We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the water villas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives to your Saves list
The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   2036 (Formerly Iru Fushi Beach & Spa Resort)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iru-fushi
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved the water villas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had initially booked 2 nights in a deluxe beach villa and 2 nights in a water villa. Upon arrival, we decided to upgrade to a water villa for all 4 nights because we just couldn't handle the geckos and lizards that were all around. There's nothing wrong with them but we dont like them, so the staff advised that we upgrade our rooms which we had absolutely no regret!

The room was fantastic, but i have to say that it has seen better days. The floor tiles in the room were cracked and uneven when you stepped on them. also the airconditioning died on us on the last day, it was turned on but our room was baking so definitely that needs to be fixed! fortunately we were leaving already! but other than that, we loved the fact that we were able to step into the lagoon from the comfort of our room. Sufficient marine life right at your door steps for snorkelling. however, the water villas are quite far so you definitely need to call for a buggy to bring you to the main restaurant area for breakfast (at least 15-20 min walk). the buggy service is a little slow at times though but not a big problem since we were not really in a rush. the only exception was when we had signed up for a sunrise snorkelling. we were supposed to be at the lobby at 6.30am, we called for a buggy at 6.20 which only picked us at 6.35! The wait was much too long since there was nobody around at that time (breakfast only starts at 7am)

Service otherwise was excellent. as mentioned we took a sunrise snorkel which was very lovely and the boat was great, with drinks, snacks provided - our only complaint was the trip was much too short! not overcrowded which was good.

As many mentioned, the resort also caters to families with kids, so if you are looking for a romantic getaway, definitely book the water villas which are away from the crowd and it's not that bad.

the food at the restaurants were quite good, as with the buffets. we loved the food at flavours & islanders grill, the chef even came out to talk to us and offered us some hot soup! but definitely make reservations as they get full quick! we took that advice from other travellers and had no problem with getting seats at the restaurants! but we tried to make changes and we were told it was full so they couldnt' shift us at all so definitely remember to make your bookings!

we also tried the spa and it was so relaxing that i drifted off to sleep and didnt really remember much of it.

overall we had a great time and i would love to come back again!

Room Tip: dont really think it's worth the money for a sunrise/sunset water villa, if you get lucky to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    255
    83
    37
    21
See reviews for
258
718
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed there from 27/5/2012 till 4/6/2012 and this is my review:

1- Maldives is a very great place and its citizens are very nice Muslims people
2- Trip from male airport to the hotel is very nice and with a lot of breath-talking sights but the cost is very high (550$ per person)
3- the hotel is wonderful and the stuff is very nice and professional
4- i stayed for 4 days at beach villa which was so so big with nice garden and hot tub, it was a really new experience to me (the only bad thing is insects)
5- after that i stayed 3 days in water villa and it was smaller than beach villa but it was very nice and with breath-talking view from every window in it
6- walking in the island will make u feel as u an actor in (Lost) series (a lot of trees and birds and even bats)
7- food was so yummy and a lot of choices every day and u can even eat in other restaurants on beach and u will take 50$ discount per person
8- Reflection pool was the best pool i have ever seen in my life and every day there was a happy hour to buy 2 drinks with cost of 1 drink
9- the beach there was very clean and very private that i always be alone with my wife without any noise or disturbance
10- spa there was wooow with very talented stuff!! you must try it
11- if u told them that you are in honeymoon you will take free fishing cruise (which is great) and free spa for 1 person

Room Tip: 1- Try to stay in both water villa and beach villa because each one will give you a very different e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

