We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely property but food very poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Bey Beruwala

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Bey Beruwala to your Saves list
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moragalla, Moragolla KT 12070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moragolla
Colombo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“lovely property but food very poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely open air architecture with an amazing view . It was a cloudy when we visited but sunsets here are supposed to be perfect. The staff was very helpfull and friendly and service good . Rooms were modern , clean and well maintained with good sleep quality .
The cultural dance for eve entertainment was extremely good.
The food though was a BIG let let down. The food variety was ok but Tasteless! Was dissapointed here as I expected much more from a reputed 5 star . Each side of the restaurant had food served for ease but it was like a treasure hunt around the whole place as what was on thd left lacked dishes from the other side. Also cuttlery , plates and glasses werent aplenty at paticular times . Also strangely the hotel ran out of certain dishes , eg : bacon in the morn , blue berry saucd , etc

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala for your holiday.

We are pleased that you have appreciated the hotel facilities and the friendliness of our Team Members as well as our weekly cultural dance.

We are disturbed to read that the food was not up to your satisfaction and that the live cooking stations concept did not suit your expectations. We thank you for bringing these shortcomings to our attention and the shortage of bacon and blueberry sauce has been investigated. It is constructive observations such as yours that facilitate us to keep improving our standards. Our hope is that these isolated issues would not deter you from visiting us again.

Thank you for your patronage and please be assured that we will make every endeavour to make your next stay with us a comfortable one.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    226
    75
    23
    24
See reviews for
187
181
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dominica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights with the family, rooms are nice with a wonderful view of the pool and ocean. I loved the food and the service was great. I also had a massage by an indonesian girl which was very relieving and probably the best massage i have ever had.
The staff were very helpful and assisting whenever we needed anything. I really loved this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor and we thank you for choosing the Cinnamon Bey Beruwala for your holiday with your family.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed the Spa treatment as well as the food and the friendliness of our Team Members.

Thank you once again for your comment and for staying with us.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good Hotel, The lobby and entrance was a let down. The rooms are good but disappointed that no health club, gym and room for games. The breakfast was a huge spread the variety was enormous. The pool is well maintained the staff is courteous and well behaved

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for writing a comment on trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Cinnamon Bey.
We are pleased to read that breakfast spreads as well as the friendliness of your Team Members were up to your expectation.

We are sorry that you did not find our Fitness studio and our Spa both located on the ground floor close to our main restaurant. Games are also available in our Grain bar for guests to use while having refreshment.

Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experience with us and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Bey.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this lovely property for 2 nights during our family vacation. Upon arrival, we were very impressed by the open air architecture. The breeze keeps the lobby and restaurants cool so you can enjoy the view of the pool and ocean without being directly in the sun. We were given cool towels and juice to freshen ourselves up as the check in process took place. We were upgraded to a large room overlooking a pool. It had modern Arabesque decor and was very spacious and bright. There was a separate, open-air shower and bathtub which led to the patio. I suggest drawing the shades though because from the restaurant across the way, you can see right into the bathroom at night! The restaurants all served fantastic food but they are all quite pricey. My kids loved cooking on lava stone at Rock Salt. The breakfast buffet was the highlight of our trip. We loved the variety and everything was delicious. However, sometimes the service was slow and it seemed that they were short staffed at times. I ordered lunch one afternoon and couldn't eat it because it took too long for the food to arrive and I was getting late for my spa appointment, so I had to leave. My husband had it packed and sent to the room, but cold chicken curry is not tasty. There are 3 swimming pools and all of them are clean. The beach feels a bit unsafe even though there were security guards around but they don't seem to be very vigilant. At one point, my young daughter and I were surrounded by 10 young men that approached us out of nowhere as we were playing in the sand. I had to shoo them away after their inquisitiveness made me suspicious of their intentions. Also, the beach was very rocky and the currents were too strong for young kids. We decided to enjoy the pools on property for the remainder of the trip. There is a little spa on the property as well. The services were average for the price. Beware there are lot of taxes and fees added to all services at the hotel, which can real give you a shock. If you are looking to explore outside the hotel, there are tuk tuks available down the road and little souvenir shops along the way. Just 20 minutes away there is a turtle hatchery and river safaris as well. The staff at Cinnamon Bey were very attentive and polite, and one of the few places in Sri Lanka where I didn't feel pressure to tip for every tiny service. I don't give out 5 star ratings very often, but this place earned it in my book.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little extra for the deluxe rooms, especially if you are a family needing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

We are delighted to read that you and your family have appreciated the Resort and the friendliness of our Team Members while staying at the Cinnamon Bey.

We are pleased that our Rock Salt restaurant was an enjoyable experience for your children and that the breakfast was the highlight of your trip.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Cinnamon Bey, should you decide to travel back to Sri Lanka in the near future.

Thank you again and warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavi, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

excellent hotel and graets service be there when you will be in Srilanka
the staff are always smiling and pron to help you
very beautiful bath room we had a meeting with the general manager she was very kind for her time if i will be back in srilanka i will pass some days there

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for posting a comment on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Cinnamon Bey.

We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us and that you may consider coming back for another vacation. It was a pleasure to have met you and being able to explain about the hotel industry in Sri Lanka.

Thank you again and we hope in welcoming you back in the near future,

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Excellent hotel, well set atmosphere, friendly staff and a real authentic 5 star service.
Food was also really good, esp. the buffet breakfast...
the swimming pool was among the cleanest and well maintained.

Room Tip: get an upgrade, you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you for posting a comment on Trip Advisor in reference to your recent stay at the Cinnamon Bey.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and that you thoroughly enjoyed the food and the swimming pool.

Thank you again for stay at the Cinnamon Bey and we hope in welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

One of the best places I have been! Some rooms open up to the pool and the rooms are very modern and excellent value for the price. The idea of the private pool for the deluxe and suite room wing is even better..The sea pool is something extraordinary and safe way to enjoy sea and the beach together.. Most importantly the Ice Cream Emporium was way beyond anyone’s expectation and lots of varieties to choose.. I would highly recommend C Bey to anyone..Only thing is the uniform of the staff was not that much attractive even though the staff were excellent and well trained..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEYCHRIS1, General Manager at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for posting a review about the Cinnamon Bey on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay with us and that you have enjoyed the Deluxe room as well as the dedicated pool for this room category. Our Chef has been very pleased to read about your comment on the variety of home-made ice cream available at the I.C.E.

We are pleased to inform you that we are currently working on a new design for the Restaurants for next year.

We hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back in the near future at the Cinnamon Bey.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Bey Beruwala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bey Beruwala

Address: Moragalla, Moragolla KT 12070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Moragolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moragolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Bey Beruwala 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beach and facing the Indian Ocean, the Resort is located in Beruwala on the South West Coast of Sri Lanka. It marks the spot for the first Muslim settlement on the island, established by the Arab traders around the 8th century AD. Strong of this rich heritage, the Resort’s design has been influenced to feature a modern Moorish style and décor. Cinnamon Bey is named with reference to this history and is the term used to address provincial nobleman of the Ottoman Empire. With its bright and spacious rooms, all overlooking the garden and the sea, the Resort’s offers Superior and Deluxe rooms as well as two large Suites. The main feature of this Resort is its large food selection with a range of mezze and grills served at the Arabic Mezz2 restaurant. Rock Salt restaurant features a Fusion Asian cuisine where guests can enjoy cooking their own food on hot stone, Raw counter offers an array of Sushi and Sashimi while Fire restaurant features pizzas and grilled seafood and meat. In addition, the Bufe restaurant offers traditional Sri Lankan food as well as International cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cinnamon Bey Beruwala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.