We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Resort From Bygone Days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark to your Saves list
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   494 Tan-Tar-A Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Lawson, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic Resort From Bygone Days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This resort property spans both shoreline and a protected cove in Osage Beach, Mo. There is a charm that seems to be more like you would see in an old movie (think "The Caine Mutiny), but the layout, while beautiful, makes moving about the grounds physically challenging and sometimes confusing. However, the staff focuses on providing the best service in the industry and the amenities include a bowling alley and water park, and a fine restaurant overlooking the lake. The rooms are unique, comfortable, and most have a good view of the lake. Overall, a nice resort property.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    122
    117
    75
    47
See reviews for
145
67
9
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Independence, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a great stay. Kids had a fun spending 10 hours in the indoor waterpark. The prime rib buffet was tremendous. So many things to do without leaving the property: spa, fitness, game room, kids club, Burger King, Sobro Pizza, Two full service restaurants, bowling, water park, fishing, golf, mini golf and arcade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This Resort is a summer hot spot, and an oft used convention hotel. I recently stayed their in the off season when there was no conference. One downside of Trip Advisor is that it is making me give a review of average, which this hotel is anything but. It is a Resort afterall, and a nearly 900 room one at that. Much of the staff, I am assuming, is seasonal, because during the off season I was served a drink by the food and beverage manager and helped out at the front desk by the general manager...all in all, the staff was very friendly. The food was not bad either, nothing you would drive out of your way for, but tasty and fresh. The bar was friendly, the shops were nice and the rooms were completely adequate, even if they felt slightly out of date (i am getting spoiled, but it seems like flat screen tvs with orderable movies and mp3 players are becoming pretty standard now). The grounds were well maintained, which must take a herculean effort on a property this size.

So, why the hesitation at a higher star? Well, they were pretty well shut down. The one open restaraunt/bar stopped serving food at 8:45 and drinks at 9. There was an upscale restaraunt that was open one day of the 4, but it had nearly the same food, according to the menu, as the casual restaraunt but with higher prices. Furthermore, it is hard to trust a restaraunt is using fresh ingriedients when it is open 3 hours for a week. There was no place to get coffee on premisis prior to 7:30 (and during the week no restaraunt was open). The stores were open at very unpredictable times and for a couple hours per day. The front desk was not generally manned, but had a ring bell for service sign. Of all the amenities, the bowling alley and game room seemed to have the most extended hours, although the game room was accessed off of the restaraunt, so posted hours (later than the restaraunt) may not have been accurate. Which was another minor annoyance, despite the scant hours, no body seemed really sure about or committed to honoring them. For instance, you get the typical order breakfast in your room card, but half of the time said service is posted as being available, its not. Same with room service in general. Finally, I should be clear, the place was not empty. It was no where near at capacity, but it was far from empty. After a fellow guest told me he had been going to McDonalds for breakfast because of the late time of the Resort's offerings, I went there only to see a family of 6 who had the three rooms next to me. There were enough people wanting services and not getting them that I thought Tan-Tar-A missed some opportunity.

They have a "what to do and when to do it" publication that I would ask for a copy of before I came in the off season, it was reasonably accurate as to what you could expect...I say this especially because I called before I came and they told me "indoor activities" would generally be open, and gave me specific information about opening that were incorrect. I don't think they were being decietful, I just think it takes a slide rule, abacus and computer program to keep track of off service amenities and their hours of operation.

Room Tip: A lakeview room gets you a balcony, a standard room does not
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

No matter how dated it looks, there's something cozy about the place and the staff is very friendly.. We've stayed there twice now ncluding the New Years Eve party they had which was really good... Definitely will be going back in August and look forward to it..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed our New Years Eve Celebration. We are looking forward to seeing you again in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at this resort for convention in January. The room was comfortable and clean. The Black Bear Lodge was a good place to eat. There is a Burger King and a Pizza joint for the kids. The game room and bowling alley were a highlight for the kids. There is an indoor water park that I didn't go to on this trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hello Cford624. Thank you for your very thoughtful review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time with us and were able to take part in many of our or amenities we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendon, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was at Tan-Tar-A for a business meeting. Typically, I dread these meetings, having stayed in many a small cramped room. I had a large room, but what impressed me the most (having traveled often) is that there was not any "hidden" dirt/mold etc., no peeling wall paper, no offensive smells -- in the rooms or hallways or conference areas. I have asthma so I am particulary keen on what can set off my asthma. The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. The meals (2 breakfasts and 1 lunch for the meeting) were healty and with great choices, and they were able to feed 300 without a glitch. I highly recommend Tan-Tar-A for business functions. I cannot comment on the other accomodations (pool etc) because I was working all of the time and had no time for play.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with one king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantara_Resort2012, Manager at Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. We are delighted you found your stay enjoyable and certainly hope that if your travels bring you back to the Lake area, you will once again allow us the opportunity to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark

Address: 494 Tan-Tar-A Drive, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark 3*
Number of rooms: 880
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tan-Tar-A Resort, we provide guests endless excitement with an abundance of year roundrecreational activities in a casual and relaxed resort setting with an experienced team offriendly staff. Conveniently located on the shores of the Lake of the Ozarks in Central Missouri,Tan-Tar-A Resort offers a great value for families, couples, and conference attendees with:- Exciting water adventures including wave runners, and ski, pontoon & paddle boatrentals- Wet, wild indoor family fun at Timber Falls Indoor Waterpark- 27 holes of championship golf with tree-lined fairways, rolling hills and breathtakingvistas of the Lake of the Ozarks- The “Bears Den” Arcade, guided horseback trail rides, miniature golf, a bowling alley andtwo outdoor tennis courts provide guests of all ages a variety of fun experiences- Seasonal supervised fun for kids ages 4-12 at “Kids Kabin” and “Camp Tan-Tar-A”. Whilethe adults are golfing or enjoying a romantic day at the spa, the kids can have the timesof their lives with a variety of affordable fun activities2- Windjammer Spa and Salon is the place to spend a day nourishing your body and soul inan intimate, relaxed setting- 9 restaurants & lounges available to suit every palate and pocketbook, from hardycasual Ozark favorites to lakeside dining- Over 90,000 square feet of customizable indoor meeting space with 30 meeting rooms,as well as multiple scenic outdoor venues- Experienced, down-to-earth conference planning team offering solutions to unique groupevents- Personalized, custom wedding services, down to the last detail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina And Indoor Waterpark
Tan-Tar-a Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Hotel Osage Beach
Osage Beach Tan Tar a Resort
Tan Tara Resort
Tan Tar Hotel Osage Beach
Tan Tar Resort Osage Beach
Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tan-Tar-A Resort, Golf Club, Marina & Indoor Waterpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.