We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lubbly jubbly roly poly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gate Inn

The Gate Inn
Smeath Lane, Clarborough DN22 9JW, England
01777703397
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $27
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Contemporary new gastropub, in rural Nottingham, using only local seasonal produce.
Retford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“lubbly jubbly roly poly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We live locally, and have sampled most eating houses in the area. The menu had something for everyone, and compares very favourably with others around here. The service was excellent, being prompt and efficient. The food was excellent, especially as they served my favourite; Jam Roly Poly, which is hard to find nowadays. The prices were very reasonable, and Im sure we will return.
As for the setting, I know it is in a nice place, but on a wet November night, you really appreciate the warmth of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    69
    13
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent for a party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we arranged a lunch-time party for 36 family and friends to celebrate our ruby wedding. Glen and all the staff pulled out the stops: we had a really good experience from pink drinks through to an excellent 3 course lunch over 3 hours. We made all the arrangements in advance and everything was delivered on the day in a very friendly but efficient way. The Inn is now modern in style but sits on the canal side and offers a warm, happy haven to entertain friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must if staying in the Retford area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found this pub by chance on a weekend visit to West Retford and so glad we did! The pub is in the village of Clarborough and is situated on the side of the canal. We ended up eating there on two evenings and on both occasions the food was lovely, well presented and delicious. There is a varied menu to appeal to all tastes and very reasonably priced. The staff are very friendly, make you feel very welcome and offer a great service. We would certainly eat there again if in that area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing evening by the canal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have visited the Gate a couple of times since we found it, and we will visit again. We called in on a summer evening, it was calm serene and just what we were looking for.
The gate sits along side the canal, the first time we went there was a narrow boat moored just outside the restaurant window, a pair of adult swans were swimming by quite relaxed along with their new family of three goslings.
The setting was like something out of a love story, but better still, the food matched the mood. We were delighted with what we had, and were very impressed with the service we recieved. There is no rush to vacate your table, and we found the whole evening very relaxing.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wholesome food, great atmosphere...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

First time visiting this pub for a family birthday meal with several young children, although a few of our party go here regularly and thus the reason it was chosen. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, with excellent friendly service from the staff throughout our meal.
The kids meals were competitively priced, but with premium quality and made from wholesome fresh ingredients, chicken nuggets from breast meat and homemade burgers which our fussy eater children really enjoyed.
I was pleasantly surprised by the good range of real ale at the bar and the fact that it was well kept was a positive too as it wasn't my turn to drive. We didn't take advantage of the picturesque canal side setting as we had small children with us, instead we made use of the enclosed grassed garden area at the rear.
Finding good quality food with locally sourced, fresh ingredients and a family friendly environment with excellent beers is a real positive and we're all looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate Inn also viewed

Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Retford, Nottinghamshire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.