We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a fine stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's North Kansas City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's North Kansas City to your Saves list
Harrah's North Kansas City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Riverboat Drive, North Kansas City, MO 64116   |  
Hotel amenities
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was a fine stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very friendly staff. My room was very clean. The bed skirt had a few stains on it and I recommend it be replaced (AC tower room 214). Overall, quiet and clean. I could hear the next door neighbors every once in a while, but it wasn't bothersome. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We're delighted to hear you were happy with our accomodations and staff. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    267
    149
    52
    62
See reviews for
172
341
95
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, OK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had not been to this property for several years. Attempted to check in at approximately 1 p.m., after a four-hour drive, only to be told we would have to wait two more hours before they could give us a room. No "we're sorry" or any other customer-oriented comment. "Leave your bags at the bell desk" which we had a hard time doing because no one was at the desk. Once we finally got a room, it was terribly worn, with large stains on the carpet, and an A/C system that was inconsistent during the two days we were there. Too cold one hour, too hot the next, without our ever touching the thermostat. Water temperature in the shower was extremely erratic. Combined with a casino that was among the tightest we have ever seen and food prices that were sky high for average quality at best, we have no plans to return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies. We hope you will give us another chance to create a more memorable experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis,
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We arrived early at the hotel and did not expect the room to be ready. We did expect that we could check in, a call would be made when the room was ready and that we could pick up the key at that time. This is how check in is handled at all other Harrah's we have stayed in. We were told the room would not be ready until 4:PM, "no" we could not be called when the room was ready and "no" we could not check in and pick up the key later. Every question I asked was answered with the same reply "I can not check you in to a room that is not clean". We were told to come back at 4:PM. We had planned on being gone all day and not returning until late in the evening. We changed our plans and returned at 4:PM because after reading numerous reviews on this site we were concerned that we would not get the room we reserved if we checked in later. The room was the typical Harrah's room. We had a King non smoking on the 2nd floor of the Atlantic Tower. The room was not really clean, hair in the bath tub, dust on the night tables and a very stained carpet. The next morning we left at around 9AM and did not return until midnight. The room had not been touched. We needed clean towels as we only had two to begin with and we had put them in the tub to be changed out when we left. We called the front desk and they would not answer the phone. After numerous tries to get someone we put our clothes on and walked down to the front desk. The man at the front desk told us that the only reason the room had not been cleaned was that we must have put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign. We told him that we had never put out the sign, we didn't even remember seeing one in the room. He said that he would send someone up with clean towels but we must have put the sign up and to check the door knob. We told him that there was no sign when we left and no sign when we returned. What ever happened to "I am very sorry that this happened, we will take care of this right away?" What terrible customer service !!! Now it is about 1AM and we are losing patience. Housekeeping comes to the room and provides us with clean towels, clean paper cups, and of all things...chocolate bars.... We found this very odd, but now it is close to 2AM and we just wanted to sleep. The next day we went to eat breakfast and when we returned to the room it had already been cleaned. Obviously, we had not left a tip for housekeeping. The next morning we had did not have any hot water. After trying for about 1/2 hour to get hot water we called the front desk. But they would not answer the phone. We finally gave up and checked out without a shower. We did find the casino workers to be very pleasant, going out of their way to be helpful. We liked the food in the buffet and the snack and coffee in the coffee shop. Be aware that the garage is not attached to the hotel, if it is raining you will have to park outside and walk in the rain to the hotel with your luggage. They do not have luggage carts available. We will never stay at this Harrah's again, even if the room was free!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am very disappointed to hear that you had problems with our front desk and your room not being cleaned. I have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate departments so that these issues will be addressed. We do offer a parking garage on the casino side of our property so that guests will not have to walk in through the rain or snow. Luggage carts are also available inside the hotel, as bellhops use them to transfer your luggage to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had a sneak preview of the NEW restaurant "37" which opens 06/30/14. Food was Amazing!! Started out w/Kalamari, Escargot, and Blue Crab Cake, and Candy Bacon for appetizers...ALL was outstanding...had Sea Bass, Two different steaks, all again...outstanding..Don't forget the mini donuts made fresh on site for dessert were...wait for it....outstanding. Wife had a pineapple cooler, also bloody Mary, I had two different wines, both very good.
You can enter the restaurant through the outside, no having to go through the casino. Dress is semi business casual, wore nice shirt and nice jeans and was O.K. New place in KC for birthdays and other celebrations, but bring some cash, it's not cheap...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for trying out the new '37 Steak, so happy to hear you were delighted with our cuisine and cocktails. Hope we'll be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

First impression is a good. We booked a King non-smoking online several days in advance. At check-in, the clerk said very quickly "2-bedroom non-smoking" and kept talking. We had to stop her and tell her we had reserved a King. She said all they had with a King was a handicapped room. Fine. It happens. She didn't mention it was a handicapped room with an adjoining door with a neighbor with a loud TV.

