We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ferry Landing Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ferry Landing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ferry Landing Lodge
Save
You added Ferry Landing Lodge to your Saves list
1169 Purangi Rd, Ferry Landing, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Freising, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Bougainvillea Suite and enjoyed it very much. The appartment was very clean, the bedrooms spacy and the beds very comfortable.In the evening we enjoyed the beautiful garden with a great view over the bay. Pam and Rob were very nice and knowledegable hosts and we always had a good time with them during breakfast which was very nice with all the homemade jams. Unfortunately it rained heavily on our second day so we could not see all the things we wanted to but if you stay this side of the bay you are certainly closer to the attractions like hot water beach than from Whitianga side. And if you want to go out for dinner it's just a short ferry ride across the bay. We can recommend the warm hospitality of Ferry Landing Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
41
107
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Rob an Pam are very frinely hosts who run their B&B professionally an with a lot of enthusiasm- We (two adults and a 4year old) stayed at Sunkist Cottage and payed 300 NZdollars per night which was the most expensive stay we had on our trip (plus credit car charge, if we had stayed for two or three nbights, it would have been even more)) We were a bit let own by the view of the road from our balcony and artificial flowers instead of a bowl with fresh fruit in your flat .. which we were always offered. After a thirty hour trip from Europe it woul be nice to be welcomed with a cold drink. Everywhere else we went the hosts offered us wine an beer an self baked goodies all over the ay ... and better coffee!!!! Still, the lodge is comfortable, breakfast is good (no second course but delicious muesli and selfmade jams) and you get all extras (like a shovel and a kayak to rent) that are mentioned on the website. However, at that price you simply expect and get a different standard. .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamandrob, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for all your comments. We are sorry that you feel the way you do. We strive to please and reading reviews is a way we can continue to improve what we do. Your comments remind us, its not always possible to meet everyone's expectations but we do try hard.
-The tariff reflects all the extra's our B&B offers and children are not free.
-The CC charge is mentioned in all correspondence. 3 cash point machines in Whitianga provide an opportunity to pay cash. Most people prefer cash rather than pay extra.
-In the early days a lot of fruit was wasted because fruit was left in the rooms.
-Instead we offer fruit and salad vegetable grown on the property. (when in season)
-Refreshments, I cannot recall your particular arrival, perhaps you needed to go out immediately or arrived very late? Its always offered but not always accepted.
We're pleased you enjoyed the healthy breakfast , use of shovel & towels etc.
We are sorry that your expectations were not met. Hopefully the rest of your holiday went well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We enjoyed our 3 nights with Pam and Rob and managed to make the most of all the included amenities. We had a kayak from the front beach inland with the tide, a cycle ride and then a trip to Hotwater Beach with their spades and body boards. Also took Robs trip which was fascinating, he has a huge family history in the area going back to the 1840's so he was definitely a local expert.
Great breakfast, and good value, a place we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pamandrob, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your comments. So glad you enjoyed the whole experience. Rob's historic walk is always very popular, especially with nature lovers and other enthusiastic explorers! We love it when people like yourselves get out there and take advantage of everything there is to see and do. We would love to see you again sometime. All the best for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed in the Bougainvillea room for 2 nights in January 2012. From the moment we arrived Rob and Pam were fantastic hosts. They were always available to help plan your trip, whether lending spades for the trip to Hot Water Beach, answering any questions you had, even helping to vacuum all the sand out of our car! We did the guided walk with Rob (included in the room rate), and what he doesn't know about the area isn't worth knowing!

The lodge is perfectly positioned 2 minutes walk from the passenger ferry ($5 each way I think) to take you to and from the main tourist centre of Whitianga. It is worth noting that you need to catch the ferry back every night, or you'll find yourself stuck about a 90-minute taxi drive from home! (the ferry runs until around midnight though, so shouldn't be an issue). Being in Ferry Landing was great, as you have access to Whitianga for meals etc, whilst being close to Cathedral Cove, Hot Water Beach etc for days out.

Our room overlooked the garden, and with no traffic apart from the boats, personally enjoyed a good few hours lying in the hammock, soaking up the serenity! The rates aren't cheap, but you get what you pay for, including the really nice continental breakfast, where you get to chat with Pam, Rob and the other guests, swapping stories whilst enjoying Pam's home made preserves (big fan of the Guava myself!)

The Coromandel Coast is an absolutely stunning part of NZ, and I recommend the lodge for anyone planning to visit the area.

Room Tip: Love the hammock attached to the Bougainvillea room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrylanding09, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thanks so much for all your positive comments. It is possible to enjoy all there is in 2 days as you have mentioned. (Depending on fitness levels & age I guess) We're so glad you took advantage of our wonderful location and appreciated all that we offer. You have described our location so much better than I have and most people's expectations on arrival are well and truly exceeded.

cheers Pam and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed at the ferry landing with my girlfriend over the valentines day weekend. The couple who run this place are lovely and very helpful. Would suggest having more options for breakfast (my partner can only eat gluten free), but other wise great food in the morning. Would come back here if we visit the coromandel area.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrylanding09, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thanks for your comments. Its such a shame no mention of your girlfriends 'gluten free' allergy was not on 'special requirements' with your inquiry details. We have gluten free bread in the freezer, and with diabetic jams available etc. We hope to see you again and please do let us know of any special dietary requirements in advance.

