We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Mount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Garden House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4 Haney Road, Rocky Mount, MO 65072   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rocky Mount B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

Our recent stay at Gardenhouse can most accurately be described by a slew of superlatives. The most immaculate house we have ever seen... the friendliest innkeepers (just the right amount)... the warmest lake water (over 80 degrees & easily accessible for swimming from the house dock)... the lightest, tastiest breakfast scone (from Doug's own recipe) ... the best catfish at Camp Bagnell (restaurant recommended by innkeepers).... The list could go on and on but suffice it to say that staying here was a real treat! We cannot recommend it highly enough....

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

What an amazing place! My husband and I spent our 6th anniversary at this bed and breakfast and we truly felt as though we were important guests in Lil and Doug's beautiful home. The breakfasts were delicious and a quite treat for us. We enjoyed our food on the deck just outside of our room. The view of the lake was magnificent. The trip is now a wonderful memory of our wedding anniversary and we will definately be going back soon!

  • Liked — Atmosphere, food and room
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harker Heights Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed at the B&B for our honeymoon. Now, I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts, but this one is out of this world. Each morning you wake up to a wonderful private breakfast waiting for you on the patio! Every room has a patio that overlooks the lake, and the view is breathtaking! And I can't say enough about the owners, who make you feel like family.

We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2006

From the time we arrived to the time we left we felt pampered. Doug and Lil have gone to great lengths to create a special place and they do a marvelous job of providing an experience. From extraordinary breakfasts on your private deck to the spacious and inviting living room, not to mention some of the loveliest decorated rooms you will ever experience, you will find all of the furnisings lovingly appointed.

We chose The Garden House based upon reviews. You will want to go back even before you leave.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

Decided on a Mom and Dad getaway, and this place was perfect. Stayed on a weekend, and got the Orchid Room. Loved the hot-tub in the room, and loved our private deck for breakfast. Can not say enough about everything there. You feel like its your own private home. We didn't do much sight-seeing, because we just wanted to hang out and do nothing for a change, and there was no problems with that.

Will try to make this at least a yearly event.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2005

Last year during our Honeymoon we took a chance after many months of research and stayed at Doug & Lill's corner of the universe. This year we decided to go back and celebrate our 1st Anniversary. We revisted some of the touristy stuff that we did on our Honeymoon, but knew exactly what we wanted to do--simply relax and enjoy. Doug and Lill treated us like family (as usual). Though our stay was way too brief (4 days/3 nights) we enjoyed as much crab legs, steak, and great BBQ as two people could. There's this new restaurant called "Half-Sauced Bar-B-Que" that Doug mentioned the moment we checked in. We couldn't believe our tastebuds! Melt-off-the-bone ribs, pork, and turkey done better than any KC BBQ Joint! We also tried Hook & Hoof this time (we didn't get time to last year) and the food was legendary. Fair warning--Hook and Hoof looks like it's been standing exactly the same for 50 years. That means it's not much on the decor--but the steak was succulent and crab legs fresh. Special Mention goes to Docknockers. I had the rare-sesame-seared Ahi Tuna platter, crab legs, and fried oysters. Honestly--there's NOTHING more mouth-watering than their fresh crab legs and the Ahi Tuna Platter was a new addition I gave rave reviews of as well. The fried clam--good, not spectacular. The wife loved it, though--I'm more of a "half-shell" kind of guy. What really made the evening was our dinner companions and the boat ride to and fro courtesy of Doug and his "floating cadillac". For some reason this year it was a little cold which took it's toll; but still the ride back during a full moon made for a sight of stars and skyline only found in dreams. The Gardenhouse Bed & Breakfast has five-star service, five-star cuisine, and perfect access to The Premium Outlet Mall and other local attractions. They are right on the lake. I repeat--RIGHT ON THE LAKE and a short drive from anywhere you want to go. An un-discovered piece of paradise for sure! Don't be fooled by imitators--this is the Real Deal!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Haney Road, Rocky Mount, MO 65072
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premiere Bed & Breakfast at Lake of the Ozarks. Where Romance Blossoms! The finer things in life await you and your loved one at The Garden House Bed & Breakfast. Your accommodations will surpass your expectations from the finest linens and china to the gourmet food and fantastic views of Lake Ozark. We offer massages, and boat rides available to some of the best restaurants the lake has to offer, from casual to fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Rocky Mount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.