We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cool Cave!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluff Dwellers Cavern

Bluff Dwellers Cavern
954 Hwy. 59 South, Noel, MO 64854
417-475-3666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Noel
Type: Caverns/ Caves
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: When you first arrive at Bluff Dwellers the view is amazing. You will notice Limestone walls and 35 steps you have to climb to get to the entrance of the cavern..that is the hardest part of the cave. As you go up the steps think about how all this limestone is a part if a landside that sealed this cavern off from man for more than 3000 years. Since 1925 it has been owned and operated by the same family and guaranteed you will be amazed by what is under this Bluff~ The tour underground takes around 45 min-1hr, well lit and guided. The Browning Museum is also included on the tour, a wonderful collection of mineral rocks,fossil rocks,artifacts and antiques.
Ottawa, Kansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Cool Cave!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have done many caves and we feel this is one of the nicer ones. We were thinking we would be the only 2 touring as we have done that before which is no fun, but we had 12 in our group. Mary Jane is a hoot plus full of knowledge on Bluff Dwellers cave. The 45 minute tour and browsing the museum is a must if you are passing by the area.
Plus we got to visit with the owner as he was riding around in his golf cart and asked us if we need any help as we were looking at our map.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“excellent cave”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What an experience!!! Cave life, great guide, wonderful museum. No steps majority level group. This cave was awesome, we saw 14 different caves on this trip and this was the last and best!! Mary Jane was great, she was knowledge and fun. We will be coming back to this cave again. I would highly recommend stopping. Enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were driving home via the " back roads" and saw the sign for Bluff Dwellers Cavern as we were on Missouri 90 leaving Noel, MO. While the caverns are located a couple miles south of Noel along highway 59, when they opened in 1927 the road was known as highway 71; it was the main highway between Joplin and Springdale, AR. In the 60's they built a new highway 71 and renamed the old one highway 59.... which had the inevitable results: without traffic, once-thriving businesses closed. You see the evidence everywhere, but somehow the town and its caverns hung on.

As others have said, it is an amazing cave and at $12 admission (adult), worth the price. Be sure to bring your sweatshirt if you're like me and get chilled!! They also have a Facebook page, so be sure to look them up and Like them! We need to get the word out about this hidden gem in Missouri.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“must see!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recently went to fantastic caverns in branson where I spent twice as much and had half the fun. Plus they use propaine I think to run those carts and it can give u a headache and they jerk those vehicles so much.
Its only $12 to go to bluff dwellers caverns and you get a much better tour guide who really enjoys what they do. Also there gift shop has an amazing collection that is a must see. We got to walk through the cave and see things up close. had to dunk our heads down and turn sideways sometimes. It was sooooo much fun! :) lots of water and animal life to see, we saw a frog, bat and some salamanders! We also got to wash fossils and genuine stones the old fashion way. What a cool experience. My sister and I went together and will love to go back someday!!! :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quaint Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely little cave with many formations. Beautiful grounds. Interesting museum and gift shop. Tour guides are knowledgeable and personal. Very enjoyable experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluff Dwellers Cavern also viewed

 

Been to Bluff Dwellers Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluff Dwellers Cavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bluff Dwellers Cavern to your Saves list