It is a beautiful island where you have the possibility to be active. But on the other hand it's also very easy just to hang around and enjoy the nice beach and the spectacular sea.
We had a deluxe Beach Villa which was located on the sunset side. There you are very close to the Water Sports and Diving Centers but you have the "traffic" of the seaplanes in front of you.
At the Diving Center you have to ask for Rimas. He is a great guy and our daughter (10 y) loved to dive with him.
Most of the employees are friendly but not very well skilled. The food was good. Our favorite Restaurant was the Islanders Grill. The breakfast buffet by the way is great.
The housekeeping does a mediocre job. They don't clean with a lot attentiveness but our room was always quite clean. In general I think they could take more care of the areas around the villas, the beach, the tennis courts, etc. because it should be better groomed.
The kids club is very nice and provides enough entertainment.
Unfortunately, since May 1, 2013 the hotel is not managed by the Hilton Group anymore. That's why many employees (over 50) left the hotel within the last few days. They also closed a restaurant ("Flavours") from one day to the other without informing the guests and it was obvious that there is some chaos the moment.
Hopefully they can at least keep the standard the hotel had before April 30.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great place and well run resort in fantastic maldives. We stayed both in beach and water villa and both are great in different ways. Beachwilla because the beach is just beautiful, white soft sand, your own spot of the beach and snorkeling and fishes just few meters away. even the simplest one include nice jacuzzi and a big outdoor bathroom. Watervilla great because the concept is just great. Your own private place with jacuzzi*2 and swimming just at the doorstep. Whatever you chose it will be good. Some rooms a bit old but they are renovating an really doing constant maintenance. At least 3 really good restaurants (top) and some more for variety. Go there and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Me and my husband spent 4 nights there on our honeymoon. We had a water bungalow and I must say the views, the resort, the service, everything we had there was amazing but there was ONE PROBLEM. They need to to do something about the hygiene and cleanliness of the food. My husband and I had food poisoning after day 1. It lasted a night. Then my husband got it again after the third night at one of the restaurants. We both like to share food but this time i was okay coz I didn't like what he ordered and didn't eat any off his place so I was fine. He was really sick then! For that I'll give it a poor because we were so weak to do any activities and I believe we could have had a better time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear mikosansan,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us last October. It is regrettable that your holiday was affected by your illnesses.

The health and well-being of our guests are among our top priorities, especially when it comes to food and overall hygiene and cleanliness. We follow the strict internationally recognised Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point (HACCP) principles and have a full-time Hygiene Manager on our team.

We understand that at times, due to drastic changes in climate and temperature, guests may develop various illnesses. As they occur, illnesses on the island are taken seriously and we have a resident doctor on call daily. I understand that the doctor had examined you both when you had taken ill but because there were no other cases of food poisoning, this was ruled out.

We are nevertheless glad that you enjoyed our Water Villa, the views and our service during your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was the 11th resort we visited in the Maldives. The resorts we previously visited range from 4 stars to 6 stars. Overall, Iru Fushi was good but just that. We stayed in a deluxe beach villa which was huge with a fantastic bathroom. We loved the two sinks and two showers. What was not so fantastic, was that for the last 4 nights at bedtime we had big red ants crawling in our bed. We initially thought they were falling from the ceiling as they kept coming from nowhere but at the fourth night we found out that they were coming from tiny space between the head stand and the actual bed frame. It has to be said that after complaining they did send somebody over and the room would be sprayed which seemed to make it better but next night it started again and after 4 nights it gets a bit tiring. We are not particular squeamish people and on all the other islands we have been to we did have insects etc. but mostly OUTSIDE in the bathroom or the occasional lost insect inside but this was just a bit too much. Also, the position of your villa will make or break your holiday; some of them are actually quite close together with some gazebos actually sort of lining up after each other so not much privacy. By the way, haven't seen any rats! If you do not like insect though, do not go for beach villa. We did have the above mentioned ants but also quite sizeable roaches (only one inside), couple of spiders and even a small scorpion (also inside). Couple of geckos in the room but we do not mind them.

