We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinnamon Bey, Beruwala, Sri Lanka” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon Bey Beruwala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cinnamon Bey Beruwala to your Saves list
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Moragalla, Moragolla KT 12070, Sri Lanka   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moragolla
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cinnamon Bey, Beruwala, Sri Lanka”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Was amazed at the space of this property which is well laid out though it is still not fully opened as yet. More restaurants and the spa is yet to be functional but all in all was very happy with it. The staff are incredible and and very courteous and nothing is too much trouble, from the General Manager downwards and special mention must be made of the Restaurant and Bar Manager Mr.Namal Dissanayake and trainee Sajith Chaturanga Munasinghe who went out of their way to make our stay a very pleasant one. It is staff of this calibre that is needed and make a difference to any organisation. I am sure that once the hotel is fully operational it will be one of the most sought after hotels to have your holiday in.

Room Tip: Stayed in one of the suites which was super and great if you are with a young family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    223
    75
    23
    24
See reviews for
185
181
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were at Cinnamon Bey last week for 3 days on a full board basis. Both of us are vegetarian and on our first day for lunch there was hardly anything to eat. Lots of salads but there's only so much you can eat raw vegetables and they do not replace a main course. However, over the next few meals the hotel did make an effort to introduce some vegetarian dishes in to the buffet. One particular chef was kind enough to give us a plate of boiled veggies and fried potatoes. This was appreciated. However, for a 5*, the buffet has a long way to go if they are to attract and cater for Vegetarians and Vegans. If we were to give a % of vege friendly main dishes, it is around 15% out of all the dishes that are produced.

The rooms on the other hand was a pleasant experience. Rooms were very clean, spacious, really new, crispy linnen, good lighting, good A/C and a nice outdoor balcony. The bed was rather tall and was waaaaay too hard for my personal liking. Tea, coffee making facilities were all good except for a kettle which had to be replaced due to some dark substance stiking to its bottom. Dinning areas were clean, well maintained and offered relaxing music in the evenings. One particular oddity we faced was finding a dead fly in one of the dishes served at the buffet. This to us was surprising...!

Drinks (fruity) are rather expensive and the least priced was Rs. 500-600 which in my opinion was overprice for its quality. Staff are however friendly and they serve you with a smile always and very prompt to attend to your needs. The beach initially seemed rather queer because so many people who seemed like from the surroundings were all over it. Personally this initially seemed like rather 'unsafe' but it was not the case and some of them were really tour guides. Not the 'quiet' idealistic setting for a beach given that all these people are hanging about throughout the day but the reef is excellent and you can go paddling, swimming, just walk across the sea for quite a long distance. Beach is not flat, rather angled and the sand is rather rough nearer to the water. Water is not 'clear' or blue. Rather a dull shade of brown mixed green grey colour. It is however kept clean.

Another surprising incident we witnessed was the arrival of what looked like a stray dog to the dinning area. It was running around, nibbling at what had fallen on the floor, going to the lounge area and no one in the staff really took the perseverence to get rid of it. One person would chase it a few feet and it goes, returns. Another person would chase it another few feet and again the dog returns. It went on.

The pools were well kept though one odd piece of information did catch our attention. There is a seperate pool for the guests of delux rooms. It is hard to imagine how the hotel controls other guests from not using this particular pool. Though it is more 'private' really the other pool has more privacy because it is not overlooked by all the rooms above it!

Overall, to be a 5* this hotel has a journey to make. It is still under construction and the gym, spa including some restaurants are yet to be built/completed. At night the hotel looks marvellously lit and absolutely georgous. During the day you might not think much about it and it lacks character, colour and the grey concrete looking structures matches a dull sky making it look rather uninviting. For us, if the hotel rates are on a 50% discount or more, we might consider going back because the state of affairs there at present is only really worth that price. Hope it will pick up and offer something better once completed.

Room Tip: Delux views are not worth it. Superior rooms have better views surprisingly. Be on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

First off... i must say that this was a very nice and relaxing holiday. The hotel is designed beautifully and the beach is fabulous! But, unfortunately as this hotel is part of the Cinnamon chain... our comparison was with Cinnamon Grand and Lake... and Bey is not quite there yet!

Having said that, i am convinced that they will be one of the best properties in the area very soon! The room (superior) was nice for a 4* one but a little below our 5* expectations. No room slippers, bathrobes, dvd player, only 1 on-demand movie channel. The bathroom is novel and beautifully done!

Only 2 restaurants were open (Bufe and Fire) and they were designed beautifully. Specially fire. The food while good was not spectacular and lacked imagination in the menu which we would expect from a 5* property.

Both ICE and the Grain bar were wonderful spaces. The home made ice cream was good but not ilgelato standards for us. Prices of both ice cream and drinks are 5* btw :)

The staff and service was 5* for sure! Nothing was too much trouble and they met our requests with genuine care... kudos!

The best thing about the hotel for us though is its spaces.. they have some beautiful and dreamy spaces facing the sea with fabulous winds blowing and comfy sofa's etc for just chilling :) we could spend hours there talking, sleeping and sipping a few drinks listening to the waves crash

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Over the past few months, I've visited a couple of the John Keells hotels including the The Village in Habarana, and Chaaya Tranz Hikkaduwa on more than one occasion. I was hoping the new Cinnamon Bey to meet it's advertised '5-star' experience, much of which was shattered upon arrival.

