We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Bey Beruwala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Bey Beruwala to your Saves list
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moragalla, Moragolla KT 12070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moragolla
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“simply amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Just got back from an amazing week at Cinnamon Bey. Felt like we were in paradise. From the moment we arrived the staff were smiling and helpful and never holding their hand out for tips as another reviewer remarked. Rooms are so comfortable and all with stunning sea views. We were half board and were so happy with the buffet we ate there all the time and in a week we never saw anything twice. While there we visited Galle, a tea plantation, turtle hatchery and cinnamon island. We also had a trip out into the local villages on an old land rover with a guide who would leave David Attenborough in the shade! He finished the guided tour off with a fabulous lunch at his home cooked by his wife. Some reviewers have commented on the concrete, I personally never noticed it as I was too busy enjoying my holiday. Very sad to leave and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We were next to Mezze restaurant and above the main pool but it was still really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to warmly thank you for your generous comments on TripAdvisor following your one week stay with us.

We are truly pleased to read that your entire experience exceeded your expectations and that you are already considering returning for a next vacation.

To know that the entire team contributed in making your visit to Sri Lanka a memorable one is very important to us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Bey in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    226
    75
    23
    24
See reviews for
187
181
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is a good hotel and a great location if you have family. The beach is lovely and shallow . The only problem I had was that I had booked a private taxi and the hotel had cancelled my taxt and told him off for coming to pick up guest from the hotel as the hotel try's to charge you 3 times the amount and get you to use their taxis. So make sure you get something out of the hotel as they try to rip you on this. They do have a great spa and lovely staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed the hotel and its facilities.

However, we are concerned about your comments in regards to the taxi service. We would like to inform you that our procedure does not allowed any of our Team Members to cancel any services unless instructed by the client or its travel agency. Upon clients request the hotel can organize a taxi or Tuktuk service with the nearby taxi stand, but we do not have any financial affiliation with them. We take guests' experiences very seriously even outside our doors, and would be very interested to find out what did happen with your transportation. If you would be so kind as to send me a note at bey@cinnamomhotels.com, I would be most appreciative.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great Food with choice!

Clean rooms!

Nice pool and a area to have Sea bath!


Need improvement of staff coordination and guest relations.................

No bath tub in the rooms this can add value to the in room facilities.......

Parking at hotel needs to be improved since valet parking was not available and we need to walk in hot sun from the car park to the hotel taking a out side route. This need to be urgently looked into.

Room Tip: Deluxe facing SEA
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor and we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala for your holiday.

Your constructive feedback is important to us and it is through your comments that we strive to achieve high levels of service. Exceeding customer expectations is our priority and your views are therefore essential.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cinnamon Bey Beruwala or possibly at another one of our Cinnamon Resorts in Sri Lanka or Maldives.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights after a long tour of Sri Lanka, and thought that it was a great hotel. Rooms were modern and well appointed. Ours opened directly onto the gardens, for an easy stroll to the pool and beach. The restaurant buffet food was excellent, with a really wide choice. Salads and desserts are kept in their own chilled room so that they are really fresh. . In addition to the main restaurant there are 3 other a la carte dining options. We didn't try them as we found the buffet so good. I would recommend asking the head waiter to reserve you a nice table by the pool. Though they don't "advertise" that you can do this, they were happy to do this for us throughout our stay. Laundry was good value and well done, with nothing damaged.. Pool was clean, clear and warm, and a real pleasure to swim in. Large gardens with plenty of sun beds to lie around in sun or shade. The gardens open directly onto the beach, which is ok, and has a protected lagoon in which it is safe to swim. The bar is rather hidden away on the first floor but has a lovely outside veranda and is well worth finding. Ice Cream in the Cafe was excellent.
The only downsides that I could see were the fact that the hotel is some way from any town centre that could be visited. You need transport. Also the main hotel building is bare concrete and unattractive. However, I certainly wouldn't let either of these two things put me off visiting again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a private "balcony" which then open directly onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor and we take this opportunity to thank you once again for choosing the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala for a second visit.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stqy and that our deluxe room category is your favorite.

Thank you again for your patronage and we are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this very stylish hotel. Love the wide open spaces and especially the Deluxe rooms with the private pool. Good food and great service as always, we will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are very spacious and features a private pool for that area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor and we take this opportunity to thank you once again for choosing the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala for a second visit.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stqy and that our deluxe room category is your favorite.

