We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School House Bed and Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocheport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Bed and Breakfast Inn
Save
You added School House Bed and Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
504 Third Street, Rocheport, MO 65279   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Rocheport B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband planned a surprise trip to Rocheport for one night and chose this B& B because I am a retired teacher- how sweet! The place is spotless and the owners are very welcoming. We had a very comfortable room on the second floor. Loved the history of the building and it's interior charm. Some of the guests were "regulars" so that speaks very well for the B&B. I would recommend it for a relaxed simple weekend of bike riding and wine tasting or "just because".
One note of caution- the upper level where you check in, dine and some rooms are located are at the top of a staircase so be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs-pack lightly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
103
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The School House Inn gets top marks for warm hospitality, beautiful decor, comfortable surroundings and tasty breakfast. Nice touch: selection of local wines, available on honor system. Jigsaw puzzle in progress, very accommodating hosts, warm cookies in the afternoon. The building itself is a wonder: light streams in through beautiful tall windows in nearly every room. And Rocheport is an impossibly sweet little town to explore. All in all, a very comfortable and relaxing get-away!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

As always, we enjoyed staying at this charming bed and breakfast. The owners are warm and genuine -- the service always excellent. The breakfasts are always tasty and they have a great variety. We enjoy the proximity to the Katy Trail and appreciate that the owners are very accommodating to bike riders including a place to secure our bikes at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was our second visit to the School House Bed & Breakfast in Rocheport, Mo. and I'm sure it will not be our last. Mike and Lisa and their staff really do everything to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I was amazed at the incredible detail of every part of our stay there. The house and grounds were immaculate, but very comfortable. They even have a shed for your bikes! Which brings me to our ride on the Katy trail, that you are only a few blocks from by the way, the section of the trail from Rocheport heading back toward Columbia was so beautiful with the river on one side with the enormous bluffs on the other that we ended up riding farther than we ever had...a personal best!
Also since we were anxious on Saturday evening to get a quick dinner so as to get an evening ride in, we took Mike's advice and went to the Bike and Barbeque restaurant right by the trail and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food from such a small place, it was also very clean and friendly. After an evening ride we stopped in at the General store in Rocheport and had a cold drink and listened to some live Bluegrass music that was a real treat...again at Mike's recommendation.
On Sunday morning we had their signature dish, stuffed french toast, which is fantastic...along with some fresh fruit, a rasin bran muffin, cranapple juice and hot tea, my choice over coffee. A great start to a great morning! If you're in the Rocheport, mid Missouri, area along Interstate 70 you are assured of a great experience at the School House B&B.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the Prose Room and the Spelling Bee and both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

What I loved--it's a beautiful property, very nicely landscaped & well located. The decor is fresh and clean, w/high ceilings & nice light. The 'dorm room' I had was small but would sleep four comfortably, two on an unusually thick futon and two in bunk beds. About 20 DVDs are available to watch free of charge & titles to suit all ages & tastes. Umbrellas in case of rain. The bathroom was very large and well stocked, including air freshener spray. The breakfast part of this b&b included two enormous muffins, oj, cereal, yogurt, oranges, apples, milk, & coffee. 4 cans of coke & microwave popcorn for snack.

What I would do differently
The quality of the consumables was less than what I would have preferred. Off brands, cereal in sandwich baggies, coffee said Folger's but I suspect it might not have been. The muffins were delicious and filling but not healthy. The pieces of fruit were very small. The corn flakes & Cheerios were corn flakes & Cheerios. But even with all of that, it was all very thoughtfully done.

The one & only thing missing from the room is a full length mirror.

All in all this was a lovely place & great experience & I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time at the School house! The house has lots of history and all the rooms are up to the highest standards of cleanliness and comfort. We will diffently go back here the food was great and the staff was outstanding, they truely make you feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We were simply delighted with the overall accommodations at the School House Dorm Room! The description and amenities were exactly as portrayed, and the cleanliness of the Room was of the highest standards. Our host were helpful at every request, and I would be delighted to re-book with them in the future. While we were enjoying our week-end, the weather decided to play havoc, and our host offered us the choice of leaving early to accommodate a safer travel, while being given a credit for future use. And, even though we chose to stay, leaving in hast, I left a couple of items behind....which they promptly mailed out for my added convenience. So our grateful thanks to Mike and Lisa for their hospitality!!

Room Tip: Unfortunately we could not choose who our neighbors would be, nor how mature they are. However our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to School House Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 504 Third Street, Rocheport, MO 65279
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Rocheport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Rocheport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant B&B in former Rocheport school building with 11 guest rooms, private baths, some with 2-person jetted tubs. Complimentary Multi-course breakfast, Wi-fi and street parking. Two blocks from Katy Trail and one mile from Les Bourgeois Winery Bisto. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage School House Bed and Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.