We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location...nice family place....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kapilana Resort

Save Saved
You added Kapilana Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kapilana Resort
793 Winn Road, Suite 6A, Osage Beach, MO 65065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ipava
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location...nice family place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Our family has stayed at Kapilana for the last 15 years at least. We have had many nice times there. The condos are nice. A few years ago I would have rated this place excellent, mainly due to the hosts, the Hull's. They just made everyone feel right at home. A few years ago this resort changed hands. The new owners , sad to say, are not near as friendly as the former ones. They seem more interested in the "business" than making people feel at home and wanting to return. Not saying that we would never return but this year will be trying another resort.

Room Tip: We like either the walk-in parking lot level or the level closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    14
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
54
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Freeburg, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay in a 2-bedroom suite/condo. It had a full kitchen and laundry, was clean and spacious. Being there in HOT June we didn't use the gas fireplace, but it was lovely. There are boat docks if you bring a boat, and a good-size balcony to enjoy the view of the quieter end of the Lake. There is a roped off area for swimming in the lake, and a nice sparkling pool. Only drawbacks - the sofa bed was extremely "boney" and uncomfortable, and you have to tote your garbage to the dumpster at the end of your stay. No online reservations, you have to call; but then you get to talk to the charming host! They will ask how many are traveling and recommend a room or suite/condo. Wonderful hosts and a resort stay that is a throw-back to the old days, we enjoyed it and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indpendence, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

took a 3 night vacation with my husband and my 2 nieces, 16 & 13 years. We had so much fun the whole time. We spent about 90% of our time there in the awesome pool! We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom poolside apartments. It was so affordable and very nice! Management and staff were really nice and friendly! The overall feel of the resort was home! The other guests were like friends and family. The resort was close to everything but a bit off the beaten path, so it was quiet and relaxing! We will be back next summer and we'll be bringing the rest of our family! Can't wait to go back !

Room Tip: The only thing I have to mention that was a problem was that our room didn't have an oven, only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We recently had our 50th Family Reunion, here at Kapilana, My family stayed in one of the 3 bedroom condos, and it was most comfortable, 2 of the bedroom had access to the patio, and that was great, morning coffee was nice, I could see the lake, the pool and the playground,
we had access to the patio near the pool for our family lua which was great. Our experience was great, hope to get back there soon. Thanks Karen and Neal for making our family very welcome.

Room Tip: I love the Lakefront rooms, which had the 2/3 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

we were very pleased to stay at a wonderful resort. the price fit our budget and we received way much more then we expected. the owners were wonderful to have our room ready when we arrived late in the night from a 13 hour drive. They offered maps of nearby attractions. Thank you Neil and Karen for a wonderful place to spend our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin,Mo.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

There are not enough words to describe how great it truly was! We had a very spacious condo with a lakeside balcony and one night we sat out the and as it rained we watchd a spectacular show of lightening..Itt was awesome! We had so much fun and enjoyed the resort so much it was hard to leave. We will be back every chance we get!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My teenage son and I enjoyed a 2-night stay. The accomodations were clean and cozy, and the owners were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the beach house; the original and oldest building on the property. There was a small kitchenette in our unit and a barbecue grill was available but we didn't cook. There are tables and chairs with umbrellas right outside the door on a shared patio directly on the lake. The entire property (pool area, playground, beach etc. )was clean and well-maintained. We enjoyed swimming in the pool and the lake, and sightseeing in the area. This was an excellent place to stay for a relaxing and reasonably priced get-away.

Room Tip: The beach house room was modest~not luxurious. This was exactly what we wanted, but this is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapilana Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapilana Resort

Address: 793 Winn Road, Suite 6A, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find a great Lake of the Ozarks vacation rental at Kapilana Resort Osage Beach. You can choose from traditional Lakefront apartment style Cabins to fully equipped, modern residential style Lakefront Suites. You'll have all you need for a self sufficient summer vacation relaxing by the pool, on the lake or golf course or book a great value off season break. Bring your family to our quiet no wake location for a safe, fun vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Kapilana Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kapilana Hotel Osage Beach
Kapilana Resort Lake Of The Ozarks/Osage Beach, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapilana Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.