We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, clean, adequate/aging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Port Inn

Rock Port Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rock Port
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Port Inn
Save Saved
You added Rock Port Inn to your Saves list
Hwy 136 and I-29 exit 110, Rock Port, MO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rock Port
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Quiet, clean, adequate/aging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've stayed here once before, about a year ago. The experience then was good enough that, based on it and the awful reviews for the Super 8, we again booked the Rock Port Inn for a one-night stay..

It is clean and quiet, but aging. There was no coffee in the lobby even 1/2 hour after it was supposed to be ready. The WiFi was weak.

Beds were comfortable. Everything worked o.k.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect little motel for an overnight stay. We needed a room to rest for a couple of hours and this was the perfect place. Everything was neat and clean. Beds were comfortable and everything was well done.Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My partner has stayed in this hotel eight times since June while he is working on a job in the area. I accompanied him on the last trip and our dog, a black lab, came along too. The staff has always been very friendly and accommodating. They made sure that his room is on the lower level as requested. The family that own and operate the Rock Port Inn were very helpful when I stayed also. The daughter walked our dog, played with her, and even fixed her a wading pool to play and swim. The rooms have refrigerators and microwaves making it very convenient to make yourself at home. The wireless internet worked great and fast. We would highly recommend this hotel to our friends, family or acquaintances.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back, or South side, are quieter. They are also closer to the play/picnic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Check in and check out was easy and quick. My room was well maintained with excellent internet connection, very cold ac, good selection of TV channels and parking available directly in front of my room. My room had larger towels than normally found comparable motels and the bed linen was clean and well maintained. It does appear to be a family run motel and with that comes some of the issues mentioned in a previous review. I don't necessarily find these things distracting and find them to be part of the charm of my road trip experience. Nice restaurant (Black Iron Skillet) was short distance away along with a couple of national chain burger joints. My experience was positive and I'll stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Sure this hotel has been here a while, that just means it is successful. This was my second stay here. It is not fancy, and the rooms were not built for 2 adults 2 toddlers and 2 dogs, not many hotels are. It is a well maintained, decent place to get a good nights sleep. Everything worked, wifi, TV with HBO, the pool was clean, (a little shallow and small, but was still refreshing)
The desk clerk is not always there, I would guess they are out taking care of the property, but can see anyone pulling in.
Parking room for trucks or RVs and fast food, or a nice restaurant are close by. (not walking distance, unless you like to walk)
Breakfast is slim, but for $60 I still think its a deal.
I like the atmosphere, and will return on my next time through.

Room Tip: A better view of the landscape and sunset from the street side, less traffic noise from the backside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOwa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I certainly didn't have as BAD a stay as the rest of the reviewers. Yes It's old, Yes it's run down. We stayed in the suite room which wasn't that bad.
The front desk isn't run well and they don't have someone at the desk all the time. I think they live in the hotel. At one point their son was running the desk and he was a little rude. It is hard to get their attention and get them to the desk at times.
Our room was clean and the sheets were clean on the bed. it is OLD decor. VERY VERY old. But it's in the MIDDLE OF NOWHERE!! Burn marks on the blankets extra blankets in the closet in a black trash bag. Yikes.
Air Conditioner worked AWESOME!!!! Kept the room nice and cool. Small kitchen and Refridge. Definitely was what we needed to visit our family in Rock Port. Better than driving 30 minutes down the road and a MILLION times better than the Super 8.
Will stay again for family functions.

Room Tip: Go for the Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

They say that everything happens for a reason.  If you find yourself staying at the Rock Port Motel, there are a few reasons why you might be condemned there.

1) You did not plan well.  There are a few hotels in the Iowa/ Nebraska/Missouri area and the night you needed to stay in the area they were all full, so you kept driving until you got to this exit, and the Super 8 was full, too.
2) You either did not read or you chose not to heed the other reviews of this hotel on TripAdvisor and thought “Oh, it won’t be that bad. Those people were just picky.”  Those people were not picky. They were sane and they were trying to forewarn you.

If you stay here, it's because you were just too tired to care, but you will regret it as soon as you present your payment.

The initial experience with us was not enough to dissuade us from stopping there.  We called to make sure they accepted pets.  They did.  And they had vacancies.  We were about 30 minutes north of Rock Port, so we were relieved to find a hotel to stay at for the night after 12 hours of driving.  

Once we got to the front desk, the girl took several minutes to come up front.  We were presented with the key and went to our room.  The first thing we noticed was how the door appeared to not securely close. It was hard to open, and the wood around the frame looked like it was about to splinter and come off. MThe room smelled awful.  Even though it was a “non smoking room”, it smelled like someone had smoked a pack of cigarettes in it that afternoon. We wondered if they conveniently made up which rooms were nonsmoking or smoking when someone checked in. The floor was damp, with who knows what, so we did not take off our shoes.  It smelled like a male cat had sprayed all over the room, so maybe that was why it was wet.  The shower curtains and bedding looked like they were Goodwill rejects from the 70s. The only plus note was the bathroom smelled like bleach, so maybe it was clean. We actually skipped showering that night. We were exhausted from being on the road for over 12 hours, and getting the key in the first place was such a hassle that all we wanted to do was sleep so we did not try to get another room.  The next morning in our haste to load up our vehicle to leave (we woke before the alarm went off and sprung into action), we locked our keys in our room.  Heaven forbid we wake the front desk clerk, who apparently sleeps there.  My friend was at the front desk with the phone ringing at least 40 times before the front desk clerk answered.  From the shadows of her room, she could see that the clerk got up, did something, and then a man walked out of her room.  Then she came out with to unlock the room in her pajamas. Classy.  

If you run out of options, perhaps you will have brought a tent and a sleeping bag and could camp on the side of the road.  I think that it might be a better place to sleep than at the Rock Port Motel.    

Room Tip: Keep driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rock Port hotels

Been to Rock Port Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Port Inn

Address: Hwy 136 and I-29 exit 110, Rock Port, MO
Location: United States > Missouri > Rock Port
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Rock Port

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Port Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.