We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if I wil return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place - CLOSED

Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place
5923 Osage Beach Pkwy, Osage Beach, MO 65065
+1 573-348-8989
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Steakhouse, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: The exterior is multi-colored(can't miss it)! The interior features an eclectic collection of antiques from an 1890 Back Bar, Brass Cash Registers to a collection of Steamship Bells, as well as great steaks and choose from 12 homemade fresh sides! We try to be competitively priced with others in the area, and provide a meal the whole family can enjoy. We are across the parking lot from Super 8. If you are heading to us by way of the new highway just head to the KK exit. If you are coming from the south you turn right to the park way. If you are coming form the north you turn left to the parkway. At that point you turn left onto the Osage Beach Parkway, drive roughly 200 yards and we are on the left!!
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not sure if I wil return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant Happy Fisherman had much better food and was more kid and family oriented. Service was very slow here and they were not busy although the food was good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We own you our heartfelt apology. We sincerely you being our guests and the learning experience from your review. You can rest assured that management has been made aware of your concerns and steps have been taken to address your criticism with the goal to correct the problems, changes in personnel and training emphasis has been implemented. Please retuen and give us a chance to prove we can do better, please ask to the manager or Crusty and introduce yourself, we always appreciate the guests comments, frankly it is better at the time and in person so we can handle each individual with sincerity rather than anonymously via the net! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    20
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Definitely not "THE Place for Steaks"....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Took a chance and went there for dinner last night. We had a party of 7 and the waitress was nice, and fairly efficient. Like most, she forgot a few things, but who doesn't? Now for the food. It sucks. Below average steaks for above average prices. $28 for and undercooked in the middle and charred on the outside flavorless strip. The appetizer was undercooked and even the steak sauces were off. They try to be "different" but should really try to be "good" food. They should call Gordon Ramsey and see if he can fix their mess before its too late.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
We appreciate honest reviews even if they are negative, they help us to do what we can to do better! Our executive Chef has more experience at some of the most prestigious restaurants in mid Missouri, just a few at the lake - Brass Door, Potted Steer, more experience than Gordon!. Although we serve only USDA Choice steaks, sometimes they maybe tough don't know till the guest cuts into them, next time tell your server right away and we would gladly cook another! I wish you had told us what appetizer so we could specifically see to a cure. With the most expensive beef prices ever we like our competitors have unfortunately had to raise prices. Thanks for letting us know your concerns so we can take appropriate action to correct our shortcomings. We would appreciate you giving us a second chance, please meet the manager or ask for Crusty. Look forward to meeting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evansville, in
1 review
“Stay far away. Horrible service, and terrible food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We waited 45 minutes for salads, and had to ask for drinks. We got steaks, and one was over cooked. We complained three times to two different people, and no one fixed or say they were sorry. Fries were soggy, fried green beans cold. Terrible service and terrible food. Don't go stay far away.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Amy, We are so very sorry for your terrible experience, at this juncture an apology via this response is definitely inadequate. There were many errors in the overall experience. Certainly this is not the way we normally handle things, as you can tell by the numerous favorable reviews on Tripadvisoryou ! You were seated with our most inexperienced server, with your group of 11, when we had assigned him to the bar area where normally we have groups of just 2 or 4, and it went down hill from there. The General manager did discount your husbands steak by one-half! If our hostess had known you had seated when you did she would have made sure a server was advised of your presence and seen to more prompt attention. We would appreciate a second chance, please ask for Crusty or the General manager and introduce yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not for children”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The menu was filled with innuendoes that were vulgar - glad we didn't have young readers with us. The food was very expensive and not the best. The most normal food was the fajitas, but the person that ate those said the meat was really dry. The steak had too much seasoning and was tough. The sides were all weird - the green beans were fried. The best part was the cute exterior. The beer selection was good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mbcraig78, Online marketing director/ Family at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
First off we would like to thank you for dining with us. We do apologize if you were offended, as it is not our intent to offend anyone. We are an individual family restaurant and try to stay as unique as we can in order to set us off from the franchises that are beginning to flood the lake area. We have written our menus with the intent of humor and sarcasm, and at no time is anything meant to be derogatory. Not only have we tried to be unique with our menu descriptions, but also with the menu items as well. We try to offer different and unique items you won't find anywhere else, as it getting tougher and tougher these days to stand out from the corporate franchises. We do hope that you would consider giving our restaurant another chance to fix your a delicious meal as there are several other items on the menu to chose from that are of a typical steak house. But again thank you for dining with us, and we thank you for the constructive remarks as we listen to all those who speak up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent steak, fun atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time I've tried Culpeepers. They were hurt by the traffic flow changes. Eclectic antiques and plenty to look at. High ceilings, open and airy. They have a non-smoking section. Served their food on hot plates! Take note other local restaurants. My steak was super tender and flavorful. I enjoyed the mushrooms and the apple fritter that came with my meal. A nice wine list. The staff is friendly and prices reasonable. I will definately bring guests here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for being our guest! We appreciate you kind complimentary review, to be honest we appreciate every review good or bad, we take each to heart in an effort to provide the best possible dining experience. We look forward to seein ya'll again. Take the opportunity to introduce yourself to the General Manager or Crusty our Beverage manager. We try to be on a first name basis with our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.