We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop enroute Te Anau to Queenstown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Rivers Cafe

Five Rivers Cafe
1963 Mossburn Five Rivers Road, Mossburn 9793, New Zealand
(03) 248 7755
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Mossburn
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
393 reviews 393 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Great place to stop enroute Te Anau to Queenstown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Absolutely out in the middle of no-where. However, what a surprise.... we stopped for lunch and we had a wonderful meal and warm reception! The blue cod was very good and the pricing reasonable. The venue is very nice.. opening up in the back to a lovely little view.

This is the place to stop for food and drink between these two towns.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    27
    5
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Awesome cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast on the way to Te Anau, so glad we did. The coffee was great and breakfast was yummy. Awesome building too great character, with a neat big fire going, very cosy

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“very rude lady”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stopped at this café on the way to Queenstown, it was 11.15am and I asked for a cooked breakfast, the very pleasant young lady asked me to wait while she asked the kitchen, I then heard the lady in the kitchen yell that I should have been in there earlier if I had wanted breakfast and to tell me to choose from the lunch menu which did not look appealing.

I would not recommend anyone to visit this café which has such a rude staff member.

I had a lovely breakfast and coffee ten minutes down the road at another roadside café.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was the best coffee I had in a month long visit to the South Island.

The café is perfectly located between Queenstown and Te Anau, making a great coffee stop.
It's cute and eclectic, warm and welcoming.

The staff this time around was much friendlier and actually seemed happy to be there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor Service, Ordinary Food, Only saviour was the coffee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stopped here on the way to Te Anau with my partner. The cafe was in a great position half way between Te Anau and Queenstown.

When we walked in we werent greeted by the staff who were standing behind the bar. We then asked for our meals and had a seat. I noticed there ws Wifi and when I enquired I was told 'yes we do have wifi but not for the customers' bluntly......

The food was terrible. I had a chicken pasta that had no chicken I could find, it was watery and had little flavour. My Partner had BLT which she didnt enjoy (and potentially cause some food poisoning issues).

I wouldnt waste my time stopping here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Rivers Cafe also viewed

Mossburn, Southland Region
Mossburn, Southland Region
 
Lumsden, Southland Region
Mossburn, Southland Region
 

Been to Five Rivers Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Rivers Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.