We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Resort/Wonderful Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Cedar Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Cedar Lodge to your Saves list
Big Cedar Lodge
612 Devil's Pool Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Superb Resort/Wonderful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have always wanted to visit this property and kind of wondered what the attraction in southern Missouri could possibly be. Wow! It is a huge property with a variety of room configurations. They have managed to keep the property feeling like a smaller, more intimate property because of the design of placing small "escape" spaces throughout the acreage.

We were in an independent cabin near the Devil's Pool area which is currently under renovation. When making the reservation they made certain that we understood that. The construction was not a problem. Our cabin was paneled in old style knotty pine, old hickory furniture, great bedding, and a native stone wood-buring fireplace. (Fire starters were provided and there is plenty of wood available--replaced daily. The details in the lamps, chandeliers, door hardware, outdoor lighting is incredible. Best we have seen.

Only thing I would change is better lighting for walking back from the restaurant at night. True, they provide shuttle service, but we prefer to walk. Along with better lighting, a separate pedestrian path would be nice.

They are currently working on a number of projects, all of which will simply put this place over the top. Highly recommended for couples and multi-generational families as well as sportspeople. Staff is well trained and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write about your recent experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your cabin and the amenities. Thank you for noting the need for more lighting, it has been noted! Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.

With genuine Ozarks hospitality,
Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    128
    42
    26
    15
See reviews for
273
268
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wills Point, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I were there for a 4-day get-a-way. It was gorgeous and the employees friendly. We stayed at "The Falls" and our view was breathtaking, not to mention we had two separate balconies because we were in a corner room. Unfortunately for us, the weather was too cold to enjoy them for any length of time (up until the day we were to leave, then it warmed up quite a bit). The room was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The shuttles were very prompt! The only complaints we have are 1) housekeeping did not make up one of our beds one morning when they came to "do the room", we thought that was odd as everything else was taken care of, just not the bed. Also, we had construction/renovations going on close to our lodge and we had a whole lot of construction noise during those times when we did go outside on the balcony during the daytime. Another disappointment was that neither the "heated pool" nor the "hot tub" nearest to our lodge were heated. There was no sign or notice on the pool/hot tub directing us to a heated pool a little further away which we discovered the day we were to leave (which is something we could have investigated ourselves before the trip ended, but didn't so that's partially our fault for not asking). We were disappointed in the things mentioned above, but there were many wonderful things about the trip as well. The horse and carriage ride was fun, the nightly entertainment in the Buzzard Bar was fun and the food good. Our steak dinner at the Worman House was wonderful, next to a roaring fire and a sunset view..can't beat that. All in all, other than a few things that weren't so wonderful mentioned above, the trip was nice and I would love to visit again during warmer weather.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Tablerock Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to let us know about your stay at Big Cedar Lodge. We appreciate your feedback and we always love to hear from our guests. We are taking your experiences into consideration as we plan for the future. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First time here: Awesome just loved the place I'll be back. The veiw, the grounds, the rooms and activities all great! One minor exception I do not recommend the horseback riding. It's way over priced, located at Dogwood Canyon 20 min ride and then 10 min of paperwork then 10 min to the stable makes prep time too long for a 50 min ride and not a very pretty mostly level open range ride. Similar rides available in more beautiful locations for half the price within 20 min of the Big Cedar

Room Tip: All rooms good but If choosing a cabin the lake cabins are far from the resturants and pools whereas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Big Cedar for your 2013 Spring Break and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are glad you had a good time and we've also duly noted your comments about horseback riding at Dogwood Canyon. We will take this into consideration for future plans as we continue to enhance the experience at Dogwood Canyon. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Letterman
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at Big Cedar to celebrate our anniversary. The one bedroom log cabins are amazing! The staff is very friendly and the resort is beautiful. The only disappointment we had was the horseback riding. They have now been moved to Dogwood Canyon. The trail ride at Dogwood Canyon was in more of an open pasture than in the mountains like we thought they would be. But as far as Big Cedar goes, you can't beat this place. It's absolutely the most wonderful place to go!

