We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Osage Beach
Baldwin City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Summer Get-a-way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel rooms are out dated and really need remodeling. Our room was over the kitchen so the smoke and smells from the kitchen were not pleasant.
The front desk check in/checkout staff were slow, unfriendly, and inefficient. The area outside is nice and well manicured.

Room Tip: Stay in the estate rooms and rent a golf cart for shuttling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    135
    126
    76
    48
See reviews for
156
79
9
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We bought a Living Social deal for this resort. Since we booked it over the Labor Day weekend, the price was great! We love going to the Lake of the Ozarks, but don't usually go over big weekends due to prices. This place is HUGE. And hilly. :) but the property and the views are beautiful. Our room was in building 2. We had 2 double beds, and while we wish they would have been 2 queens, they were SO comfortable and the room was VERY clean. We requested things from guest services 2 times during our stay and they were delivered in MINUTES. All the staff we came in contact with were very friendly! Being Labor Day weekend, the resort was very, very busy. It was a little hard to get settled comfortably at the pools because of the large crowds. The fireworks show was great!! We had dinner at the Black Bear on Saturday night. The food was good. My husband and I had the buffet and my kids had hot dogs, so nothing to rave about, but we all enjoyed our dinner enough. My husband did some fishing and thought the fishing area was nice, although he didn't catch anything. :) Overall, we enjoyed our experience. We will consider going back for sure!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just got back from Lake of the Ozarks, which was beautiful as always! My boyfriend and I stayed at 2 different resorts this time. The first we stayed at was Tan-Tar-A, which was a first for me. I can say without a doubt I will never be going back, at least until we have children someday.

We first arrived and found no one greeting patrons or making them feel welcome. Next we waited in a line about 20 people deep to check in (yes I understand that Labor Day Weekend is busy, but then be prepared and staffed for it). When we finally managed to check in the young man checking us in could not answer any of our questions as to where our room was or where we should park to be closest to it, but instead directed us to the guest services counter across the lobby. The lobby also smelled of wet, musty and moldy, as well looked very outdated, as did the rest of the property.

So we went over to the counter where we encountered more unfriendly staff members. They did give us a map of the resort, which was 11x14, and told us we were in B Building on the 3rd floor and where to park. So we go over to B Building and discover there is NO ELEVATOR! Did I mention we were on the 3rd floor? No one had told us until we figured this out for ourselves. Would it have been too much trouble upon check in to be asked "I notice you are in B Building on the 3rd floor, and that building has no elevator, will you need assistance with your bags?" But nothing..

Eventually we made it to our room, after going through a maze of dimly lit, moldy smelling corridors. I wasn't expecting much as we opened the door, and that was a good idea. The room itself was clean although a little damp smelling. There was only one nightstand which for me was an issue as I have glasses and am blind without them and had to place them well outside of my reach. The lighting in the room was very sterile. The bed had a horrible sag in the middle and was very very springy.

The only positive was the GORGEOUS view of the lake we had from not 1, but 2 balconies. However, the balconies looked as though they could have been better maintained. Especially since the banisters were covered in spider webs, and a pamphlet in our room let us know that black widows and brown recluses could be found in the area.

However I could see this place being great for families as there were lots of children around, and plenty of activities for them to do. For me though, I'll be sticking to The Lodge of the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a view of the lake, it is the only thing worth staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Erin501,

Thank you for your review. I apologize we were not up to your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience at check-in. I have forwarded your concerns to our Front Office Manager. I wanted to note that we have plans to begin renovations in some of our guestrooms very soon. It's our hope that we'll have another opportunity to serve you. We'd love to hear what you think about our changes. And, feel free to reach out to me prior to your next visit as we have several different room configurations – and I’m sure we can find one that best meets your needs (with a beautiful view of the water too!).

