We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as pictured” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Mount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Garden House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
4 Haney Road, Rocky Mount, MO 65072   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Rocky Mount B&B and Inns
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Exactly as pictured”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Having stayed at the large complexes at the Lake multiple times, we decided to opt for a more private venue and personal experience. The Garden House did not disappoint. I viewed all of the pictures online and was elated to find they were an honest representation of the property. The rooms in the house are on two floors (main level and lower level) and are intentionally separated so that no two rooms share a wall. The larger of the rooms offers an in-room jacuzzi bath though all rooms have access to a lakeside hot tub. All rooms face south and have views of the lake. Admittedly, I'm particular, and I probably notice details others don't. The immaculate condition of the property, both inside and out, impressed me immediately. I would note that it is requested that one leave one's shoes at the door. For that reason, a pair of slippers or golf socks are nice to pack. The temperature of the room was perfect though I prefer a cold bedroom at night and wonder how it is regulated in the winter. The service was very unobtrusive. Somehow, Lil always knew when to be present and when to provide privacy. If early morning sunlight awakens you, don't be discouraged by the southern exposure of the rooms. There were shades on the windows that provided a barrier and you can always pray for rain. The Orchid Room is situated next to the communal gathering part of the house and above the pool table room and tv. The Rose Room is next to the kitchen. They are not soundproof but their location did not hinder our rest. The rooms on the lower level were smaller. Handicap accessibility might be difficult on the main level because one has to go down steps from the outside to get to the entrance. I would recommend asking the proprietor her opinion before assuming she can accommodate your needs. The quality china and crystal added to the inviting ambience, and breakfast will fill you until dinner. Unless you are familiar with lake property, you might be surprised by the remoteness of the location. Be prepared for a steep descent down the road to the property and winding roads to get to there. Eight miles does not take eight minutes to drive. We chose this B&B because of its proximity to St. Louis and nearby four star restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
47
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We booked this wonderful bed & breakast just by chance and ended up finding the perfect place to stay when visiting Lake of the Ozarks. The B&B provided everything you look for in a B&B....large rooms, large private bathroom, walk in shower, closet space, flat panel tv, dvd player,ceiling fan, decorated very tastefully and of course, the VIEW. Right on the water. Did I mention the hot tub that was available or the chocolate covered strawberries for each room, access to a refrigerator, ice machine, freezer (for ice cream), microwave, etc. The owners were so very accommodating and there if you needed anything. I haven't even mentioned the gourmet breakfasts on our own deck each morning. You will not be disappointed in staying at The Garden House Bed & Breakfast. By the way, our Garmin GPS took us right to the front door with no problem. We certainly will be back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

I had great time and really enjoy the way we were treated, The food was good the room was very clean and the owners are very nice people can't wait to visit again! Next time I'm going to visit in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ozark, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We have been staying at the Garden House BnB for the last ten years! There is no reason to look elsewhere as Doug and Lil are two of the nicest, most accommodating people we have met anywhere in the world! They treat you like royalty but yet give you your privacy if that is what you require. They have always gone out of their way to make our stays enjoyable and relaxing. In another review something was mentioned about how they felt regarding your financial status. In all the times we have been there and sent many of our friends there, NO ONE HAS EVER mentioned even the slightest HINT of that being the case. Truly if you can't get along with Doug and Lil I suspect you can't get along with anyone!
This place is definitely a diamond among rocks at the Lake of the Ozarks, and one not to be missed!
OUTSTANDING in every way!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our first stay at this B & B and let me tell you it was WONDERFUL! My husband and myself had no complaints except maybe that we had to leave! The house is beautiful it is very well kept inside and out. All the rooms have a beautiful patio overlooking the lake which we had breakfast on each morning. The breakfasts were delicious, Lill is a wonderful cook and host. When we first arrived Lill gave us a tour of the house and showed us to our room and even gave us some suggestions for dinner. We will be back for sure and we will be recommending this B & B to all of our friends and family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

$180 a night for three nights-no key to room, no ice, excessive noise from a reunion which disturbed our sleep. Was told by Lill (owner) not to use the hot tub in our room after 10pm and before noon. No hot water a few times.

Wrote review earlier, but can not find it. My husband and I were on our 34th anniversary. His health is failing and we are not wealthy but I splurged for our first B & B to rekindle our romance.

Lil was pleasant the first two days, her breakfast was great ans the place was spotless. I feel when she figured out we are not wealthy, her whole demeanor changed. We spent everything we has for this vacation and still tipped her $20. (The last of our money, but I have a heart.)

Maybe someday (before we are gone, we can take another vacation. Seeing the ocean would be nice, but I will never spend for a B & B. We are simple and just want to be respected by who we ate and not what we have, or do not have.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billbomo, Owner at The Garden House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We do have keys to the rooms and if a guest asks for one they are welcome to have them. Our ice maker was turned off inadvertenly and we got more ice from our other back up ice maker and brought it up and reset the other ice maker so our guests could have ice. The reunion that was brought up was for 1 hour with six people in the early afternoon. Running out of hot water can happen but it is very rare as we built this house as a B&B and we installed the best water system money can buy.The hot tub rules are in place because hotubs use alot of water and pressure and we want all of our guests to have a great shower in the morning. We are sadden that one of our guests was not happy with there stay, if we had known about any of this we would have tried our best to resolve it. As far as being rich or poor we have no way of telling that and it does not concern us. We have been open for 13 years and have never had a compliant to this point. As the old saying goes( you cant please everyone) we sure try hard to please everyone.

Thank you, Douf and Lilliana Meyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first experience with a b&b and we loved it. The rooms were modern and very well taken care of and the view was great. We were at the lake for my parents 50th wedding anniversary and this was a perfect way to enjoy being near family but still having a peaceful place to escape too. The breakfast were excellent and Lill and her Doug were the perfect hosts. We will defiantly repeat the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4 Haney Road, Rocky Mount, MO 65072
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Rocky Mount
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rocky Mount
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premiere Bed & Breakfast at Lake of the Ozarks. Where Romance Blossoms! The finer things in life await you and your loved one at The Garden House Bed & Breakfast. Your accommodations will surpass your expectations from the finest linens and china to the gourmet food and fantastic views of Lake Ozark. We offer massages, and boat rides available to some of the best restaurants the lake has to offer, from casual to fine dining. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast Lake Of The Ozarks, MO - Rocky Mount

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.