We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing Girl's Night Out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's North Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Harrah's North Kansas City to your Saves list
Harrah's North Kansas City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Riverboat Drive, North Kansas City, MO 64116   |  
Hotel amenities
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissappointing Girl's Night Out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Drove in from out of town to stay at the N Kansas City Harrah's on a Tuesday night. Went to check in was told that our reservation for a non-smoking double bed room was going to now be a smoking king bed room. All in our party are non-smokers and also do not choose to sleep together so the room offer was not acceptable. The desk clerk with a non-customer service friendly attitude told us that reservations on-line meant only a room not a room type. No apology or sorry for the misunderstanding was given so we turned around and walked out to drive a disappointing hour and a half back home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Our apologies for the issues at check in. While we can not guarantee a non-smoking room, this should have been handled better by our front desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    101
    69
    31
    37
See reviews for
50
130
35
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I am trying to book a function for 180 people with hotel stay and event. I have called the following people of which on one seems capable of returning a call to book an event in October. Conventions and Meeting Sales: Helen Tsang (VOICE MAIL IS FULL). Anthony Truhle (Left the company). Kristina Villardi does not return calls or answer email. Zack Hendrickson (left voice mail no response). I recognize 180 people and 25 hotel rooms may be considered a small event; but common courtesy should dictate at least a response. Makes you wonder what kind of service when you cannot even book the event.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
I apologize you're having difficulty getting your event booked for October. I have reached out to both our Customer Service Representative and our Group Sales Team to contact you regarding this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Kansas City hotels

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we arrived, I went to the front desk and stated that I was checking in. The Hospitality Supervisor was 'helping' me. He said they were booked but he would see if he could find me a room. I thought he assumed we were looking for a room as a walk-in. I told him that I have a reservation for a Luxury King room. He said, "Reservations don't mean anything." I showed him my confirmation and he stated, "This is a casino. We have players that spend a lot of money here and they need rooms." Then he gave me an ultimatum to take his double full room or nothing. Choosing this hotel was a mistake that I won't make again.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
I'm very sorry to hear you had such a difficult time during check in. I have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate department to ensure that this issues have been addressed. I would like to get more information about your stay, please check your direct messages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very friendly staff. My room was very clean. The bed skirt had a few stains on it and I recommend it be replaced (AC tower room 214). Overall, quiet and clean. I could hear the next door neighbors every once in a while, but it wasn't bothersome. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're delighted to hear you were happy with our accomodations and staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, OK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had not been to this property for several years. Attempted to check in at approximately 1 p.m., after a four-hour drive, only to be told we would have to wait two more hours before they could give us a room. No "we're sorry" or any other customer-oriented comment. "Leave your bags at the bell desk" which we had a hard time doing because no one was at the desk. Once we finally got a room, it was terribly worn, with large stains on the carpet, and an A/C system that was inconsistent during the two days we were there. Too cold one hour, too hot the next, without our ever touching the thermostat. Water temperature in the shower was extremely erratic. Combined with a casino that was among the tightest we have ever seen and food prices that were sky high for average quality at best, we have no plans to return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us another chance to create a more memorable experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We arrived early at the hotel and did not expect the room to be ready. We did expect that we could check in, a call would be made when the room was ready and that we could pick up the key at that time. This is how check in is handled at all other Harrah's we have stayed in. We were told the room would not be ready until 4:PM, "no" we could not be called when the room was ready and "no" we could not check in and pick up the key later. Every question I asked was answered with the same reply "I can not check you in to a room that is not clean". We were told to come back at 4:PM. We had planned on being gone all day and not returning until late in the evening. We changed our plans and returned at 4:PM because after reading numerous reviews on this site we were concerned that we would not get the room we reserved if we checked in later. The room was the typical Harrah's room. We had a King non smoking on the 2nd floor of the Atlantic Tower. The room was not really clean, hair in the bath tub, dust on the night tables and a very stained carpet. The next morning we left at around 9AM and did not return until midnight. The room had not been touched. We needed clean towels as we only had two to begin with and we had put them in the tub to be changed out when we left. We called the front desk and they would not answer the phone. After numerous tries to get someone we put our clothes on and walked down to the front desk. The man at the front desk told us that the only reason the room had not been cleaned was that we must have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. We told him that we had never put out the sign, we didn't even remember seeing one in the room. He said that he would send someone up with clean towels but we must have put the sign up and to check the door knob. We told him that there was no sign when we left and no sign when we returned. What ever happened to "I am very sorry that this happened, we will take care of this right away?" What terrible customer service !!! Now it is about 1AM and we are losing patience. Housekeeping comes to the room and provides us with clean towels, clean paper cups, and of all things...chocolate bars.... We found this very odd, but now it is close to 2AM and we just wanted to sleep. The next day we went to eat breakfast and when we returned to the room it had already been cleaned. Obviously, we had not left a tip for housekeeping. The next morning we had did not have any hot water. After trying for about 1/2 hour to get hot water we called the front desk. But they would not answer the phone. We finally gave up and checked out without a shower. We did find the casino workers to be very pleasant, going out of their way to be helpful. We liked the food in the buffet and the snack and coffee in the coffee shop. Be aware that the garage is not attached to the hotel, if it is raining you will have to park outside and walk in the rain to the hotel with your luggage. They do not have luggage carts available. We will never stay at this Harrah's again, even if the room was free!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very disappointed to hear that you had problems with our front desk and your room not being cleaned. I have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate departments so that these issues will be addressed. We do offer a parking garage on the casino side of our property so that guests will not have to walk in through the rain or snow. Luggage carts are also available inside the hotel, as bellhops use them to transfer your luggage to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a sneak preview of the NEW restaurant "37" which opens 06/30/14. Food was Amazing!! Started out w/Kalamari, Escargot, and Blue Crab Cake, and Candy Bacon for appetizers...ALL was outstanding...had Sea Bass, Two different steaks, all again...outstanding..Don't forget the mini donuts made fresh on site for dessert were...wait for it....outstanding. Wife had a pineapple cooler, also bloody Mary, I had two different wines, both very good.
You can enter the restaurant through the outside, no having to go through the casino. Dress is semi business casual, wore nice shirt and nice jeans and was O.K. New place in KC for birthdays and other celebrations, but bring some cash, it's not cheap...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for trying out the new '37 Steak, so happy to hear you were delighted with our cuisine and cocktails. Hope we'll be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's North Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's North Kansas City

Address: One Riverboat Drive, North Kansas City, MO 64116
Location: United States > Missouri > North Kansas City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in North Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's North Kansas City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's North Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s North Kansas City Hotel North Kansas City
Harrahs Hotel North Kansas City
North Kansas City Harrahs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's North Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.