The beaches are lovely, wider at some places but overall great. Speciality restaurants are lovely especially the locations. Iru restaurant, however, really feels like a cantine. This, in my opinion, is mainly due to the acoustics and closeness of tables and the amount of people in the dining "hall". Have to say that they try hard though, nice furniture, dimmed lights in evening but just not what you expect of 5 star resort. Be aware that when we were there we booked tables for speciality restaurants 2/3 days in advance otherwise fully booked! Nice touch was that we were FB and for lunch you could go to any of speciality restaurants (Iru was closed) and get 3 course meal! Special mention to Bamboo-lovely food and great service. Chef Mama even comes out to have a talk!!! Bar was great, nice atmosphere.

Sun Dive School; I personally don't dive but my husband and son are keen divers. They were really disappointed with the attitude of some of the European diving instructors (management????) who really seemed to have a lack of interest and enthusiasm. The Maldivian instructors who actually came out on the boat to make the dives were friendly and helpful though. Some nice dives. Overall, not as professional as other dive teams on other islands like Ocean Pro Diving.

Swimming pools; lovely big (mostly almost deserted) adult pool and huge children pool. Childrens pool very busy but it was Easter time.

Point of mention; there were a LOT of kids. So if you are not keen on kids and the noise that comes with them, this probably is not the island for you. On the other hand if you do have kids, kids club looked great (did not use it as my son is too old). It even has its own swimming pool!

So overall, it was just ok! Expected more and have seen better! Would we return? Probably not, mainly because of the dive school!

Room Tip: Deluxe beach villas in high 200 or low 300.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Munchkin P,

It was our pleasure to have you and your family stay with us at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa, thank you for sharing your experience.

It is good to know that the highlights of your experience include the beaches and our restaurants, especially Bamboo. Mama and her team were delighted to deliver their cuisine and service to you.

However, we once again apologise for the inconvenience of the ants in your villa, which is not a common occurence on the island. In such cases, we would have been happy to facilitate a villa change had there been a request to do so. Our full-time pest control team continues to carry out their regular checks on all our villas and have taken steps to ensure that this issue is addressed. It is also regrettable that your husband's and son's experience with some of the diving instructors fell below expectations and your feedback has been shared with the Dive School for the necessary corrective action.

Our resort is a popular destination for both couples and families and we continually endeavour to keep a happy balance to suit everyone. While we do offer a range of child-friendly and family-oriented facilities and activities, we have also made sure that those who prefer a child-free environment are catered for. These facilities include the adults-only Infinity pool and Reflections bar; the Wine Cellar for unique wine-tasting dinners and the Bubble Lounge on the same deck which exclusively serves Champagne; and Flavours, our contemporary restaurant situated over-water for uninterrupted views and sunsets, showcasing some of the finest cuisine that the Far East has to offer.

We are sorry to learn that you may not return to us in the future. We nevertheless hope to one day welcome you back and deliver a better stay experience to you. Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

From the second my husband and I stepped off the sea plane and were greeted by our host this was the most amazing place!! We stayed in a couple of different types of rooms as we were staying for 16 nights. We firstly stayed in the the deluxe beach villa with pool, then the beach villa with pool (the pool is out the back and is private) and then the horizon water villa. All the rooms were amazing and clean. The outdoor bathrooms is the beach villas were very cute, the private pools were of a very good size as well.

The water is an amzing colour and is more beautiful than the pictures.

The spa is a must, my husband and I went a few times and all of the staff there are amazing and the massages are sooooooooooo relaxing :)

I highly recommend that you go on the snorkelling safari as this was so beautiful, we saw sharks, stingrays, turtles a manta ray and some fish that were so big.

The food is amazing and the service at all the outlets is amazing.

This truly was the best trip that both my husband and I have ever had we decided to renew our vows there and Momo was the wedding coordinator who was fantastic. We had a beach ceremony and it was so beautiful with the sunset and the setting.

I must say a special thank you to Amir and Farooq (our hosts), Putu (the head chef at the islander grill, Shareef (also from the islander grill) but the biggest thank you has to be to Ruowan and smiley (not his real name it was our nickname for him as he was always smiling, cant remember it lol) the manager of reflections.