We stayed on the 6th floor in the Atlantic City Tower in a "Luxury Room." The room was spacious and looked clean, but it was nothing special. When you name something a "Luxury Room," it sets an expectation. This room did not live up to that expectation.

The bathroom had a pubic hair on the toilet seat. The shower is old and sprays water in all directions. The toilet is so close to the shower, you have to lean around it to turn on the water. The toilet flushes so loud, you will wake up your sleeping partner. They charge nearly $11 per day for WiFi - YIKES! That's ridiculous! The return air vent is behind the curtains, so the only way to get the room to cool is to prop the curtains back with a bag.

There are no bedspreads or comforters - just two sheets with what looks like a mattress pad between them with two tags sticking out at the top where your face is. Not what you expect from a hotel that calls this a "Luxury Room."

The next morning we were ready for breakfast. We started looking for an amenity book or room service menu, but we couldn't find either. I finally picked up the phone and hit the button labeled "Room Service," but it gave an error tone. I called the front desk and was told they didn't have room service anymore. We were trying to decide if we had time to eat before check-out time, but we couldn't find anything in the room that gave check-out time. I had to call back to the front desk and ask. (It's 11:00, by the way.)

When we checked out, I asked why there is a room service button on the phone and no room service. The clerk said they had discontinued room service and hadn't changed out the phones yet. I also told her there are no amenity books in the rooms. She said people kept tearing them up, so they took them all out. I told her we weren't happy with the room, and the amenities didn't justify the rate. She made no apologies at all. She just printed out my receipt and told me I was "all set."

I didn't want a refund or comp, because I never intend to go back; but it would have been nice to think she cared a little.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. It sounds like you were disappointed on many levels. I have forwarded your feedback to the appropriate departments to ensure that these issues have been addressed. We hope that you will visit us again so that we will have the opportunity to wow you and show you a better Harrah's experience. In the meantime, please check your private messages. We would like to get more information about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

No, I am not comparing it to Vegas (as if), this place definitively sucks on its own merits. I just dropped $3000 at a blackjack table in the "high limit" area, and had to beg for cocktail service TWICE. And then, they wanted $4 for a Bud Light each time. And I am a Harrahs Diamond player. ARE YOU KIDDING ME?? Stay far, far away from the casino, they do not deserve your money. The hotel itself is no worse than any standard business venue, but hardly a resort by any stretch.....why no spa Harrahs? The food options are really bad, one of the worst buffets I've ever seen, and a really crappy steakhouse (a better one is set to open end June 2014, so we'll see). At least they finally jettisoned that HORRIBLE pricey Italian joint.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Sorry to hear you ran into some problems while staying with us. Normally our cocktail servers are praised for their quick and attentive service. We are making changes to our dining options, as you mentioned with our new restaurant opening at the end of June. We hope that you come back and give it a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I reserved a free gift 2 night stay online. It literally took over an hour to find out I had to book online to use code. Got the room reserved online then called to verify...all good..so I thought. When me and companion got to room it was spacious but stained carpets stained curtains..I thought hey its free cant complain if free. Well had voucher for buffet..after buffet that was less than fresh..my companion had a nasty stomach pain the rest of stay. The casino was okay..the casino staff very fruendly and helpful. The hotel staff in regards to reserving seemed very inexperienced untrained and careless.When checkout time came frontdesk lady blankly gave total for room..my companion said it was free stay and he only had to pay $50 for deposit each night which was to be returned this is what frontdesk had told him at check in..she said ive never heard of that coupon...WOW im still tryin to figure out what to do about this especially if they charge $250 before. tax for a outdated room that was booked because of a free offer...we would not have stayed if it wasnt a free offer. I cant even comprehend this!!!

Room Tip: Dont trust anything front desk says on phone...I checked two separate times before checkin that free...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina C, Public Relations Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Very sorry to hear you had a bad experience with our front desk. We would like to find out more details about the coupon offer you had and how it was handled. Please check your messages for our customer service contact info.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Kansas City
3.3 mi away
Ameristar Casino Hotel Kansas City
4.3 mi away
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa
Argosy Casino Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Riverside
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in North Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
3.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Northeast
Candlewood Suites Northeast
#21 of 110 in Kansas City
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
#4 of 4 in North Kansas City
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's North Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's North Kansas City

Address: One Riverboat Drive, North Kansas City, MO 64116
Location: United States > Missouri > North Kansas City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's North Kansas City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 392
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Harrah's North Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s North Kansas City Hotel North Kansas City
Harrahs Hotel North Kansas City
North Kansas City Harrahs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's North Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.