We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Course Unless Fairly Skilled” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sycamore Creek Golf Club

Sycamore Creek Golf Club
1270 Nichols Road, Osage Beach, MO 65065
+1 573-348-9593
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sycamore Creek is built around a working fish hatchery and provides a challenging layout for our golfers. Starting out on a gentle par 5, you have nine holes to warm up your game before you hit the hatchery side of the course.
Fair Grove, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tough Course Unless Fairly Skilled”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Bring your "A" game. This course is tight, slopped, wet and blind. We won a certificate on FB so the price was right and thank you. Weather was perfect with light winds and 75 degrees. Limited beverage selection but service was spot on. Bring a few extra balls and test your game! Novice players should move to Forward tee box : )

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Sycamore Creek Golf Club....one of the best at the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I had the chance to recently play what we affectionately call the "creek". From the moment we arrived we were greeted my a number of, more than friendly, employees. Inside the pro shop was a courteous staff that saw to our every need. The golf? A variety of different holes will challenge all skill levels and at the same time leave you appreciating the aesthetics of each and every hole and it's beautiful surroundings. In the past we've taken extra time for both breakfast and lunch there as the staff is more than happy to accommodate you. An excellent selection of some great looking golf apparel was available as well. If your looking for a number of courses to play while your here, put this course on the list.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Like thinking man's golf? look no further than here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Golf is a thinking man's (and woman's) game, and there is no better or more enjoyable test of this than Sycamore creek. I have had the opportunity to play most courses in the Osage Beach area, and while there are some that are longer, there are none more challenging regarding proper club selection and number of opportunities for "risk/reward" shots. With water being in play on more holes than not, some of the par 4's at this course demand iron selection of the tee for proper fairway approaches, but still allows the long hitters to gamble on some of these, so it is great for offering different challenges to different levels of golfers. While some shots are blind, and may seem a bit daunting for the first-time visitor, the on-course signage (and yardage markers on tees in some cases) along with the scorecard mapping present a good guide to these. Add to this the medium fast greens, more than enough (for me anyway ;>) bunkers, and this all makes for a great day of golf. Not to mention the natural beauty of the area and the absolutely best maintained fairways and greens around.

The staff here is next to none, in both friendliness and genuinely being interested in making sure you enjoy your golf while visiting. I have played on weekdays when traffic was light, and on weekends when the course was fairly crowded, and the pace of play has always flowed well, not much more than 4 hours on a very heavy day. The on-course player assistants do a wonderful job in keeping this happening and helping anyone who may need it.

Green fees vary greatly at different courses in the area, as well as in different seasons, but Sycamore Creek is the best value. I've played courses that are twice the price in season, and not in near the good shape of this one.

There are lots of wonderful places to play golf around the lake, but if someone only gets a day to play one round, I'll always recommend they play here...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hurry, hurry, hurry...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a group of 21 golfers. Due to the midday tee time and 95ish degree weather we were the only group on the course. Starting from the very first hole they were hawk eyeing the whole group. Everyone felt as if we were being baby sat. After nine holes we stopped in the club house to gets some drinks and a hot dog. They told us we could not eat in the clubhouse because there were people behind us (there were not). We left the club house and tried to finish the hot dogs before moving onto hole 10. The woman came out again and said that we must begin the back nine or we would be holding everyone up. This must have made them more angry as we now had a ranger watching every hole and sometimes two rangers per hole. The woman on the drink cart was the only pleasant person on the course that day. Neither myself nor the 20 other golfers will be coming back or recommending this course to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not a course for casual outings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I can see why locals like might Sycamore Creek as something "different" as opposed to the resort courses that populate the area, but for vacation groups looking for fun on the course, it's not a good choice. From a course layout standpoint, there are too many forced carries and blind shots for folks that will likely not be playing the course regularly. On the day we played, the greens were running ridiculously fast, and they had tucked every flag no more than six feet from an edge. Challenging yes, but our group was there for comraderie, not cut-throat competition.

From a staffing standpoint, the gentlemen at the counter was friendly enough, but aside from that we were basically given the impression we were just in the way of folks maintaining the course and the carts.

Aesthetically, the course has the benefit of it's beautiful Ozark Mountain surroundings, but little beyond that impresses. In fact, you start your round off playing around what appears to be an operational fish-farming operation or something else of similar commercial/industrial appearances, not exactly the most attractive scene.

Overall, with so many great courses in the area, I don't see any reason that Sycamore Creek should be a viable option, and won't for us in the future.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sycamore Creek Golf Club also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Been to Sycamore Creek Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sycamore Creek Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.