At your service,
Dianne Steingrubey
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at this resort for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and had a great time! The resort is older and outdated, however, well maintained and the grounds are meticulous. We stayed in one of the lakeside suites and spent hours on our patio just enjoying the view. Our room was clean and the bed was heavenly. Service was great! We took the Tropical Island Cruise and was worth the $15. We had lunch at Black Bear Lodge and the food was awesome...I had the Holland Beef Dip & my husband had the Pacific Whitefish Sandwich, one of the best lunches we've had in awhile. The Spa is amazing and the lakeside pool is like a tropical island resort!!! They also have Sbarro Pizza & a Burger King to keep your budget down. The Resort is large, but you can call Guest Services anytime & they will pick you up at your room and take you anywhere on the resort for free. We had a blast!!!

Room Tip: Stay on the resort complex only. They have estate rooms, but they are not on the water or near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Wanda G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experiences at our resort. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take part in many of our amenities we offer. Great choice on the lakeview suite – it’s amazing how sitting overlooking the water can make you feel so relaxed and at ease. We really appreciate you putting your trust in our resort as the destination for this special occasion and look forward to welcoming you back. From all of us at Tan-Tar-A, happy wedding anniversary!

At your service,
Dianne S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I've always thought of the Lake of the Ozarks as sort of a haven for Hillbillies with more money than common sense. The self-styled "resorts" down here compete with another for disgusting and degrading standards each time I have to come down here for a conference. This property, sadly enough, is the best of the worst.

The whole place feels tired and dated, stuck in the lake time warp and although this place was cleaner than Country Club and Spa and the Lodge of Four Seasons, it still maintains a defiant air of timeless arrogance. An attitude that it can charge you exorbitant, excessive fees in a pseudo-pretentious atmosphere of a "resort," which is as stale and dull as the tube television that they proudly maintain in the hotel rooms.

Still, I would give them almost 3 stars for the room was very clean. But, any hotel that still uses bed spreads on a bed that must have been made for elves, is far behind even simple standards. But, then again buckets of dripping water along the corridor show how neglected this place really is. Seriously, buckets to catch rain dripping from swollen ceiling tiles?

Common spaces are just barely maintained, everything everywhere needs updates and expect to pay extra for everything else. We thought about eating at the restaurant, but felt that $38 for a New York Strip was a rip-off. We were amazed at how many idiots crowded into the restaurant and lined up to pay it....

But then again, like I said earlier, this place is sort of like a haven for Hillbillies with more money than common sense. Trashy details like over-flowing ash trays filled with water and cigarette butts await you....along with other hidden gems. Good luck, if you have to stay here......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianneS0260, Guest Relations Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Alskx3,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. I apologize we were not up to your expectations. In 2012 Driftwood Hospitality Management LLC was appointed as the new management team for the resort with plans for the resort that include projects to enhance and improve the guestrooms and other areas of the resort. I wanted to note that we are currently in the process of replacing our old TVs with LG flat screens. By fall, we plan to have new TVs in all of our guest rooms. We are also looking forward to beginning room renovations very soon. If you make a return visit we hope you will have a much better experience.

At your service,

Dianne S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I just got back from tan tar a. We had a wonderful time and we can't wait to go back. We stayed at the resort, our room was a little out dated but we weren't in the room most if the time. Plus, I didn't go there to stay in the room all day! We loved the pools, and enjoyed breakfast at the Black Bear. I think the only negative thing for us was the stairs. We had a stroller for our infant, and it's not very stroller friendly. Other than that we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

On a whim, I bought a deal for Tan Tar A from Living Social. I usually do all the research before I go so place like this. This time I didn't read reviews until we were in the car. Although the place does need some renovations, especially carpet, we didn't have any other complaints. The staff were very nice. The room was clean (other than old carpet). The bed was comfortable. Contrary to previous reviews, I didn't see one bug inside or out.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 494 Tan Tar a Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year round recreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team of friendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boat rentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtaking vistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The "Bears Den" Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley and two outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at "Kids Kabin" and "Camp Tan-Tar-A". While the adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the times of their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul in an intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardy casual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique group events- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.