We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrah's North Kansas City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Harrah's North Kansas City to your Saves list
Harrah's North Kansas City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One Riverboat Drive, North Kansas City, MO 64116   |  
Hotel amenities
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We received an offer in the mail (too good to refuse) to stay at Harrah's North Kansas City so that's just what we did. We were wanting to make a quick trip to Snow Creek in Weston, MO anyway so we decided we would just stay in Kansas City which is about a 30-40 minute drive from Weston. Harrah's is an absolutely beautiful hotel but since it's a "casino hotel" it lacks lots of the basic "free" amenities we enjoy when traveling, i.e. free wireless internet, free breakfast buffet. Wireless internet is available but for a daily charge. We had received a $20 food credit with our stay so we enjoyed the breakfast buffet downstairs near the casino on our first morning. The location of the hotel is fine, the room was very nice and the staff friendly. Overall we enjoyed our 2-night stay. The value was excellent for us because of the special offer we had received. Otherwise, be prepared to pay nicely for a night's stay at Harrah's.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Front Office Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
thanks for the great review. Please come back soon and we hope your next stay is as good as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    106
    72
    31
    38
See reviews for
52
136
35
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. The casino is a long way from the actual hotel so if you have issues walking or are handicap you should consider elsewhere. If smoking is an issue avoid the casino all together. We were there a day after a huge snowstorm and was fairly clean. Bellhops were are rare find.

Room Tip: Avoid eating at the grease soaked Grill. The folks in the coffee & Ice Cream shop were friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro, Calif
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first time at this property. We were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Every employee we encountered smiled and said hello. Our room in the Las Vegas tower was very nice. The room was large with a beautiful bathroom. I loved the extra large tub. Everything was spotless. We never ate at the buffet but had dinner twice at Mike and Charlie's. Food was delicious and service was outstanding. It really is the best restaurant at Harrah's. We also had dinner at The Range. We were very disappointed. Food wasn't good and the prices were way out of line for what they offered. This was supposedly the top restaurant at Harrah's but it was more like an overpriced Denny's. No tablecloths or even placemats. Bright lighting and noisy. We loved the hotel.

Room Tip: Las Vegas tower is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For the high cost of our one night stay we had to contend with intense smoke smells through out the buildings (smoking only in casino but… ). We had booked our reservation online for a King size bed, one night. We went to our room and was very disappointed, we walked into a room with 2 full size beds. We went back to the reception desk and they explained to us this: "You are guaranteed a room not a room type." So we paid $200 for two full size beds and NOT the KING we thought we were getting. We also inquired about a shuttle service to take us to our event in town, NO Shuttle service. Unfortunately for Harrah's we will not be staying in your hotels ever again. Not a happy camper.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Kansas City hotels

Ottumwa, Iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went to Harrah's North Kansas City for one night earlier this week. This was our first time visiting the property, and I was thouroughly impressed!
The rooms are large, with a great bathtub that is spacious enough for 2. Lots of channels on the tv to choose from. We were in the Las Vegas tower, 7th floor. The hotel is quite a long walk from the casino and restaurants.
We ate the buffet which was AMAZING, lots to choose from! They have something for everyone, and the quality of the food was wonderful!
The casino is 2 floors with with lots of table games to choose from even in the afternoon on a Wednesday. Very clean, lots of different gaming options as well.
All of the staff was superb! Friendly and everyone spoke to you.
My only complaint was that I had called a few days prior to arrival to make sure we could check in early, and was told "of course you can" and "it would be no problem" so we arrived around noon and was told by the only person that wasn't friendly in the whole place, that it was a $15 charge for early check in. I don't mind paying this, but just wish I would have been told this on the phone when I called. I expressed my concern to the younger women at the front desk who checked us in, she was not interested one bit, only cared that I pay the fee.
Overall, we would definatley love to return to this property!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniel c, Front Office Manager at Harrah's North Kansas City, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your most recent feedback and taking the time to write a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantville, KS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

For the high cost of our one night stay we had to contend with intense smoke smells through out the buildings (smoking only in casino but… ), a decent but not great room (like any moderately priced hotel in size, décor and style), and no guest book to answer questions we had. We had lots of questions about cost of buffet, where to find certain things, hours of the fitness room, etc. Instead we had to make a list and ask the staff in two separate calls. Really, every guest has to call and ask, or seek out the answers by finding various shops and restaurants? The positive: the bathroom was very nice with great hot water and the casino staff (not hotel staff) were extremely friendly (obvious and over the top, but it was nice in comparison to the hotel staff). I would not return due to cost.

Room Tip: Find a way to get your room comped is the advice from another gambler... not sure how to do this exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Iowa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Have stayed many times, never disappointed. This last time had both dinner buffet and breakfast buffet. Also, on way back thru K.C. stayed at other hotel, but had breakfast buffet at Harrah's. Always a very nice room with all amenities in Las Vegas Tower. A long walk from hotel to casino. Harrah's does a good job with cash coupons and all the free food coupons - keep it up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrah's North Kansas City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's North Kansas City

Address: One Riverboat Drive, North Kansas City, MO 64116
Location: United States > Missouri > North Kansas City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in North Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's North Kansas City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harrah's North Kansas City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s North Kansas City Hotel North Kansas City
Harrahs Hotel North Kansas City
North Kansas City Harrahs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrah's North Kansas City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.