We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Horrible Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I need to begin this review by providing the disclaimer that our room for this stay was comped due to casino points - HOWEVER, our negative experiences were a result of customer service, or lack thereof, that would have happened regardless of our paying status.

While the rooms are very large, contemporary, and nice (very similar to The Venetian in Las Vegas with the step down living room and large bathroom), the service hindered our overall stay.

Upon entering the pool area on a sunny, beautiful, and crowded Sunday afternoon, our group decided that we would partake in some drinks and appetizers while lounging by the pool. Things went downhill from here. On a Sunday afternoon, there was only 1 person working the pool area - a singler person covering the bar, pool side orders, as well as a small area where you can actually sit and eat with service. This was no fault to the server - they were just doing thier job. Because of this however, the line for drinks often was 7 or 8 people deep and it took 15-20 minutes or longer just to order and get a beer.

Our appetizer order was finally taken and the first plate arrived about 30 minutes later. Two hours later and multiple attempts to ask for an update, the second plate had still not arrived. Others have commented about spotting managements' lack of an eye for detail - the first manager we spoke to told us that he had other issues to deal with and that it was "time for him to move on". The SECOND manager we spoke to said that he would log it in his NIGHTLY REPORT and then attempted to sit there and socialize with us instead of trying to check on our order or even apologize for the inconvenience. Later that evening, we went to dinner at the sports bar/grill and only then, when we ran into him, did he offer to comp anything. Had we not seen him though, nothing would have been done.

About 9pm Sunday evening, after dinner, we once again went down to the pool to sit in the hot tub but found that there were no towels available. When I asked one of the "pool attendants" when more would be coming, she just smiled and said that there wouldn't be anymore...housekeeping was closed. The pool is open until 11pm! We had to dry off using the shirts that we had worn!

LIke I said, the hotel is nice, but the service we experienced should be an embarassment to the hotel and its management. Regardless of our guest status (again, comped room), no one that we interacted with knew this and for all they knew, we could have been spending big bucks on the room.

If the service doesn't improve, Ameristar will definitely never be the 5-star property that it is ATTEMPTING to be.

  • Liked — Room size; comfy beds
  • Disliked — Poor customer service; pool was overrun with kids...everywhere!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    85
    29
    15
    20
See reviews for
61
168
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Rooms very nice, comfortable, and roomy. Check in flawless.

We booked a non smoking which we got, but you would think the floor would also be non smoking - wrong ? Smokers in the hallways and elevator lobby.
If you stay, get a room as far away from the elevator lobby to avoid hearing everyone talking/laughing as they head to their rooms at 3 am.

Exercise room is excellent.
Pool (Indoor/outdoor) was nice but the guests leave a lot of trash behind (I guess they believe for the price they paid, someone else should clean up). I seen two black suited hotel employees
(which I believe were management) walk right over some of the trash at the side of the pool and didn't bother to pick it up. The pool bathrooms are a lawsuit waiting to happen - slick tile wet with lots of water (I hope !). Wear pool shoes and take it slow.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — over priced for what you get in amenities
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

This was our first stay at this hotel, and we enjoyed every minute of it. The room was very clean, bed was very comfortable, nice linens, comfortable bed and pillows. Flat screen t.v. in each room, even in the bathroom! The indoor outdoor pool area was very nice. The buffett down in the casino area was very good and the service that we recieved there was excellent. The only thing I would change would be to have the slot machines be a little looser...it would have been nice to have been able to play on our money alittle longer. We hope to go back again soon, maybe we'll be a little luckier then. But the hotel stay in itself was worth the trip. It's a beautiful room with a beautiful view. We are recommending it to our friends and family, and there is no doubt that we will return . Great Place!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2008

I just returned from a one night spa day/"Ladies' Night "at the Ameristar St. Charles.

The facility has great potential: beautiful rooms, nice spa, on-site nightlife. The problem is all the missing customer service details that you expect from a 4-star property. The hotel is new-opened in May 2008. We hope to give it another try after some time has passed and the kinks have been worked out.

The Hotel: The rooms are very nice-contemporary w/flair. We had a two rooms-a Spa Suite (king bed, large master bath w/oversize shower and walk-in closet, living area w/sofa, table, and two chairs, wet bar with 3 barstools, and a powder room for guests) and a regular room (two queen beds, oversize bath, and sitting area). I booked the regular room in person at the front desk in early May 2008 and then walked over to the bellman's desk and used the hotel's computer to book the spa room via Orbitz.'s website. I had to book the spa suite thru Orbitz because the hotel sold Orbitz the spa suite rooms in early May 2008. .

