We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It had been awhile, but still just as good as we remembered!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added School House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
504 Third Street, Rocheport, MO 65279   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It had been awhile, but still just as good as we remembered!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We took a Friday night to celebrate our anniversary a few days early because the next weekend would be a busy time. It had been a long time since we were here last (maybe 15 years), but everything was still excellent as it had been back then. Rooms were nice, clean, quite and homey. The breakfast was great and hosts were superb. Differently a must do again, hopefully we won't wait another 15 years!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
105
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Higginsville, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Rooms were beautiful, marrying antique style with the modern comforts we've come to expect. Breakfast was delicious; restaurant-quality served in a very relaxed setting. Along walls and on desks were displayed historic information about the old schoolhouse and the renovations the owners did. They thought of everything: from DVDs and bottles of wine down to old books and a communal puzzle! Near Arrow Rock historical site and several wineries and situated right on the Katy Trail, there's plenty to do even in the small town of Rocheport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Our long weekend at the Schoolhouse B&B this year was planned to coincide with the annual Perseid Meteor shower in August. We did not have to wander far to find darkness with a view of the open sky, and, were pleasantly surprised to find that viewing this amazing event in the sky from the back patio of this B&B was spectacular! To sit on this patio, built nearly 100 years ago, and imagine who walked these bricks and sat in this space was almost as awe inspiring as the light show above. We viewed some of the most amazing meteors we have ever seen. Fittingly, one of the brightest meteors appeared as a streaking arc, long and wide as a mark made by a child’s sidewalk chalk. The trail of this meteor sparkled and faded like pixie dust. How appropriate that on this night, at this place, this meteor resembled a masterpiece of childhood art. This historic building, now the warm cozy bed and breakfast that sits behind this patio of weathered brick, was once this small town’s schoolhouse.
We stayed in the Honor Roll room, a cozy room with a most comfortable bed and linens. We awoke to the aroma of coffee brewing and warm apple muffins. The breakfast was delicious and accommodated our special dietary needs. Hosts, Lisa & Mike, are both charming and casually talk with you while cooking and serving breakfast in the large gathering room. Fresh fruit, homemade cookies & Jelly Bellys are available on the island counter of this room to enjoy at all hours.
We felt very welcome guests in this beautifully restored schoolhouse. Doors of unoccupied rooms are left open for you to wander and select a room for your future stay. We know just which room we will choose on our next getaway to the Schoolhouse B&B!

Room Tip: The website describes the rooms very well - check it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding, and it did not disappoint! The owners were so friendly and the entire place was immaculate. The little touches were wonderful - an area of toiletries you could take if you forgot anything, a large and comfortable area to have afternoon tea and breakfast, a lovely patio out back to enjoy some wine in the evening, and even a small wine fridge that you could buy a bottle from at any time (to be settled up the next morning)! The bed in our room was comfortable, and it was quiet and relaxing to be here. I wish we had had more time in the B&B - we definitely will stay again!

Room Tip: Breakfast area is on the top floor. Stairs are a little steep to get up there if you have mobility i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was my first B&B experience, due to a friend's wedding in the area. From the moment I arrived, I knew i was going to love the experience. The rooms are so tastefully decorated and inviting. The owners were very gracious, and anxious to give everyone the best visit possible. They thought of everything, and were happy to provide any toiletried you might have forgotten. The common area/dining area was very comfortable. A great place to enjoy home-baked cookies and iced tea in the afternoon. The breakfast was very delicious! I also enjoyed sitting outside in the backyard both after returning from the wedding at night, and early the next morning as I read the newspaper. I would highly recommend The School House for a relaxing getaway! I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: The website had great pictures and descriptions of each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This bed and breakfast is remarkable. The owners have thought of everything! The other guests hadn’t arrived when we checked in so were able to see all the guest rooms. Every room was as beautiful as the last. The grounds are also very nice with fountains, garden benches and tables. I can't say enough, this place is wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our first stay EVER at a B&B and we are spoiled forever! Lisa, the innkeeper, took care to explain the accommodations and Rocheport area to us -- we felt completely at home and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Inn. Our room, the Honor Roll, was immaculate and had every convenience you could want. Chocolate chip cookies and coffee were available when we arrived and the morning breakfast was every bit as good as the cookies! I have a feeling that this will be our new weekend getaway destination!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are away from activity in the kitchen / gathering room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to School House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 504 Third Street, Rocheport, MO 65279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant B&B in former Rocheport school building with 11 guest rooms, private baths, some with 2-person jetted tubs. Complimentary Multi-course breakfast, Wi-fi and street parking. Two blocks from Katy Trail and one mile from Les Bourgeois Winery Bisto. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage School House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.