Room Tip: One bedroom cabins on the south side are more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went to celebrate our anniversary with our children and grandkids and had a short but very nice stay at Big Cedar. We were pleasantly surprised to find in our room a small cake and a card from the hotel congratulating us on the occasion.
After reading a few reviews saying how bad the Valley View Lodge rooms were, we were very concerned about what we would find but luckily were given rooms (odd numbers) on the second floor with really nice views to the property, not to the back parking lot (even numbers) so everything was just fine. The rooms were clean, spacious, sunny, adequate for the price and we had no complaints at all, except for the guests downstairs from us that kept banging on their ceiling when the children (one and a half and three years old) were running around, on their socks and on the carpet (!!). Didn't use the crib we had asked for because it was way too small, not a regular size one.
Also, they could have some more indoor activities for young children, and some sort of playroom, there was a cabin lined with tables for some classes for kids but nothing was going on and not a single toy in view. Unfortunately, the Friday evening campfire and Saturday activities were cancelled due to rain, but the kids enjoyed playing in the outdoors during the day and the paddle boats.
After driving four hours to get there, we wished we could stay longer as it is indeed a wonderful resort.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Valley View Lodge ask for second floor odd-numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We are glad you had a wonderful time during your stay. We take your feedback very seriously and we appreciate the comments about your time in the Valley View Lodge and the lack of indoor activities for kids. We will take this into consideration for future planning. We hope to see you again soon!

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Top Contributor
1,144 reviews 1,144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 327 cities Reviews in 327 cities
913 helpful votes 913 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited Big Cedar on the recommendation of a few locals and they were right. This is a wonderfully planned resort featuring a conference center, rustic lodging, superior dining, and gorgeous grounds. Their shop is unique as well with many fishing/hunting related items (Bass Pro Shop owns the place). As you drive into the resort, the stream flows over the road, and there are waterfalls everywhere. Be sure to see Devils Pool.
We chose to try Sunday Brunch and were not disappointed. There were several areas to test your pallet and, of course, an ample desert table. Out table was at a window that provided a view of the lake below. I was surprised to see so many young families there as guests.
after brunch we walked the grounds and took many pictures. What a value just a few miles from Branson...it rivals the Chateau on the Lake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your recent experience at Big Cedar Lodge. We love hearing back from our guests and we take your feedback very seriously. We are so happy you enjoyed the brunch and we hope to see you again soon.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I went here to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary. It was more than we had heard about and such a treat for us. We asked for a cabin. It was delightful and full of surprises. The set up was great and we needed nothing to stay even longer than we were there. The bath was great, the kitchen perfect, the sitting area and fireplace so cozy and great sleeping arrangements. There was a grill and a balcony looking over the water and had the weather been warmer we would have had a number of outside activities to do. This place would be great for kids and grandkids and families to gather. It is more expensive than an Inn and Suites you might stay at but it was well worth it to us.

Room Tip: The lodges looked great with wonderful views from high up. We had a cabin and the privacy was really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanainRidgedale, Director of Sales at Big Cedar Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Happy Anniversary! Thank you for celebrating this special occasion with Big Cedar Lodge. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and you found the cabin more than accommodating! Thank you for giving us feedback about your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

With Genuine Ozarks Hospitality,

Jana Daugherty
Big Cedar Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Cedar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Cedar Lodge

Address: 612 Devil's Pool Road, Ridgedale, MO 65739
Location: United States > Missouri > Ridgedale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly resort on Table Rock Lake just outside of Branson, MO. This luxury resort features a variety of accommodation options including private cabins and lodges. On-site activities include golf, fishing, hiking, horseback riding and other outdoor activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Big Cedar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Cedar Hotel Ridgedale
Big Cedar Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Cedar Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.