We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food at good prices!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place - CLOSED

Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place
5923 Osage Beach Pkwy, Osage Beach, MO 65065
+1 573-348-8989
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Southwestern, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Description: The exterior is multi-colored(can't miss it)! The interior features an eclectic collection of antiques from an 1890 Back Bar, Brass Cash Registers to a collection of Steamship Bells, as well as great steaks and choose from 12 homemade fresh sides! We try to be competitively priced with others in the area, and provide a meal the whole family can enjoy. We are across the parking lot from Super 8. If you are heading to us by way of the new highway just head to the KK exit. If you are coming from the south you turn right to the park way. If you are coming form the north you turn left to the parkway. At that point you turn left onto the Osage Beach Parkway, drive roughly 200 yards and we are on the left!!
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent food at good prices!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Service was excellent. Very attentive. Ate lunch here and had the PorkTender. It tasted good. Good portion for the price.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thanks for visiting us for lunch! We appreciate your kind words! We would have thought the staff would have seen to it that you felt they deserved better than "average" rating! Looks like somehow you passed thru the Lake from Colorado to someplace! Thanks again please visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    20
    10
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly staff and amazing steak, cooked perfectly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The sign says "the steak place" so I took a chance and the sign was right. If you're in Osage Beach, Missouri and trying to find good food, look no further!! This place delivers. Not just the food but also the staff... Very welcoming environment. Price is perfect, you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hey Mel, good to know that our sign works, it always helps business men to know which avenues of advertising are working! Plus to know you enjoyed your dinner and found our staff friendly and efficient lets us know we're doing something right! Please stop in again now that you've neogtiated the new highway and found us! Thanks a bunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went to Jake Culpeepers Cattle Co. not long after it opened and liked it well enough. For some reason, we hadn't gone back until last night. The decor is kitchy and fun, the service was prompt and friendly, and the food is decently good. Their onion straws are really good, and the salmon I had was quite delicious. LOVED the home made french fries. My only complaint - the smoke in the bar. The restaurant portion seems to be non-smoking, but we were seated on the other side of the bar (divided by a wall) and could strongly smell the smoke. Also, some joker walked from the bar w/ a lit cigarette past our table into the bathroom - gross! Overall, I would say this is a good place to eat with good value for the money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Warrensburg has been a frequent topic of conversation at Jake's recently last night 9/15 I visited with a charming graduate of CMSU. My son graduated from CMSU! My family was from the area, my mother attended what was then Central Missouri Teachers College. We really appreciate your review, we thank you for visiting the Lake area! We look forward to serving you again! Hit the Bar and ask for "Crusty"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“2nd time and just as good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

This is a fun place to eat. Great decor and very good food. I had the small fillet and it was cooked perfectly. I have food allergies and the staff was very helpful in getting things right. This was our 2nd visit and we all enjoyed it and will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Sure sorry I wasn't working the night you were in! We appreciate each and every review! So glad you fund it to come back for a second visit! Our staff does their very best to accomodate the guests wishes and needs! Hope you are in the area and can come back again! We might even have the Chief's game on! We're always glad to see the continued support and visit of folks to the Lake area!! Thanks again, next time ask for "Crusty"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great steaks, good service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a great steak and the servive was prompt and friendly! We will be back the next time we are in the area.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoRummy, Manager at Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Wow, we love to get all the reviews, of course the nice ones such as yours are our favorite, but even the bad ones we look up to so we know what to do to better plrase our guests! Theb there are those are just ugly and unfounded! Thanks for joining with our many reviewers for August, please come in and say Howdy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place also viewed

Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 
Lake Ozark, Lake of the Ozarks
Osage Beach, Lake of the Ozarks
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jake Culpeepers – The Steak Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.