We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Casino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Saint Charles
Malden, Missouri
1 review
“Great Hotel/Casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Check-in was fast and the the staff was very friendly. Enjoyed spending time in the spacious and clean rooms. My husband and I use this as getaway and always have a great time. Usually when we pick up family from the airport we like to stay at this hotel. The price and quality is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    70
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
53
140
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Check in was simple with staff offering selection of floor level, river or pool view. Our hotel suite was excellent with river views. Rooms are very spacious with separate sunken living room. Suites have small refrigerators and coffee makers. Bottled water and coffee is provided. Televisions in all three areas including spacious bathroom which has a separate bath, shower and toilet room. Maid service was friendly and very professional. There are numerous restaurants, gift shop, bakery, a spa, exercise room, inside and outside pools and hot tubs on the property. This facility lacks nothing for giving the visitor exceptional value for the money.

Room Tip: If you need anything, advise reservations representative of your needs and they will happily provide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed the night for the first time and everything was excellent, the staff was great. I live in Peoria,Il and would come every weekend given the chance. Great, Great, Great. I am waiting to plan our next trip, I want to have my sisters come up from Memphis to meet me there.

Room Tip: Any Room to me is good you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Six crazy girls going for a birthday trip to the casino and staying in the hotel - what could be better than that? Well, winning in the casino but we had an absolutely great time from the minute we walked in the door. The bell hop, Curtis, was friendly and informative. The front desk people made sure we had adjoining rooms. The rooms were perfect! We had a living (party) area in each room that was large enough to accommodate all of us. Even the housekeepers made us feel welcome - giving us extra coffee and towels. The entire experience was so much fun we stayed 2 nights and 3 days. Highly recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: I've stayed here several times and never had a bad room. However, if you want a view of the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had our third visit to the Ameristar St. Charles Resort Spa. Requested a high river view and were given a suite on the 24th floor. Great view of the sunrise. Rooms are very spacious and got a good rate from monthly mailing.

Room Tip: Best to request a non-smoking room with Missouri River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

First things first... the hotel room I had was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable. The room was incredibly spacious, with 3 TVs, a sunken "living room" and a comfy couch. There was a separate bath and shower as part of a very large bathroom. The maid service was very friendly and did a great job.

The rest of the property was pretty good. There was no sportsbook (not allowed in Missouri, sadly), and the casino was nice enough, albeit somewhat stingy. I really liked the setup, where you could enter the hotel without having to pass through the casino. I enjoyed the concourse that allowed you to walk by the restaurants and bars on your way to the casino (or the conference center).

Parking was plentiful, the hotel/casino is close to "historic St. Charles" and very easy to get to, especially from the airport.

The only downside was the smoking... which was allowed pretty much everywhere outside the hotel. But that's par for the course with casinos.

Room Tip: You want to be overlooking the river if you want to see anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. Immediately we were impressed with the property. At check-in, we were offered a selection of a high or low floor and whether we would like a riverside room (of course we did).

After the quick and pleasant check-in process, we headed up to find a gorgeous and spacious room. The bathroom was very large, with double sinks, a separate tub and shower, and even a TV. This was excellent for me, as we were there on a Sunday and I was able to watch the afternoon football game while getting ready (even in the shower!) to head down to the casino. The rest of the room was just as nice. There was a large and comfy King bed and a large TV, and then you could step down into a living area with a couch and yet another TV. We wished we had been able to stay for more than one night, as we were not able to use all of the amenities in the time we had. The river view, while not spectacular, was a big step up from the view you get at most hotels in the area.

The pool area was nice, however, we went in the afternoon and there were a lot of rowdy kids. It probably wouldn't have been as noticeable if it had been warmer weather so we could have taken advantage of the outside portion of the pool. I did notice that they had a nice fire pit on the courtyard area around the outside part of the pool. Again, if we'd had more time, we probably would have bundled up a bit and gone out to enjoy it, but it was time for us to get ready to head to the casino for the evening.

The casino was nice, albeit a bit smoky. We only played blackjack during the evening, and we had enough luck to come out ahead for the night even after drinks. I wasn't very hungry, but my husband ordered a breakfast burrito from the deli in the upstairs area. This burrito was no joke. I think it was around $8, but it contained at least 12 strips of bacon, some sausage, cheese, and what appeared to be at least 8 eggs. It was a monster. After my husband was full, I picked at it a little bit, but we didn't even come close to finishing it. Pretty good value, if you're hungry and/or want a break from gambling.

The bartenders were nice and the drinks were not as expensive as they could have been. At the end of the evening, we decided to order a beer and take it up to the room. The bartender told us that security might make us pour it into plastic cups, which was not ideal, but we decided to chance it, and didn't have any problems.

One thing that would have been nice would have been some kind of in-room movie system. We probably would have paid for one when we returned to the room, as there was really nothing on TV, but instead we just channel surfed for a while before calling it a night.

Overall, we had a great experience and will likely return if we are able to get a decent deal on the hotel room again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.