We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum

Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum
323 Armour Road, North Kansas City, MO 64116-3505
816-421-0002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Family Fare
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Visited on a sat nite and had no trouble getting in. The walls and ceiling are covered with all kinds of great artifacts and you'll want to take a few minutes to just walk around and look.

Server was fantastic and friendly. Hard to judge the food overall when you just get a burger, but it was very good and price was reasonable.


A must-see for any sports fan.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Owner at Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Your compliments are exactly what I hoped to achieve when I opened the restaurant. Good, reasonably priced food in a warm, interesting atmosphere. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blair, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Steak soup to die for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am not a sports fan, but while driving around in North K.C I spotted a nice looking bar/restaurant/ sports museum and thought I'd stop....great decision! I had a breaded pork tenderloin sandwich, which was better than most, but the highlight of the meal was their steak soup. I've been back many times and now only get the steak soup (big bowl of it) for my meal. If you are into sports you will love this place in addition to the food, but don't forget to try the steak soup, the best I've ever had, wish I lived closer.

Bandman2

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Owner at Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Everyone loves our steak soup--so glad that you did too. Thanks for reviewing my restaurant so favorably.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I live in California, but get back to good ol' K.C., where I grew up, about twice a year. I usually bring friends from all over the country and I always take them to Chappell's. Seems like all of my friends are sports nuts like me and they GO NUTS when they see the unbelievable collection of sports memorabilia inside Chappell's.

I was in with an NFL player friend before the Chiefs-Saints game years ago. We had a great talk with Jim Chappell and he had Keith Poole sign a helmet and made us feel very welcome and special.

I'll be meeting a buddy from Detroit next month in K.C. for a Royals-Tigers game at beautiful Kauffman Stadium. I'm always at Arrowhead or Kauffman Stadium and Chappell's with my friends when I get to town. I make sure they see only the best that K.C. has to offer!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Owner at Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very your awesome review. Hope to see you in the restaurant again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I had Lunch at Chappell's in early June. The menu had a nice variety and the prices were very reasonable. You can find may items in the 7 - 9 dollar range. You cannot help but notice the sports history as there are thousands of items to look at. If you are a sports fan or a person looking for a reasonably priced menu Chappell's is worth the stop when in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Owner at Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review. I always enjoy meeting and talking with my customers so please introduce yourself the next time you are in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Memorabilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

What a great place! A must see and eat if you are a sports fan. Great memorabilia and good food at a reasonable price. If the owner is in the house he is more that happy to talk about your sports interest and give you a back ground on many of the items. About 10 minutes from the Sprint Center and the Power and Light District.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim C, Owner at Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your visit and kind words. We all work hard to make sure our guests have a memorable visit--be sure to introduce yourself the next time you are in the restaurant. Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum also viewed

North Kansas City, MO
 

Been to Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chappell's Restaurant & Sports Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.