We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great Holiday Inn Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2781 North Westwood, Poplar Bluff, MO 63901   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poplar Bluff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Trenton
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not a great Holiday Inn Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a newer Inn yet it is set up more for conventions or meetings. Entire first floor are meeting rooms, plus gym and pool/spa area also with a Italian restaurant and hair salon. It is also not a total smoke free hotel. Instead of having smoking on one floor they separate smoking rooms on each floor on one side of the elevator smoking rooms the other side non. So smell is on the entire floor. Not pleasant. Also a storm rolled in and power was out for several hours, staff seemed unsure of how to handle this if it had not come back on before it got to late. Also they do not do the typical express breakfast but you get a voucher for breakfast to the Italian restaurant. We ate there for dinner and was quite good, yet for breakfast you only were allowed a few choices on their menu and you had to pay for drinks and a tip. So would look someone else if in area again.

Room Tip: All rooms and aisles have a smoke smell even if they are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    39
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
19
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was very clean and nice. The rooms were a bit dated, but have been maintained. Also, the room size seems to be larger than most. I received free breakfast vouchers for the restaraunt downstairs for being a priority club member. However, she did not address me as a platinum member. She just slipped the vouchers in with my room key. I found them when I reached my room. The breakfast was very good and the service in the restaraunt was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I prefer to stay in Holiday Inn hotels. I have stayed at this hotel since it was built, 3 to 4 times a year. While the service is mediocre and the restraunt quality comes and goes, its location is convenient. I called today to make my routine visit reservation and was told that the price of the room will change everyday. REALLY? I made 5 other reservations with Holiday Inns and that is not the case. Is there something different about this inn? I've been a priority club member for many years (platinum) and have never been told this before. I requested a manager call me, but no call. I will avoid this hotel as long as this is there policy. I suggest a suite a Comfort Inn in Poplar Bluff. Price for a suite is less than the lowest day quoted me for a regular room at holiday inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear William A,

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel and we appreciate you being a loyal Priority Club member. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for the service you received fell below your expectations. I will make sure that your feedback will be reviewed and be forwarded to the appropriate departments. Thank you again for citing specific concerns that will help us improve on overall guest satisfaction.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Its a wonderful hotel , great staff, Theclean rooms,great bar!!!!!! If your going to stay the night in Poplar Bluff it's a must stay. Its probably the best I've stayed at and i go all over.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Reading the reviews for this hotel, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was extremely pleased with my stay, and if I’m ever in Poplar Bluff again, I would stay here.

The hotel was in a very central location and there was plenty of parking. I was especially delighted in the Bath and Body Works items J I also liked the fact that I had my choice of firm and soft pillows on the bed. They were both labeled.

I had vouchers for free breakfasts since I’m a Priority Rewards member. When I realized that I was missing one voucher, I went to the front desk. They were very friendly and apologized for their oversight. I thought the free breakfast was good, even though everything on the menu and drinks weren’t included.

I was delighted with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and looked new. The pool was the perfect temperature. The only draw back was that the elevators did not work well. We had issues with the elevators jerking and dinging. I also saw a group of people get stuck on the elevators and a front desk employee had to come with a key and pull the door open.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

While the rest of the trip wasn't the best, this was business after all, your hotel was my bright spot. Your front desk young lady was stellar. I have already written to you about her by name. She is the bomb!
We had the delicious breakfast in your restaurant, where the wait staff was friendly and attentive.
I will probably never pass your way again but I am certainly thankful I experienced your hospitality.
Oh, the room was clean, quiet, perfect.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff

Address: 2781 North Westwood, Poplar Bluff, MO 63901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Poplar Bluff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Poplar Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from the Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff hotel. The Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff hotel is conveniently located 1 mile south of Hwy US-60 on Hwy Business 67 South across from Poplar Bluff Regional Medical Center and just minutes from the Black River Coliseum and Poplar Bluff Industrial Park featuring Briggs & Stratton, Gates Rubber Company, Nordyne, L&P Plastics, Technical Plastics and Libla Industries. With all the comforts of home, and the conveniences of today's technology, we feature mini-refrigerators, and free high-speed Internet access in all our guest rooms, and wireless access in our public areas. Our hotel is the only full-service hotel in Poplar Bluff and features a Ziggy's Restaurant right here on property. Ranked in the top 50 Holiday Inns in the country by our guests, come check out our passion for service and desire to be your constant caring friends. Enjoy our newest addition, Paradise Salon and Spa that has just opened within the hotel. Open Monday through Saturday from 9 AM to 5 PM it is just another way to make your stay complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff Hotel Poplar Bluff
Poplar Bluff Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Poplar Bluff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.