All the best
Pam and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We spent one night at Ferry Landing during our honeymoon in New Zealand. The lodge is indeed very well located. We stayed in the Harbour suite. The view is really nice but the room is very basic. There is no free wifi and even if you can use their laptop, when you are on the other side of the World you may need to download files and to use Skype. We stayed in 13 b&b during our honeymoon and Ferry Landing was the only one without a free wifi access. It was also the only b&b that charged us for credit card payment. We believe that it is rather unfair to fully charge the customers with credit card commission. We stayed in even smaller lodges in more remote locations in NZ and none of them applied such a policy. All in all we enjoyed our stay but we cannot share all the enthusiastic reviews above.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrylanding09, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thanks for your review. One night is definitely not long enough to appreciate all we have to offer and explore the area. Its a shame you couldn't have stayed here longer. We are sure that you would feel differently. We do advise guests to allow 2 - 3 days and everyone who stays this long has a great time.

WiFi charges
We offer free use of internet using our guest PC based in the breakfast area. There is no limit to the number of times people can access this. Skype is not offered freely because of our limited data allowance. We have the largest data allowance for a residential property in this area. A commercial plan is out of the question as we operate only 5 months of the year but would be paying for an entire year. We have installed a WiFi system with zenbu.co.nz and am now able to offer 4 hours free wifi per guest. Its 10c a mb after that which is very reasonable.

CC fees (We have addressed this issue before so I have copied our response here.)
Whitianga is a summer resort in a small rural town, with many businesses closing down for winter. We are not a big company turning over millions of dollars operating year round in a large city. We cannot absorb high bank charges within our tariff structure, and have passed the processing costs on to those guests who want to pay by Credit Card. 90% of guests use the local ATM's to withdraw cash and appreciate this fairer system of 'user pays'.

Our reply to all inquiries explains payment options. This is clearly identified again when the booking is confirmed. When guests check in, payment options are mentioned again so it should not come as a surprise.

Thanks and regards
Pam and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We are a family of four, and really enjoyed the Sunflowe Cottage accommodation. There was enough space for our daughter to have her own room, and our son to sleep in the lounge. Pam and Rob made us feel right at home, and shared their local knowledge freely. The use of their spades and buckets for Hot Water Beach was wonderful. Cathedral Cove was a great spot and we loved it, but equally enjoyed kayaking on the harbour, and finding Lonely Bay as recommended by Rob and Pam. The walk with Rob was very interesting and great introduction to the history and fauna of the area.

The accommodation is comfortable, and the breakfast wonderful. We would recommend Ferry Landing Lodge and the Sunflower Cottage to any family wanting a place that they can relax and have their own space but also take advantage of local knowledge. Thank you Pam and Rob!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrylanding09, Owner at Ferry Landing Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. We appreciate the time it takes to provide feedback in this way, especially after returning from an overseas trip when there are so much other important stuff to deal with. We know there are very few B&B's who will accommodate children so its heartening to know that families appreciate what we offer. Children bring lots of pleasure along with the extra work involved and for us, its worth it. In this area, there is very little family accommodation available and our location to the beaches means families can enjoy a day out without having to drive somewhere.
Thank you once again and as we said in an earlier review, repeat visits are rewarded with a generous discount. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.

regards to all
Pam and Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ferry Landing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry Landing Lodge

Address: 1169 Purangi Rd, Ferry Landing, Whitianga 3591, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga > Ferry Landing
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ferry Landing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, boutique B&B, centrally located between 'world famous' Hot Water Beach, Cathedral Cove and Whitianga restaurants. 2.5 hrs scenic drive from Auckland Airport, Tauranga & Hamilton. On a small Peninsula on the water's edge of Whitianga harbour, 'sits' Ferry Landing Lodge. No traffic noise or bustling crowds. Just peace & quiet, the perfect place to relax. We have 3 different family holiday accommodation; 12 mins drive to Hahei, Cathedral Cove & Hot water Beach. 200m walk to the Whitianga ferryboat. FREE WIFI in rooms. Delicious, organic, home-made HOSTED breakfast. Enjoy meeting other travellers? Ferry Landing Lodge is renowned for the friendships started around the breakfast table! SPECIAL MULTIPLE NIGHT BONUS; Guided walk/talk to Whitianga Rock Reserve. Be immersed in Maori & European history & culture during Wigmore's Walk. PLUS enjoy beach towels, spades for HWB, 2 person Kayak & bikes & more, FOC. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ferry Landing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.