Our first night's stay was already pre-paid at the John Keells Hotels office in Colombo and we booked a suite for two-nights. Upon check-in, we were asked to wait for a short while till the room was prepared at around 13:30 hours on Monday, 26/11/2012. I made an off remark that the previous guests probably had not checked out and the staff assured me they had and that it was being cleaned. One hour later, I pushed the issue and they finally admitted that the previous guest was still in the room!

This was completely unacceptable considering my family and I were looking to rest and have lunch since the morning drive to Bentota was gruelling enough that we had to wait for our room. We were provided with a basic room to use the amenities etc. and by around 4 pm I decided we should just head back home.

It was at that time, and much complains to the JKH office in Colombo that our suite was 'ready'.

Apart from this ordeal, the room-service menu didn't have anything decent to order and since we were on half-board, we headed down for dinner by around 7-8 pm. The buffet was absolutely useless, with nothing particularly decent to eat. Their manned stations were 'abandoned' most of the times and even those didn't serve anything interesting.

To keep costs down, the entire dining area is not air-conditioned - and we were eaten alive by the mosquitos. I didn't stay long and returned to the room to watch some TV.

The pillows were just horrible and would stay quite hot, as did the bed itself - this resulted in a night of little decent sleep and I was up at around 4 am the next morning, just waiting to leave!

I didn't even bother going in for "breakfast", however, my family went for the buffet and got a warm welcome by the mosquitos. I decided enough was enough, and we checked out shortly thereafter.

Our short break was ruined to say the least, and I came back home with no feeling of being on 'holiday'. Complete waste of time and quite simply, I'm never going back.

JKH can continue to milk all their foreign travellers as this hotel has been designed simply for that purpose.

Room Tip: Save your money and stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Pramukshi Kariyawasam- Public Relations, Cinnamon Bey Beruwala at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on our Hotel. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you at the point of check-in due to the previous guests of the suite not vacating on time. Our main “Bufe” restaurant and most of our public spaces which come with a view of the ocean are non-air conditioned and it is in fact a design feature of the Hotel enabling our guests to make the most of the seaside-living experience. This is also not uncommon among other resorts in our chain. We do however take every precaution to minimise the disturbance of insects. With the hotel now fully operational we have 8 dining venues for our guests to choose from; among these the air-conditioned “Fire” our stake and grill restaurant and “Rock Salt” our shabu shabu style fusion restaurant. We would like to invite you to experience these new features on a return visit. Thank you sincerely for taking the time to share your views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We were booked in for 5 nights w,e.f. 12 November 2012.
We were rather disappointed with the unprofessional welcome - mainly due to untrained /uninformed staff.
We found the hotel still under constrction and that many areas advertised - such as Spa were far from complete. We discussed this with the Manager, Mr Robert, who acknowldged this and went on so say that the hotel was only opened on 04/10/2012 and that the Grand opening is scheduled for mid Deceomber.

Fortunately we were moved the next day by our travel agent to another resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PramukshiKariyawasam, Pramukshi Kariyawasam- Public Relations, Cinnamon Bey Beruwala at Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Cinnamon Bey. We apologize for the inconvenience caused upon your arrival at our Hotel. Facilities such as the Spa were not available during the time of your stay due to the Hotel being in a soft-opening stage. Our Hotel is now fully operational with eight dining venues, Azmaara Spa and other facilities in operation and we do look forward to having you with us again so that you could experience the full indulgence of Cinnamon Bey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The word bey is not a mis spelling of bay , it is derived from Turkish, as it was in this area that the turks landed many centuries ago. Cinnamon Bey opened very recently . This hotel has several eating places and a friend and I had lunch there recently, we ate in the all day dining restaurant, where the menu was comprehensive and the service was excellent as was the food, it is not the cheapest place in the area by far, but certainly worth a visit .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I visited Cinnamon Bey on an official visit to inspect the hotel for my clients. this is one of best hotels has JKH Hotels has produced.
Staff is friendly and services is good. Hotel has many verity of restaurants which gives the foreign clients will have many options.
I visited in early Oct and hotel is almost completed and only few things to finish. ( Spa )
value for money and my prediction would be this would be next best 5 star hotel in Beruwela..

Room Tip: Hotel is Brand new. Any room you select you will get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cinnamon Bey Beruwala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Bey Beruwala

Address: Moragalla, Moragolla KT 12070, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Moragolla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moragolla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cinnamon Bey Beruwala 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the beach and facing the Indian Ocean, the Resort is located in Beruwala on the South West Coast of Sri Lanka. It marks the spot for the first Muslim settlement on the island, established by the Arab traders around the 8th century AD. Strong of this rich heritage, the Resort’s design has been influenced to feature a modern Moorish style and décor. Cinnamon Bey is named with reference to this history and is the term used to address provincial nobleman of the Ottoman Empire. With its bright and spacious rooms, all overlooking the garden and the sea, the Resort’s offers Superior and Deluxe rooms as well as two large Suites. The main feature of this Resort is its large food selection with a range of mezze and grills served at the Arabic Mezz2 restaurant. Rock Salt restaurant features a Fusion Asian cuisine where guests can enjoy cooking their own food on hot stone, Raw counter offers an array of Sushi and Sashimi while Fire restaurant features pizzas and grilled seafood and meat. In addition, the Bufe restaurant offers traditional Sri Lankan food as well as International cuisine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cinnamon Bey Beruwala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon Bey Beruwala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.