We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay somewhere else next time.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5760 Hwy. 54, Osage Beach, MO 65065   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Osage Beach
Pittsburg, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'll stay somewhere else next time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I'll pay the extra few dollars and stay somewhere else next time we're in the Lake of the Ozark area. I was informed at check in they were collecting a $40 deposit "just in case". There were no children or pets with us to do damage. This was my first clue. After checking in (a rather early check in), I found out my room faced the parking lot and I asked for one facing a really pretty view. The receptionist stated she could not change the room because they were full (there were maybe 3 or 4 cars in the parking lot). This was my second clue. Next morning, went down to breakfast a full hour before the end of service and the breakfast bar had very little on it; the manager was there. (We went out to eat.) My third clue. As I was checking out I was informed again that there was a $40 deposit against the room. My fourth clue. We were charged $10 for a towel. This charge was later removed but it was a very UNPLEASANT experience. Do your vacation homework and read the other comments about this establishment before you book a reservation. If you do chose to make a reservation REVIEW THE CONTENTS of your room against a list that is may or may not be posted in your room and report anything missing promptly. I didn't know there were inventories listed in hotel rooms but I'll look from now on....a lesson learned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view across the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    5
    1
    19
See reviews for
7
10
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
st loius
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and i visit the Lake of The Ozark, Osage Beach for the first time for the 2011 Bike Fest. The stay at the Econo Lodge Inn on hwy 54 was great. The room was excellent, ant attentent was very helpful. My wife and I are planning our next vacation for 2012 and we'll planning on staying at the Econo Lodge again.

Room Tip: The room was very quiet and the space was large enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This grandma took a 12 year old grandson, and 2 of his 12 year old friends to Lake of the Ozarks for one last mini vacation before school starts. Staying at this Econo Lodge was perfect for us. Mine main consideration is always cleanliness, and I could find no fault in this area. The motel was convenient to restaurants and go kart tracks (what more could you want). The staff, and especially the proprietor, Don, are obviously good people and made sure our visit was a memorable one. Hope we can make it back next summer.

Room Tip: I liked the idea that we could choose non-smoking, non-pet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

nice room very nice employees good night sleep had a nice little breakfast
bar we had a suite no problems thank you

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I went to Osage Beach for a legal conference I was attending. We were more than a little nervous about selecting a hotel there, because they all have reviews talking about dirt, mold, bugs, odors, etc., and we are freaks about cleanliness. The Econo Lodge had a couple bad reviews also, but somehow I judged it to be the best pick. I'm glad I did.

We usually stay in bigger cities and choose more "high end" hotels, but we are not snobs. We have a list of non-negotiable qualities in a hotel that have nothing to do with how fancy it is: 1) It must be clean; 2) In summer, it must have a good air conditioner; 3) The staff must be friendly and helpful. This hotel not only exceeded my expectations in all three areas, it maxed out in all three.

First, when we got there, the owner checked us in, and he was extremely friendly. He gave us all the information we needed and gave us a good feeling about the hotel. Second, the room was very clean. We noticed no hair, grime, or other visible remnants of past guests. We INSPECT for all that, and we have checked out of "nice" hotels immediately for failing to meet that requirement. Everything looked great.

Third, the AC was unbelievable! We stayed there when the temperature was 100 degrees and the heat index was well above that. We are cold weather people and get overly hot very easily, but that air conditioner was so powerful that we had to put it on low and then turn the temperature down! I wanted to rip it out of the wall and take it home with us. Plus, it was very quiet and did not wake us up when it turned on and off during the night, which is rare (we're light sleepers too).

The beds and bedding were not exactly luxurious, but they were comfortable. The cable had a good selection of channels and the wi-fi reception was great. The shower was so-so, but that's just nit-picking. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose the non-smoking, no-pets building, if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We had one night at this hotel in June, after a long day it was nice to be cooled in the pool, with some insects. Our room was in the new building and was clean and as one could expect a room at this price to be. We had a good night sleep, and the included continental breakfast was fine as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

When I arrived the owner had already charged my card for one night when I was there before 6:30PM when i had him credit it back and paid cash for my room I made the biggest mistake of my life and did not ask to see the room before I gave him the two nights and a $40 deposit. When I saw what a dump it was and was unhappy and didn't want to stay he claimed since I booked the room online I had to pay one night plus he charged my pet charge and tax. If I hadn't showed up at all he would have only charged me $80 instead because I didn't like it he charged me $110. Don't do business with this man. He claim is that he guarantees clean rooms. You shouldn't have to guarantee it or advertise you guarantee it . It should be presumed and if someone wants to leave and go to a nicer hotel you shouldn't steal there money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donnor, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
This Guest reserved her room on 29 May for an arrival on 1 June. She arrived at the Hotel on that evening and checked in at 6:37PM. At 8:40PM she returned to the Desk stating room will not work. When pressed, she stated TV had no inputs for DVD/gaming device and that unit was "dirty", a claim she did back away from when asked for specifics. I showed & offered her an alternate unit, [a 2-room suite, normally $30/noc higher] @ the same rate. It is a nonsmoking pet-friendly unit with 2 TVs, one of which has the inputs she had referenced. She still declined & insisted she was leaving. I told her we could not refund for the 1st noc, but that upon checking the room we could & would return her security deposit & pmt. for the 2nd noc. Also, I informed her that if indeed the room she had booked [QQ] resold for this evening we would return the balance of her pmt. to her. She departed with comment that she would let everyone know how she had been treated. Incidentally, NO charges had been made to Guest credit card prior to arrival, but a hold equivalent to the 1st night's rate had been run on the card, a practice normal and accepted in the industry that assures that the guarantee mode is valid. Guest had opted @ time of check-in to pay cash instead. We are thankful to TripAdvisor for the opportunity to respond and set the record straight. dn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks

Address: 5760 Hwy. 54, Osage Beach, MO 65065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Lake of the Ozarks > Osage Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 hotels in Osage Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel, located at America's "Midwest Coast," is comprised of two buildings. One is an exterior corridor drive-up that is pet-friendly and has both smoking optional and nonsmoking units. The second is an interior corridor that is 100% non-smoking. All suites as well as all king & queen units feature refrigerators and microwaves. Two-room suites also have second televisions and side rooms that close off for privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake Of The Ozarks Hotel Osage Beach
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Lake Of The Ozarks
Econolodge Osage Beach
Econo Lodge Osage Beach
Osage Beach Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake Of The Ozarks Osage Beach, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Lake of the Ozarks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.