Thank you again for your patronage and we are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 12 nights from 8 March. Very good hotel, all staff very friendly and rooms clean and tidy. The hotel isn't the most attractive from the outside as most is bare concrete but the design is very practical and the view from the buffet restaurant is lovely. Food in the buffet was good with many choices. We were on the all inclusive which meant that we could use the buffet restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner but could also use the al la carte restaurants for dinner when we wanted without booking and order off a set menu. The all inclusive also allowed us to order off a limited drinks menu and you could have wine with dinner, which was pretty good compared to other wines we have had in other all-inclusive hotels. There were limited number of umbrellas by the pool but plenty of shade from trees and the pool was never busy. The poolside staff were excellent and always sorted out a bed, umbrella and towels for us. There was also a poolside drinks service.

We went on two trips whilst we stayed in Sri Lanka. The first was a two day trip to the elephant orphanage, Kandy and Sigiriya which was very good. We stayed overnight on a half board basis at the Cinnamon Citadel in Kandy which was a nice hotel with a lovely view from the pool overlooking a river. The trip involved climbing up lots of stairs to get to the top of Sigiriya rock and to Dambulla cave temple, which was quite hard in the heat but well worth it. The driver we had on this trip seemed determined to kill us with his driving which was very scary but we arrived back in one piece.

The second trip was a jeep safari around a local village and to see a turtle hatchery. This was a brilliant trip and the guide was very knowledgable about the local wildlife so we really enjoyed it.

All in all we very much enjoyed Sri Lanka and our stay at the Cinnamon Bey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We would like to thank you for writing such a kind comment regarding your 12 nights stay this month.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Sri Lanka and particularly at the Cinnamon Bey.

Thank you for highlighting your positive experiences and for noting the attentiveness of our Team Members .

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We were here for four nights and had a pleasant stay overall. But for the money, one would have expected more. It seemed that it was still growing into shape and the staff still finding their feet.

The rooms are wonderful; well appointed and lovely, relaxing schemes and tones. However, despite having booked the room and arriving long after the check time, it took ages to find one for us.

Great choice of restaurants. Mezze, Rock Salt and Fire all definitely worth a try. Fire does great pizzas. Rock Salt a great concept. And Mezze great, but sadly too few guests.

Bufe, however, disappointing. The food delicious; great breakfast. However, terribly slow service, plates stacking up and you had to ask for tea/ coffee all the time.

Disappointed by the glasses and plates stacking up around the grounds for several days on end.

And all this against a backdrop of all the staff holding out their hands for a tip for providing their basic service. It got infuriating after a while. If they were going over and beyond it would be different, but for doing their job ....

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Sir or Madam,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on Trip Advisor and we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala for your holiday.

Your constructive feedback is important to us and it is through your comments that we strive to constantly improve our level of service.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your overall four nights stay with us and you have appreciated the great choice of restaurants offered.

I have taken good note of your comments in regards to the plates stacking and the Department Head concerned has taken the necessary corrective actions.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cinnamon Bey Beruwala or possibly at another one of our Cinnamon Resorts in Sri Lanka or Maldives.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Bey Beruwala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bey Beruwala

Address: Moragalla, Moragolla KT 12070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Moragolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moragolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Bey Beruwala 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beach and facing the Indian Ocean, the Resort is located in Beruwala on the South West Coast of Sri Lanka. It marks the spot for the first Muslim settlement on the island, established by the Arab traders around the 8th century AD. Strong of this rich heritage, the Resort’s design has been influenced to feature a modern Moorish style and décor. Cinnamon Bey is named with reference to this history and is the term used to address provincial nobleman of the Ottoman Empire. With its bright and spacious rooms, all overlooking the garden and the sea, the Resort’s offers Superior and Deluxe rooms as well as two large Suites. The main feature of this Resort is its large food selection with a range of mezze and grills served at the Arabic Mezz2 restaurant. Rock Salt restaurant features a Fusion Asian cuisine where guests can enjoy cooking their own food on hot stone, Raw counter offers an array of Sushi and Sashimi while Fire restaurant features pizzas and grilled seafood and meat. In addition, the Bufe restaurant offers traditional Sri Lankan food as well as International cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cinnamon Bey Beruwala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.