. A lot of the meat items were way over cooked. Pricey for kids to eat.
Pool/Hot Tub...Clean
Casino...like all...they take your money :-)
Price...If you don't have a promotional coupon, it is pretty pricey! I,myself will not pay that much per night to stay at a hotel.

Room Tip: I've never had a problem w/noise in the halls at this hotel. I always ask for river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks so much for the review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for being our guest. We hope to soon you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Stayed at the casino Friday, Jan 10th thru Sunday Jan 12. Employees are helpful and accomodating.The rooms were clean, food good, but machines are extremely tight. Don't bother trying to gamble Friday nights or Saturday nights. The best time to gamble is between 1:00 AM -4:00 AM Saturday mornings. All other times money was lost extremely fast. My husband and I have noticed this on numerous occassions when we stay at Ameristar. We normally go 1 per week but stay one weekend per month.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan A, Guest Relations Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Here at Ameristar, we strive to be a cut above the rest and to make your visit with us as memorable as possible. I am sorry to hear we did not deliver that experience. I have contacted our casino management team regarding your gaming experience. Thank you for visiting and we hope you give us another try
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.