We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Resort but Management Ruins” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nalla Eco Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nalla Eco Beach Resort to your Saves list
Nalla Eco Beach Resort
Alamaram Street | Chinnakalapet, Kalapet 605014, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Kodaikanal, India
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort but Management Ruins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

resort was Location with Beach view Room, Restaurant, Bar. Coconut & Palm Trees and Garden.
We Surprised outlook of the Resort.

Room were not up to Mark. No Towels, Shabby and Very old Bedsheets and Blankets. A/c Sound Disturb your Sleep. Insect in the Room. Wash condition was Terrible condition.
We Found that No Responsible Person from the Management. If Your Want to order the Food in Restaurant, we need the search the Service Person. staff are friendly but they don't know How to Work. we were stayed there for 3 nights - 4 days. were struggle to get Small things.

I'll Suggest for the friend Group. Please choose some other Options in Pondicherry.

Room Tip: Choose room in1st floor for the Beach Veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    15
    21
    6
    21
See reviews for
28
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Booked a standard room with a sea view. The room is basic all right but the windows open into a field and if you push your head to the iron bars of the window you do get a bit of the sea view. So we asked if they have another that has a better view. More expensive but a better view. Then the aircon refused to work and we had to get a third change. Finally, they work extremely hard not to give a reciept when you make the payment. The sea is accessible, the mornings are nice but the movies in the evening ruin the quiet.

Room Tip: Go for superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have never been more disappointed in service than at this place... I have only one advice - "AVOID AT ALL COST".

We had booked 3 standard rooms for 2 nights. I had gone with my family including 3 elderly folks. The rooms were mediocre, definitely nothing to show for 3400/- per night. The bed sheets and towels had an disconcerting grey color. The rooms smelt of rotten cabbages and probably drain odor.
First there was no water. When we screamed a bit, the staff switched on the motors. Then there was no hot water for all the 3 days we stayed. When we yelled louder, they offered a heating coil and an induction stove to heat our own water!!! Imagine the audacity!
What was particularly offending was the fact that the better rooms were empty, and yet the staff did not deem it necessary to give us an upgrade.
When we checked out, the manager conveniently was absconding and poor soul was left to deal with us. We did not pay the full amount for the shoddy service.
But it is small consolation for a terrible stay at this "resort".

The only good thing about this place - the location! U can hit the beach any time u want free of cost!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalapet hotels

Delhi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this place at last minute for our new year outing. We booked for 2 nights for 6 people, 1 kid, 2 dogs. Even though the reviews of this resort were mostly negative and I was very apprehensive but there was no other hotel/resort available and then we thought that it might not be that bad for new year.
Here are list of negatives.
- The resort is way over-priced and doesnt provide even basic services.
- For room service, you have to call them explicitly and it can take upto 4 hrs for them to finally do it after repeated reminders.
- They do not provide soap and towels for the room as they expect you to bring them along!
- Somehow they provided 2 towels and any extra towel is charged Rs 50! Can you beat it!
- The breakfast is only served after 8:30am & before that they'll simply refuse to give you any food or drink!
- The quality of food is barely passable.
- If you ask them for anything then initial answer is always NO. You have to be at your argumentative best to get anything from them,
- If you need to order room service then be ready to order 2-3 hrs in advance & then repeatedly follow up every 30 mins as they can easily miss your order!
- We had explicitly asked them if we can bring our pets & they were affirmative. They also charged us Rs 500 for each dog per day.
- However there are no facilities for pets including no food and they'll get angry if you let your pets in their open ground! So much for pet friendliness!
- For the new year event, they had promised light, dance & singing show with complimentary drinks + dinner. However it turned out to be the worst ever show that we had seen accompanied by non-tasty food. Only 2 beer were allowed as complimentary per couple.
- They also told us that each room is sea facing. However as with other items above this one also turned out to be false.

In a nutshell, just avoid going to this resort & you'll save yourself all the above headaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

It was really an awesome place to enjoy. The customer service was good. The staffs were kind to look after us. Nalla Eco Beach Resort gave me an excellent weekend :-)
worth for money place,its really tasty food and the price may be little higher but reasonable
the staffs are kind and friendly, management people are flexible and says the customers re right

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We, a family of 4, stayed at this place for 5D/4N , all weekdays. This was our 2nd trip to Pondi and we chose this same place to stay since our previous experience was nice. Overall, the stay was comfortable and we shall certainly consider this place if we re-visit Pondi.

Things we liked about this place :-
1. courteous staff
2. child friendly
3. well maintained property and proximity to sea
4. quality of food is good even though options are less

Things we dis-liked about this place :-
1. no commitment towards guest. for example, you got to chase to get your room cleaned.
2. can act cheap when it comes to little things like newspaper, complementary breakfast, etc

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nalla Eco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalla Eco Beach Resort

Address: Alamaram Street | Chinnakalapet, Kalapet 605014, India
Location: India > Union Territory of Pondicherry > Kalapet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kalapet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the ancient fishermen hamlet of Chinnakalapet, nearly 8 kms North of Pondicherry,between the East Coast Road (ECR) and the deep blue sea of the Bay of Bengalon the virgin sands of the Coramandal Cost, amidst an ancient Palmyra forest and in an area of 4,5 acres of garden lies Nalla Beach Resort. An eco friendly Resort built in a style that preserves the beauty and sumptuosity of the Chettinad South Indian style of palaces and adds the comfort of the modern world , providing our guests with a complete experience of a natural wellness feeling ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Nalla Eco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nalla Eco Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.