We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Big Cedar Lodge
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   612 Devil's Pool Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Greensboro, Vermont
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were lucky enough to be invited by friends for a weekend at this wonderful lodge. The location is beautiful and cabins are fabulous, we had a two room cabin that included a well stocked kitchen and a great room with a fireplace. The rooms were immaculate and the beds were so comfortable, the bathroom was great really nice towels and amenities. In addition, every afternoon homemade cookies are delivered to you room. The staff was wonderful and if you neeeded anything it was immediately taken care of, they also provided van service from our cabin to the restaurant. Our dinner was fabulous great food and service the menu povided many choices. The only complaint was the cost of their wines, they are way overpriced. We have stayed at the Big Cedar several times over the years and have never been disappointed, we look forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings, amenities and your overall experience. Thank you for your loyalty throughout the years. I've made a note of your concern about the wine prices. We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your feedback.

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    133
    46
    28
    16
See reviews for
294
299
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lowell
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We just got back from Big Cedar and I loved it. We stayed the first night in the Falls Lodge which was pretty cool. We had an amazing view of the lake and waterfalls. The other 3 nights we rented one of the private cabins. It was the 1 room with a loft. Its not really a room, the bed is in the living room but this didnt faze us as it was a great king size bed that we used to watch movies and hang out. I had 2 teens with me and one took the loft and the other used the pull out couch. The cabin had a great view of the lake and marina and was fully furnished. We spent a ton on food. We went to the Worman house and spent 225 including a few drinks, desserts, and tip for 4 people. Food was very good The Easter brunch was 40 buck per person and actually was disappointing. The rest of the trip we went out to Bransons Landing and Hollister for Sonic which my kids loved. We dont have one of those by us. We ate in a few times too which is great if you bring the groceries. What I was impressed with most about this place was the service. The shuttle is fantastic, takes you anywhere you want to go and is at your door within 10 minutes of calling. The front dest was amazing, going out of their way to accomodate. Even the private cottages have room service including loading and unloading your dishwasher. They even have a turndown service and free cookies every night. They restock firewood daily, free DVDS, free paddle boats, canoes, mini golf, etc..some of the stuff is kinda lame but its nice they make the effort. We rented a brand new 25 foot pontoon boat with a 200hp motor for 55 per hour which I thought was reasonable. We couldnt find any fish but it was cool to spend Easter on the lake with family and enjoy some 72 degree sunshine. I will definately be back. My brother upgraded to the family size private cabin which is 3 bedrooms...wow...it was the bomb...pricey thought...but I would def get a private cabin if I were staying again....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings, amenities and your overall experience.

Is there anything specific about the brunch you can tell me? I would love to provide that feedback to our Chef. You can email me at jldaugherty@big-cedar.com.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your feedback.

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was given a trip to Big Cedar from BassPro through BlueGreen Resorts. Ill split the review into 2 parts - the lodge, and the timeshare preview

Big Cedar Lodge - Awesome place overall. We stayed in the falls lodge which I think is one of the original lodges built on the property. It was older you could tell in some areas but that just gave it more of the actual cabin feel. Our room had a 10pt on the wall, a pheasant, and a raccoon above the TV haha. It was cool. It also had a very nice balcony that overlooked the grounds and Tablerock Lake. I enjoyed the view more than anything else about the room. At the resort there are several things to do. They are adding on a lot, up on "top of the rock". A golf course, honeymoon cabin, wedding chapel, small museum, and they recently finished a new restaurant Arnie's Barn. They also have about 3 other restaurants on the grounds and a couple pools, hot tubs, sand volleyball, walking trails, marina, and stables. The food at Arnies Barn was not great. It was just average. The atmosphere and view was great, but the food which is said to be Mexican, doesn’t come close to matching your local On the Border or Salty Iguana. We also ate breakfast and dinner Saturday at the Worman House. This place does have good food, the dinner was amazing, but expensive. I ordered the Steak Alfredo, so good. Dinner ranges from $20-40 a plate. Breakfast buffet on Saturday is $12 person, which was worth it. There is a Buzzard Bar that sells regular bar food, and a coffee shop that sells more than just pastries, it has breakfast and lunch items.

