We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Kansas City North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Kansas City North to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2214 Taney Road, North Kansas City, MO 64116   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've stayed here many times for business and pleasure and have always been impressed with quality of stay and service. They're pet friendly (a must for my family of poodles) and close to casinos, food, entertainment, downtown KC, golfing, and much more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    40
    25
    25
    23
See reviews for
45
41
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is one of the lowest-priced hotels I've ever found in the Kansas City area. The neighborhood isn't exactly upscale but not seedy. Quick access to I-29 and other major roads.

While an older property, it was clean and comfortable. The lobby and elevator had a faint cigarette smoke smell, but fortunately not the room.

The mattress was perfect for me - not too firm (I think it was a pillowtop). There were 2 full beds in the room rather than 2 queens which is unusual but actually increased the floor space and roominess. There was a nice HDTV with about 30 channels. Free Wifi and a desk made it convenient to work. The HVAC was tricky to adjust - a slight turn of the dial made it too hot or the other direction too cold. Finally I nailed it and slept comfortably.

The layout was interesting in that the sink is right next to the door. The toilet and shower are directly behind the sink in a separate room. The closet was an open space with about 5 hangers and an iron and board. There's no hand lotion, conditioner, or other luxuries but the shampoo and bar soap were perfectly adequate.

Breakfast was sparse - you can make waffles or oatmeal if you want something warm. Otherwise it's cold cereal, bread, bagels, and muffins, hard-boiled eggs, yogurt (only one flavor), and of course coffee and juice and some apples and oranges. If you want a more substantial breakfast, Denny's is right next door and McDonald's is a few steps away. For lunch or dinner the options expand to Arby's and Burger King. Harrah's Casino is a short drive away if you want to waste...oops, I mean spend your money on food and entertainment.

I'd even bring my wife here and she's particular about hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Great, clean, spotless room, nicely decorated, friendly helpful staff, but there's a cigratte smell in the hallway at level 2, don't know about other part of the hotel. It would have been nice if there was a computer with internet and a printer for guest use. Breakfast was included, plenty parking available. Generally happy with the stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

To much noise to stay at again. The noise from the interstate and other rooms are loud. If you are a light sleeper it will not work. I will say the price is what you pay for. If you can sleep through anything it would be a good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a very mediocre hotel. Definitely not the worst, but far from the best hotel I have stayed at. Staff was very accommodating. The only real complaint I have about the hotel is that the water tasted horrible. If you are staying at this hotel I would recommend bringing bottled water.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am relocating to Kansas City-MO from Washington-DC. The local Holiday Inn Express was full and La Quinta Inn and Suites was a couple of blocks away. The general manager and his staff were truly professional, polite and very helpful. The room, hallways, elevator and common areas were clean and properly maintained. I stayed at this location for three days and felt extremely safe before flying back to DC to start my relocation. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

Thank you La Quinta!!

Jim K

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Kansas City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Kansas City North

Address: 2214 Taney Road, North Kansas City, MO 64116
Location: United States > Missouri > North Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in North Kansas City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Kansas City North 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Kansas City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Kansas City North Hotel North Kansas City
North Kansas City La Quinta
La Quinta Kansas City North

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Kansas City North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.