The Spa: ARA-The Spa at Ameristar is a nice addition to the St. Louis area. The facility is on par with 4 star resort spas: wet steam, dry steam, vichy room, and massage treatment areas along with manicure/pedicure service as well as relaxation areas.

The Pool: The pool is located on the 5th floor. Beautiful outdoor area with trees and cabana bar service. The pool has a swim-thru to the indoor pool area . Lots of children on the Saturday that we were there (not the grown-up experience we were hopping for). The hotel insists that pool guests under the age of 14 be accompanied by an adult. It seemed that several of the children had been escorted into the pool area past security by their "adult" and then the adults were leaving them in the pool area to explore the casino. The spa has a separate door that leads into the indoor pool area that is locked from the outside because, according to a spa employee, children were wandering into the spa and had made a mess in the relaxation areas.

We had several customer service issues that were ultimately resolved (room we had reserved and paid for via Orbitz was oversold-we were granted a spa room after an hour at the front desk, tub in spa hotel room had a broken drain & running toilet, initially didn't receive the full agreed credit amount for the inconvenience at check-in). Our stay was not the 4-star experience we had hoped for and expected ($700 in hotel room costs for one night, not to mention the amount spent on various spa treatments). The staff was kind and polite but not very helpful to our situation even after admitting they were at fault and had oversold the rooms. In-house reservations didn't know that the hotel had adjoining rooms and that spa suites existed when we toured the facility in May 2008.

We managed to have a good time even though we experienced bad hotel customer service.

Hotel Bellman "Josh" gave us the hotel tour back in May 2008 and remembered us when we arrived Saturday. He was very professional and friendly.

I wouldn't feel comfortable recommending a "special occasion" stay at this property until all the "new hotel" issues have been resolved.

  • Liked — Everything in the facility is new
  • Disliked — Check-in experience was poor
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

I was expecting a very nice hotel, since it was new, and let me tell you...I got what I expected and more! The lobby was very big, clean, and all around awesome. The service at check-in was also great. The elevators were super smooth. My room was on the 15th floor. My first impresion of the room was "WOW" There are 3 HD Flat Screen TVS! Two very large ones and one small one in the bathroom, now thats nice! Speaking of the bathroom, it was huge and exquisite. Large shower and tub (seperate) Two sinks and granite surfaces. The beds were very comfortable and the living area was very nice. Very comfortabe sofa and chairs. YES! Free wireless internet! All the furnishings were very, very nice and in my opinion top notch. Overall, one heck of a nice hotel, great job Ameristar!! When in St. Charles, choose Ameristar!

The pool area was also VERY nice and clean, with a security gaurd.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

The Ameristar's new hotel in St. Charles, MO is a top notch getaway. Their newly built hotel has the best in amenities and service. It's lobby is attractively adorned and altruistic in height. The room we stayed in hosted to "memory foam" type beds with contemporary soft linens. The leather head board (see photo) was a ecstatic touch also. The bi- floor layout takes you away from the depressing floor plans of the bygone days and allots a separate atmosphere to enjoy. Each space has a large flat screen and the shower/bath area an additional smaller unit to view while relaxing in the bathtub. Dual basins along with the glass shower is not even the tip of the iceberg. Currently they are completing up construction on the spa and swimming facilities. We absolutely plan to come back. In addition, the hotel obviously has a casino, nightclub, plenty of dining options, and comedy club, so you will never need to leave this place. If you did, beautiful and historical downtown St. Charles is right around the corner.
I will add that the whole staff acting professionally and were always inquiring if we needed anything.

  • Liked — Poshness and everything nearby.
  • Disliked — Smoky casino part, hard on the eyes.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

Great Hotel! Friendly staff. The rooms have 3 tvs one in the bedroom one in the sunken living area,which has a couch char and table, and one in the bathroom. The bathroom was HUGE! There is a big tub and a seperate glass enclosed shower.Their is a seperate stall with the toilet. There are also two sinks and the tv. The Beds dont have a headboard but the have a leather pillow that goes all the way up the wall to the ceiling. The pool and spa was still under construction when I went last week. The pool and spa are due to open by the end of spring.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.