The preview - This was my first time ever going to a timeshare preview. It wasn’t too terrible, but expect to spend at least 2 hrs. You cannot make it any faster. They are friendly and not overly pushy but once you turn down the first person, a manager comes over and tries again. The price for the deed they are trying to sell starts at $28,800. It then goes to 21K, then 14K, and even lower. Once you turn down both the first person and the manager they take you downstairs and try to sell you a 1 or 2 year deal for around 1-2K. You tour some cabins in the wilderness area which are very nice. The nicer cabins, are not the timeshare cabins, and are on the other side of the cove, which are the ones you can stay in as a guest to the lodge.


I plan on going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings, amenities and your overall experience.

I have forwarded your concerns about your experience at Arnie's Barn to our Chef and to the General Manager. We are constantly reviewing patron feedback and incorporating it into future decisions. If there is anything specific you can explain to me feel free to contact me at jldaugherty@big-cedar.com.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your feedback.

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Relaxing week for Spring break at Big Cedar. We stayed in a 2 BR cabin for the week. Part of the time my family of 5 was alone but for 4 nights my in laws joined us. Plenty of room for everyone, including the baby crib. The cabin was very clean and well kept. Two of the chairs on the balcony were in need of repair but all else on it, including the large gas grill were fine. Many fun Easter activities on Easter weekend, some complimentary for guests. Big Cedar allowed a local ministry to host an Easter service on property which was great. It was warm enough to use heated pools and hot tubs. Lots of construction at Big Cedar but we were far from it and did not find it created too many inconveniences. Still gorgeous surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings, amenities and your overall experience.

Thank you for your patience and understanding during this busy time and construction at the property. We are busy creating more and better amenities for our guests! I've also let our engineering department know of your concern about the chairs.

We hope to see you again soon and thanks again for your feedback.

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our 25th anniversary. We were greated with a smile when we checked in and small cake in our cabin. Our carriage ride was romantic with a bottle of champagne, 2 flutes and a box of chocolates. This was the most romantic weekend I've had in a long time. Wonderful weather, awesome people and privacy when we wanted. I'll definately be going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited Big Cedar over spring break. The kids had an awesome time. We stayed at the Thunderhead cabins, which are a bit rustic, but the price was right and if you're a fisherman you can't beat the location. We found all of the organized activities to be well-managed and the service was top-notch throughout the property.

In spite of bad weather we were never bored.

The only downside was the food. The property is undergoing quite a bit of construction and they've moved some restaurants around to accommodate the progress. I'm guessing that's to blame for the cafeteria-style fare that we found no matter which place we tried. As an example, the new restaurant Arnie's was visually stunning, but our meals were absolutely (and uniformly) awful. We wanted to send everything back, but it was late and with the snow we opted to catch the bus back down the hill and call it a night.

The flip side of the food story is that the cabins have great gas grills and full kitchens, so we called a restaurant friend of ours and he delivered hand-cut steaks and all the fixings that we cooked ourselves the last night.

I still give this property a high rating because it's just so nice I can't believe our experience with the food is their norm. The service everywhere was top-notch. The housekeeping staff is amazing, and every cabin has great (free) wifi. This is a place you can relax, and work if you want to.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write about your experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful surroundings, amenities and your overall experience.

Thank you for your feedback on your experience in our dining facilities. Your thoughts have been made aware to our Chef and General Manager and they are continuing to take guest feedback and apply it to future changes. We absolutely value your opinion!

With Genuine Ozark Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went with our family of 2 young kids and mother in law. Had a wonderful experience- stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was perfect. Accommodations were first class- firewood waiting for you to start a fire in your cabin, the cookie lady bringing cookies every night, activities like games/movies available to check out for free. It was perfect. I love the restaurants and how family friendly everything is on site. You truly feel like you are away from reality here. It is also a great place for a romantic get away too. Well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 612 Devil's Pool Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Big Cedar Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Big Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.