We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard Work U” 5 of 5 stars
Review of College of the Ozarks

College of the Ozarks
One Opportunity Ave, PO Box 17, Point Lookout, Branson, MO 65616
+1 417-334-6411
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Type: Educational Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: College of the Ozarks, known as "Hard Work U," is more than a college. It's a destination with tons of family-friendly activities, including two museums, an old-fashioned grist mill, fruitcake and jelly kitchen, stained glass studio, and exquisite 4-star dining at Dobyns Dining Room in The Keeter Center. It's a great way to spend a day while you are in the Branson area. The only thing that requires admission is the Ralph Foster Museum ($6 Adults, $5 Seniors, and Free to all 18 and under). Dobyns Dining Room offers a farm to table experience without breaking the bank. Come learn why this unique college is nationally known.
Kemah, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hard Work U”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014 NEW

This is the high point of our Thanksgiving week trip each year. The Thanksgiving Buffet to the finest in the central part of the United Startes. The Culinary school puts on a food show and it is our favortie place to visit and of course EAT. Wallking the campus and feeling the experience is one experience of a lifetime.

God Bless this place

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    70
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visiting the Keeter Center is a MUST.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

The students are so mannerly you will wish your kids could have attended this college. A student was our step on guide and did a lovely job giving us a tour of the school.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 NEW

We discovered this place well before it was the College of the Ozarks known then as School of the Ozarks. We dined at what was then the Hospitality House. So very glad to say the tradition continued with the move to the new Lodge. Take the tour of the campus and stop for a meal.....be sure to make reservations or you will have a lengthy wait. But we'll worth the wait. We always take a little bit of the College home with us by visiting the gift shop and buying Hubie 's biscuit mix and apple butter. Try it!

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You want to stop and see Hard Work U"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 NEW

Wanted to see the Foster Museum, on the campus of College of the Ozarks. Drove through large gates, into a very beautiful campus. Entrance road "T-d", turned right, went past "Honor Lake", a very large pond with fountain, to the end of that street, where the option was a left turn, then past dorms to one end of the parking lot to the museum. The museum bills itself on the large metal letters on the wall near the entrance as "the Smithsonian of the Ozarks" and except for size, and number of buildings, is apt. The exhibits were on a large number of subjects, from stuffed wild animals, to dolls (a rather complete collection of Kewpie dolls), to an amazing gun collection, to a history display of early television, ( at one time 1/3 of the programs on television were produced and broadcast from Springfield, Mo), to the original truck in which the Beverly Hillbillies "moved" from Missouri to Hollywood., and many other displays. After spending an hour and 1/2 on the first floor, and realizing it was 12;45 we asked if and where we could find a place to eat. We were directed to Keeter Hall, a very large log structure, containing a large dining venue and gift shop, containing many jams and preserves made on the campus by students. Our "server" explained that all of their dairy products and pork products were raised on campus by students, as well as vegetables in season. We planned to eat a light lunch, and my wife ordered a bowl of smoked tomato soup, and I a 3 little pigs pork Panini, which we split, and their seasoned sweet potato fries. We then ordered their "pecan pie bread pudding", and a dish of their Chocolate walnut ice cream. the bread pudding was a large serving, and were surprised to be served with a large brownie topped with whipped cream and cherry, with fudge sauce spelling "Happy Anniversary" on the plate. (We were asked when we stopped at the host desk what brought us to Branson and explained it was an anniversary trip) The two of us could not eat it all, and "waddled" away, to see the "mill" where the students prepare their own flour and corn meal, as well as baskets to sell to visitors, then back to finish our museum tour. We both were very impressed by the wholesomeness, dedication, and hard work habits taught by the school, and highly recommend this as a stop when people visit Branson. We would go there again and see some parts of the campus we missed.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmond, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A College that is different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Restaurant was great! Love the concept of a college where you earn your tuition by working on campus in various settings, from milking cows, to food services, to providing information to tourists. Only downer for me was the difficulty in getting to some of the on-campus sites for a handicapped person.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College of the Ozarks also viewed

 

Been to College of the Ozarks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage College of the Ozarks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.