We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant landlords and a gem of a North Yorks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Lion Kildwick

The White Lion Kildwick
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The White Lion Kildwick to your Saves list
The White Lion Kildwick
Priest Bank Road, Kildwick BD20 9BH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kildwick B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant landlords and a gem of a North Yorks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we upgraded to double room with breakfast a no extra cost. We were attending a Wedding 7 miles away and arrived before check in and the landlords kindly allowed us to check in early.
They even asked if we would like a late breakfast, allowing us a lie in (which nursed my hangover)! Room clean and spacious, ideal for a stopover.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    14
    7
    11
    11
See reviews for
17
17
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to Kildwick for the weekend on our friends narrow boat and my wife and myself were introduced by our friends to The White Lion. On walking in, the landlord greeted us with banter from the start. Our friends have been going there for a few years and love the place. Great cask beers, great wine selection. We didn`t try the food which we`re told is very good. Atmosphere is very chilled resulting in us staying drinking for a number of hours. Very reasonable prices and a whole lot of fun had by all. We`ll definately return. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Arrived at the White Lion on a very hot, busy summers day. After a few minutes wait I was served by a friendly member of the bar staff. We ordered sandwiches and they were plentiful & well presented. I would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Have waten here 5 times and has been excellent everytime. Lovely beer garden and definitely an excellent place to eat on summers evening. Steak night on thursday excellant as usual. Service slower than usual but then it was very busy but was told before ordering would be 20 min which was good, at least they have the decency to be honest unlike some places who just take your order and leave you waiting ages. Will definitely be eating here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

ordered a jacket potato with cheese. It was like a new potato that small with a teaspoon of cheese and a small handfull of leaves was the salad. Very poor quality and value. What a shame as the pub and surroundings has such potential

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After visiting this pub many times and enjoying the beautiful views, and scenery, it has clearly gone downhill! The standard of the food is disgraceful and it used to be of a very high standard. This pub, in the heart of Yorkshire, has plenty of potential but the Aunt Bessie Yorkshire puddings just don't cut it for me. The staff are useless and rude! From speaking with the local people this is clearly the view of many. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Called in on Saturday 6 July as a party of 10 to order food and drinks.

Due to it being hot in the kitchen, the kitchen was closed with no notice
We have traveled across the word and never had this in the hottest of hottest country's.

Advice to Chef.
IF YOU CAN NOT STAND THE HEAT DO NOT GO INTO THE KITCHEN.

Advice to Landlord
Get staff who wish to work. Simple as. You are a fool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White Lion Kildwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion Kildwick

Address: Priest Bank Road, Kildwick BD20 9BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Kildwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kildwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The White Lion Kildwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Lion Kildwick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.