We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Big Cedar Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   612 Devil's Pool Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jackson, Missouri, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rustic Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I have passed by Big Cedar several times on the way down 86. Finally, we bit the bullet and spent a night there. It's fantastic. There's no need to go anyplace else--Big Cedar has it all. It's a beautiful place with fantastic views from finely appointed rooms. Rustic Elegance

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    133
    46
    28
    16
See reviews for
295
299
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, KS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We loved our vacation at Big Cedar, just not the room.
The room was pricey for a 10' x 8' room and we heard people walk above us, every step they took. Also, heard every time they got in and out of their creaky bed. The bathroom was so tiny I couldn't hardly fit my small carry-on piece of luggage in it and our refrigerator barely got cold. For $195 a night this room should have had at least a microwave in it and a working fridge.
As for the resort, it was great. We loved every meal we had, we played miniature golf, we enjoyed all four pools. Next time, we will make sure we get a better room as we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. So sorry to hear about the noise coming in the room. Please let us know next time about the refrigerator and we will immediately take care of it cooling. The Falls Lodge might be an option for your next stay. The room entries are interior and that might help with the noise. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to have you back soon!


Kindest Regards,

Jennifer Wolcott
Leisure Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Overall it was a great experience. The mini golf was too challenging for adults, must be frustrating for children. The scenery is beautiful any time of year, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful!! Awesome place! Will definetly be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Everything about Big Cedar was amazing. The land, cabins, restaurants, pools, and activity centers were all beautiful. The staff was just amazing (well except one particular thing, but I'll get to that in a minute). They offer so many activities (boating, pottery, swimming, canoeing, kayaking, trail rides) we hardly had time to do everything in one a week. The lakeside cabin we stayed in was just gorgeous and though it seemed far from the main part of the site, the shuttle service was always speedy and fun to take. I definitely recommend taking the shuttle instead of driving yourself as the drivers all seemed to know so much about the property and its history. On our first day we had a wonderful tour from shuttle driver Jack, who told us just about everything we needed to know about Big Cedar and its origins (definitely ask for him if you want a tour!). The staff all seemed great. The guest service staff went above and beyond to ensure we were happy, even going as far to scour the lodge site for a recliner for my mother (she has cancer and a mass on her spine that makes it painful to sleep flat on a bed) and having it delivered to our cabin. I highly recommend the spa services (though pricey, they are absolutely worth it). The two restaurants and cafe located at Big Cedar had delicious food.
The only thing that wasn't amazing about Big Cedar was the room service. If you order room service for breakfast or lunch it is absolutely great! Our order was always hot and correct when we ordered earlier in the day, but our only two orders at night were horrible. The first night two of the four entrees were incorrect and missing major parts of the meal (like the rib eye steak), and the second time we ordered dessert our order was never placed so we didn't get it until we called back nearly two hours later to ask where it was. So if you plan on ordering room service, make it breakfast or lunch. But all in all, we will definitely be staying at Big Cedar Lodge next time we are in Branson!

Room Tip: Lakeside Cabins have the best view and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We visited Big Cedar Lodge for my 60th birthday with 2 other couples. The grounds are amazing.
as well as the staff and management. We spent a 3 day weekend. The restaurants are very good and reasonably priced. We saw many activities going on for children who seemed to be having a great time. There were plenty of activities to keep us busy. If you are sensitive about taxidermy you may want to reconsider going to Big Cedar Lodge. Our 3 bedroom cabin had 19 stuffed animals hanging around. All public places had many more. The overall feel of the place very rustic and well maintained. This place is not cheap but is still a great value. I'm sure it cost a fortune to keep a property so beautiful. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been there several times over the years and always enjoy it. It is probably my favorite Midwest place to vacation. It is a beautiful, upscale lodgy type resort. Tons of things to do and they seem to add more possibilities each time we are there. We love the lake and spend a lot of time on it, but they have recently added a beach with lots of free beach activities (stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, canoeing, peddleboats, etc.) I do wish they would get the golf course and Top of the Rock restaurant open though, they have been talking about it for years now.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a cabin. Our choice is one of the one bedroom cabins in the Devil Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCLGuestServices, Guest Relations Manager at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are getting closer and closer to reopening Top of the Rock, and it will be worth the wait. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed the additional activities and amenities. We strive to create new experiences, while maintaining the traditions our guests love. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have celebrated my January birthday here several times. The always go out of their was to make me happy. We always get one of the cabins for the privacy it affords. We enjoyed hearing the live music in the lounge. The spa was good when I used it. The horse and buggy was nice as well. It is a great place in the off season when I want to get away from the city. This is my review in general for the Big Cedar Lodge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 612 Devil's Pool Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Big Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.