We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place close to eat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tanner's Bar and Grill

Tanner's Bar and Grill
2701 Running Horse Rd, Platte City, MO 64079-7707
816-858-7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 30 Restaurants in Platte City
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Havelock, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Only place close to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A sports bar atmosphere. The service was average, the food was good for a sports bar. Price was fair.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldbiker49
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Slow service and the wrong order...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Forty five minutes after ordering a chicken sandwich and steamed veggies the waiter told us "Hopefully your food is on the way." Chicken arrived overlooked but no veggies. The manager told us they were overwhelmed and the meal was free.
There are other restaurants in Platte City. We'll find them.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, MO
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“About what you'd expect in an airport. A medium sized airport.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Storefront ambience, formica tables. Typical burgers and fries menu. Spotty service. Not much competition in Platte City, so it's usually pretty busy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice bar for lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I went in on a Tuesday after peak lunch hours. It was a little slow there was basketball on tv and I sat at the bar. The bartender was very pleasant and quick to get my drinks and food.

I had a burger, it was deliciously greasy. It came out hot and was exactly as I asked for it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Average sports bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped at Tanner's after Irish Fest in Weston. The food was okay, just average bar fare. TVs and patrons were kind of loud. I guess it was what you'd expect for a sports bar.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanner's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Tanner's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanner's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.