We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, pretty good supporting cast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Saint Charles
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, pretty good supporting cast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

First things first... the hotel room I had was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable. The room was incredibly spacious, with 3 TVs, a sunken "living room" and a comfy couch. There was a separate bath and shower as part of a very large bathroom. The maid service was very friendly and did a great job.

The rest of the property was pretty good. There was no sportsbook (not allowed in Missouri, sadly), and the casino was nice enough, albeit somewhat stingy. I really liked the setup, where you could enter the hotel without having to pass through the casino. I enjoyed the concourse that allowed you to walk by the restaurants and bars on your way to the casino (or the conference center).

Parking was plentiful, the hotel/casino is close to "historic St. Charles" and very easy to get to, especially from the airport.

The only downside was the smoking... which was allowed pretty much everywhere outside the hotel. But that's par for the course with casinos.

Room Tip: You want to be overlooking the river if you want to see anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    59
    25
    11
    15
See reviews for
47
127
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. Immediately we were impressed with the property. At check-in, we were offered a selection of a high or low floor and whether we would like a riverside room (of course we did).

After the quick and pleasant check-in process, we headed up to find a gorgeous and spacious room. The bathroom was very large, with double sinks, a separate tub and shower, and even a TV. This was excellent for me, as we were there on a Sunday and I was able to watch the afternoon football game while getting ready (even in the shower!) to head down to the casino. The rest of the room was just as nice. There was a large and comfy King bed and a large TV, and then you could step down into a living area with a couch and yet another TV. We wished we had been able to stay for more than one night, as we were not able to use all of the amenities in the time we had. The river view, while not spectacular, was a big step up from the view you get at most hotels in the area.

The pool area was nice, however, we went in the afternoon and there were a lot of rowdy kids. It probably wouldn't have been as noticeable if it had been warmer weather so we could have taken advantage of the outside portion of the pool. I did notice that they had a nice fire pit on the courtyard area around the outside part of the pool. Again, if we'd had more time, we probably would have bundled up a bit and gone out to enjoy it, but it was time for us to get ready to head to the casino for the evening.

The casino was nice, albeit a bit smoky. We only played blackjack during the evening, and we had enough luck to come out ahead for the night even after drinks. I wasn't very hungry, but my husband ordered a breakfast burrito from the deli in the upstairs area. This burrito was no joke. I think it was around $8, but it contained at least 12 strips of bacon, some sausage, cheese, and what appeared to be at least 8 eggs. It was a monster. After my husband was full, I picked at it a little bit, but we didn't even come close to finishing it. Pretty good value, if you're hungry and/or want a break from gambling.

The bartenders were nice and the drinks were not as expensive as they could have been. At the end of the evening, we decided to order a beer and take it up to the room. The bartender told us that security might make us pour it into plastic cups, which was not ideal, but we decided to chance it, and didn't have any problems.

One thing that would have been nice would have been some kind of in-room movie system. We probably would have paid for one when we returned to the room, as there was really nothing on TV, but instead we just channel surfed for a while before calling it a night.

Overall, we had a great experience and will likely return if we are able to get a decent deal on the hotel room again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Ameristar is a great place to stay whether your here for business or entertainment. Rooms are huge, nice and the staff is great. The restaurants are all good, but not all open during the week. The Casino is very nice but doesn't seem to have good payouts on the slots at all. If you drink high end liquor, it's pricey for a casino. Overall though, it's a fabulous resort.

Room Tip: The rooms are very quiet and are all alike-nice suites with large bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for visiting and for sharing your review, Kelly! I'm glad you had a nice stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield,IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

First of all: This resort is beautiful and the rooms spacious; however overpriced. The same can be said for the buffet. We were there for a wedding/reception weekend. The reception itself was elegant and well managed. If you are going to gamble: DON'T. If you manage to get into the casino without being insulted, demeaned, and ridiculed by the security check, you have already beaten the odds. Then you better quit while you are ahead, and turn around and walk out. Because no one was hitting it big on the slots.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our first experience in St. Charles and absolutely loved the hotel expect the aweful smoke you couldnt get away from. I understand smoke being in casinos but not in the elevators and hotel hallways. They needed a better ventilation system. It was disgusting. The pool and hot tub were awesome and the hotel had a very nice gym for those that like to work out while on vacation. The only bar was in the casino itself. The hotel didnt have a lounge or bar away from the casino. We stayed in a suite and it was very spacious with a very nice bathroom and lounge area with a couch. We stayed on the river side and had a wonderful view. It was only a short 15min drive to downtown St. Louis which I thought made the hotel in a perfect location. It was a very nice hotel, just know you cant get away from the smoke unless you are in your hotel room.

Room Tip: Get the river side if you are interested in a nice view. Definitely would recommend a suite if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for giving us a try! We do our best to accommodate all of our guests, both smoking and nonsmoking, with nonsmoking sections in our casino, restaurants and floors in our hotel. We do appreciate and value your feedback. Our Bottleneck Blues Bar, open on weekends, is located outside of the casino and houses our live entertainment acts. We hope you can check it out sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times, and visited the casino and restaurants many more. It is my favorite place to stay in the St. Charles area. Every room is great and well worth the price considering the size and amenities. We are going back in a few days and will be visiting the pool/spa for the first time then, but I expect the service will be as great as always.

The concierge desk staff are always amazing. Usually we check in but don't have time to go to the room before dinner/events, so we check our bags at the desk. They also know quite a bit about the local area and are more than willing to provide directions or recommend an activity or restaurant.

I love the fact that even the bathrooms have TVs so that you can watch the news or weather in the morning or take a bubble bath and enjoy a movie or favorite TV show.

Room Tip: The views don't matter, as any view is great, but the desk is happy to help with a preference if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks for coming back to see us, Joy! We appreciate your feedback. The bathroom TVs are certainly a guest favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was a really nice hotel. The room is fabulous. Not a great view even if you get the river side but the bed is comfy. There are three tv's. The swimming pool is nice and the hotel service is good. I also liked that there was a lot of security to help keep things in line. The Spa is expensive but divine. The bakery food is also very tasty. However the diner food is really overpriced for what you get and not at all that tasty. Enough things to do that you hardly have to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for visiting! We appreciate your feedback and I'll be sure to pass it along to our team. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles
Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
#5 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.