This was the best holiday that we have ever taken it is expensive but worth every dollar. Highly recommend this beautiful hotel to everyone!!! But it was the staff that really made this holiday so amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanS97, General Manager at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Australian_Skye,

Thank you for spending the holiday of a lifetime at Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort & Spa! The pleasure was ours to have you and your husband with us, and to be part of your special beach ceremony to renew your vows.

I am pleased to find that my team's Maldivian hospitality and good service highlighted your experience with us, they truly appreciate your special mention. It is very rewarding for them to realise that what they do everyday had a great impact on your memorable stay. We are also grateful for your high recommendations and compliments of the spa, snorkelling safari and the food quality in our restaurants.

My team and I are happy that you enjoyed the best holiday and look forward to creating and delivering more memories to you both. Thank you once again for staying with us and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Alan Stocker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives

Address: 2036 (Formerly Iru Fushi Beach & Spa Resort)
Location: Maldives > Noonu Atoll > Iru-fushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Iru-fushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi we invite you to let go of your worldly concerns and simply enjoy the moment - on you own, with your partner, with your family. To soak up the stunning environment of our 52-acre island, revel in the luxuries of our traditional Maldivian villas, indulge in mouth-watering cuisine across our 11 restaurants, and experience our diverse array of leisure activities that will see you speeding across the ocean's surface and delving beneath its depths. We also invite you to discover, to learn, to connect. DISCOVER LIVING Inspired by nature, enveloping. Shaded havens open onto pristine stretches of powdery beach, the lagoon and its delights waiting patiently. Strolling at sunrise along the water's edge, the sky blushing deep rose. Laying in the shallows to bask in pure sunlight, waves gently caressing, schools of fish teasing. Feeling that life was always meant to be like this - savouring each moment. DISCOVER FLAVOUR Maldivian culinary arts and traditions come alive across 11 diverse restaurants. Fresh local flavours - served with tropical flair. Tantalising aromas carry on the breeze from live cooking stations. Seafood specialities and homemade hearty treats. Authentic Asian and gourmet light bites. Indulge in local and international fusions of sumptuous ingredients and delicious flavours. Casual settings paired with fine cuisine. Speciality wines individually selected by our expert Sommelier. Feast at the water's edge. The sound of a sizzling grill blended with the lapping of the waves. DISCOVER FREEDOM • Beach • Main swimming pool with children's area • Infinity-edged lap pool • PADI five-star dive centre • Water sports centre • Fully equipped gymnasium • Tennis courts • Badminton courts • Spa • Library • Kids' Club DISCOVER RELAXATION With the entire island a sanctuary of natural beauty, there is no need to hide away. Instead The Spa at The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi is an open immersion - in organic earth and vibrant sea - the elements from which Ayurveda draws its centuries-old healing power. At The Spa we have perfected this ancient holistic tradition, blending its timeless wisdom with contemporary practices found both East and West. Our resident Ayurvedic Doctor guides our guests on their own personalised journeys to wellness both during their stay and beyond. Meanwhile, expert practitioners - in traditional massage, authentic Maldivian-inspired rituals and world-renowned wellness practices - combine finely honed knowledge with a naturally healing touch. DISCOVER COMMUNITY We engage in proactive yet culturally respective social responsibility efforts, helping to preserve the atoll's traditions while also bettering livelihoods. Along the way, we invite guests who seek a deeper understanding of the atoll's people and culture to take part - from spending a day with local fishermen who supply our restaurants, to practicing English with children at the village school, to trading stories and recipes with the women as they prepare the day's catch. Our guests leave with a unique insight into the Maldives, enriched by its culture and traditions. Meanwhile our communities benefit from the support offered by The Sun Siyam - and their meaningful engagement with you. We warmly welcome you to our home, and into our hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Hotel Noonu Atoll
Hilton Maldives Iru Fushi Resort And Spa
Hilton Noonu Atoll
Noonu Atoll Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sun Siyam Iru Fushi Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.