We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local breakfast spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Corner Cafe

Corner Cafe
4541 NW Gateway Ave, Riverside, MO 64150-9722
816-741-2570
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Riverside
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great local breakfast spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for something different than the normal breakfast chains while traveling through Kansas City. We enjoyed buttery eggs, thick sliced French toast, and a mountainous cinnamon roll. Coffee is great too! I'm sometimes scared of the local stops, not so with this great place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Favorite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

A favorite place to eat, nice variety of food on the menu, staff is always very pleasant. In house bakery always has pies, cakes, sticky buns (to die for), cookies and more.

Expect a wait on the weekends, but they do a nice job of getting you in as quickly as they can. Decor is interesting to look at and overall atmosphere is A+.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A good home cooked meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This was the first place I came after being in vacation for two weeks. I like that they have a variety of items on their menu and the fact that they're like home cooked meals. Comfort food! The staff is very friendly, patti was our server and she made sure we had everything we needed. Weekend mornings are always the busiest time at the corner, give yourself plenty of time to wait if you get there during the breakfast rush. Oh, they have a bar (alcohol free) in the back that's first come first serve. If a seat opens up it's all yours! Great people, great atmosphere and great food! Enjoy

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Clean Hospitable Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I was speechless with the service at this place. It was my first time trying this place. We celebrated my friends birthday and had breakfast here. The waitress Kim was very friendly. A manager wrapped my food and did it with clean hands, he made sure that I knew he was practicing sanitation. I liked that! The good was great and they had one of the worlds most largest cinnamon roll I had ever seen. I'll be going back more often now that I know they are a good place to eat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great oldstyle comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

not as crowded this time-food was good as usual but service was not up to par...everyone from the greeter to the waitress all seemed in a bad mood that night

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Corner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corner Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.