We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference spaces and team were great. Casino was a casino.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles to your Saves list
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Saint Charles
NYC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Conference spaces and team were great. Casino was a casino.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was at Ameristar St. Charles for a few days because of a meeting/conference thing with work and they held it here. Personally, I loathe casinos. I don't understand the appeal of them at all - that said, I want to give this place a fair review.

The rooms are generally nice. They have this sunken living room thing going on, which is cool I suppose. The bathroom was large and well appointed and quite large. My only issue with the two rooms I was in was:
- bed linens weren't the greatest. Fairly rough and cheap feeling sheets. Cheapy feeling pillows.
- could have used a bit better dusting across the board.
- the hilariously slow way the door closes. You think it's going to all nice and smooth, but at the last minute it slams. Not really an issue (except your door always seems to be slamming) but a kind of hilarious design flaw

The staff in the lobby was nice and friendly the few times I dealt with them. The lobby is a handsome space but it reeks of chlorine from a nearby fountain.

The conference spaces were fine. We had a good support staff with the AV and event management teams. No issues there. The conference area is quite large and spacious. Snacks and meals handled by the conference area were pretty decent which is interesting because snacks and meals in the casino section were disappointing.

My main issue is the food options in the casino area. There's a sports bar (ate there twice) and a diner (also twice) - we tried to dine at the steak house they have but it closes at 9pm.
The diner and the sports bar and room service seem to have all a very similar menu - I think there are some items on all these menus; for example, the "Players Breakfast" which I assumed would be awesome, because, you know.. I'm a playa. But was the saddest eggs I'd even seen. And the saddest cold bacon and toast. The food was a struggle. There were no bright spots.
(favorite story: at the sports bar place, we were told that we couldn't sit in one section because they needed to clean that area so they wouldn't get mice. somehow, I think in restaurant management 101, that may be item #1: "don't mention mice, rats, roaches, or other vermin to customers")

Oh, and how could I forget: coffee. By the second day, I was thinking of hiring a cab to take me somewhere to get a decent cup of coffee. Lousy diner-quality coffee.

Finally, cigarette smoke. I realize it's a casino and this is something that casino-people expect, but it is insane to run into cigarette smoke indoors and in restaurants. You can't escape it. Even the non-smoking areas will get clouds of smoke floating through them. Casino-folk don't seem to mind. Bless their little hearts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for staying with us. We appreciate hearing what our guests think and I apologize if you weren't completely satisfied with your experience. I will pass your review along to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    70
    27
    13
    18
See reviews for
53
143
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Bottleneck Blues Bar was fun, most of the restaurants were decent for the price. Nice pool, fun casino, awesome rooms. No complaints here! Hubby & I went as a weekend getaway & had lots of fun! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viera, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I select this facility as the host hotel for an event of 27 bicycle riders who would be riding the Katy Trail. Could not have possible selected a better location for a first impressing for my customers. Over-The-Top. The staff were great. The rooms spacious and clean. Beautiful pool area. Really, the phrase First-Class best describes this facility.
I will be booking next years event back at the Ameristar, no doubt about it.
It's ALL Good!
Bubba

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally as nice. You decide if you would rather have a pool view or a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We couldn't be more happy to hear this, Bubba! I'm glad you had a successful visit and we are excited to host you again next year. Thanks for sharing your experience and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel overlooking the Missouri River. Rooms are open spacious and very attractive. Attached to the Ameristar Casino, free valet parking, and there are four restaurants on site. I was very happy with my stay and they have an indoor outdoor pool open all year that is restricted to 18 and over after 9pm.

Room Tip: Room type king or two queens in a request only. You need to checkin early to get the room type you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I'm so glad to hear you had a great stay with us! Thanks for sharing your review and for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Large, luxurious rooms (comparable to four seasons only standard room is even larger for half the price), great food, friendly staff (for the most part), fun casino, great atmosphere!!! A few clubs for nightlife, excellent choices on resuraunt types. This place has a very good vibe...my new favorite in the stl metro area! I've frequented all of them with my husband. We also travel a lot and have been to Vegas (several times in many hotel casinos), Lake Tahoe, (Harvey's), and Biloxi (Beau Ravage), Tunica (Gold Strike), and more..the Ameristar in St Charles (St Louis area) is one of my favorite. Much better then Lumiere where the staff is very rude and they suck the fun right out! Better then Hollywood, River City, and definatley the Queen. The rooms are so comfy and the beds are dreamy. Might I mention clean!
Friendliness. 4 stars
Clean. 5 stars
Comfortable. 5 stars
Luxurious. 5 stars
Great food. 5 stars
Fun! 5 stars

Thanks Ameristar, you are a class act! We can't wait to try your Black Hawk location!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and i decided to go to the Ameristar for my birthday. We got there at 11 which is hours before check in (which is at 3) and when we asked if we could check in early the staff was nice enough to set us up with a room that was ready for us even though it was so early. When checked in and went to our room to find that it was Beautiful and very Clean!
So since it was sooo early we went to the pool to swim. it was also very Clean and well kept. A security guard at the pool stricked up some conversation and informed me that I could get birthday beads from the Star Rewards Desk on my way to the casino. ( they are bead you wear so that everyone knows its your birthday! Really fun!) So after getting my beads and entering the casino to about a million 'Happy Birthdays' we started to play some slots. Now this was a Tuesday which ment that it wasnt too busy which was great because we could play any slot with a very short wait. About dinner time we went to the Landmark buffet. OMG the food was great and tasty. The people were soo nice and would talk to you. Well when me and my hubby were almost done eating one of the men from the buffet brought out a gorgeous plate with HAPPY BIRTHDAY GILE wrote one it. ( my names Gail but i guess i have an accent LOL) I almost cried i was soooo Happy that they would do something sooo nice for me on their own.
When check out time came it went pretty smooth, all the way till we went out to our vehicle to find we left the lights on and the battery was dead v_v sad face.... so we went back to the check in desk to see if by chance they could help us at all..... They were nice enough to help us by sending out the same security guard from the pool and having him jump our van off one of the security cars! Yet again could have cried by how kind and caring the staff is! I <3 the Ameristar Staff!!!!!!

Room Tip: We got a smoking king bed room ( hubby smokes so it was a must) but even the smoking room didnt smel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I'm glad you had a happy birthday, Gail, and thanks for choosing to celebrate it with us! We really appreciate all of your feedback and I'm glad we could make your stay special. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The Ameristar Hotel offers big rooms and a several restaurants with decent prices. The hotel is near Main Street St. Charles which can be reached by feet (about 15-20min walking distance). The Katy Trail, a very long gravel trail for jogging and biking is directly under the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles

Address: 1 Ameristar Boulevard, Saint Charles, MO 63301
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Charles
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Charles
#6 Business Hotel in Saint Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles is a 397-suite luxury hotel in the St. Louis area with many rooms containing floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Missouri River or the city below. This new, all-suite hotel features a 7,000-square-foot full-service spa with an indoor-outdoor pool. Have a great time at the region’s largest casino, an action-packed night club or one of seven restaurants. You’ll really get star treatment during your Ameristar vacation in St. Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles Hotel Saint Charles
Ameristar Hotel Saint Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Resort Spa St. Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.