We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, nice indoor pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1125 E. Daniel Dr., Mount Vernon, MO 65712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Litchfield, IL 62056
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean room, nice indoor pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My room was clean and comfortable. Indoor pool was nice on a hot day. HSIA didn't work too well, but the manager said it would be fixed soon, and she was very nice and apologetic. Good stopping point between St. Louis and Tulsa.

Room Tip: Interior corridor motel, so any room is OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and the positive review of our property. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future!
Kathy Tiller
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Comfort Suites -- A hotel that has beautiful flowers outside and everything good inside, too -- comfortable room, good breakfast, nice hottub, and a close walk to the Pasta House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, MO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed here while in the area for a family wedding. The hotel was clean and quiet. We had a problem with the lock on our door, but were able to make do with it. The room appeared to be mid-remodel on its decor, as it had newer carpet and had only a blanket and sheet on the bed (we assumed the comforter was pending?). The staff was helpful and attentive. Our extended family enjoyed hanging out together in the lobby/breakfast area, and the pool was nicer than we expected. My brother stayed in the nearby Super 8 and reported that the Comfort Inn was nicer overall. If you're looking for a room in Mt. Vernon, pick the Comfort Inn.

  • Liked — Very clean room
  • Disliked — Problem with door lock
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2006

The Comfort Inn in Mount Vernon, MO could be a really nice hotel if they just addressed a couple small areas (the smells and the noisy doors).

We needed to stay in Mount Vernon and found that there were very few choices. Basically it's just the Super 8 or the Comfort Inn (the only two I would recommend) or a few really run down motels.

The first problem I had was even FINDING the Comfort Inn on the Internet. I checked all the major travel sites (and even Choice Hotels directly), but nobody showed it as available (or even existing). I ended up finding them in the yellow pages and calling them directly. They said they had plenty of availability, and that they were in a dispute with Choice Hotels so they were not currently being promoted through Choice. The price they gave me over the phone was quite a bit lower than the Super 8 (or even the motels!) so I gave them a chance.

When we arrived, the first thing that we noticed was that the place was almost vacant. There were four cars in the parking lot (and the most we ever saw was six).

The next thing we noticed, and probably our biggest complaint, was the smells. The lobby area REEKED of cigarette smoke. We got checked in quickly and went to our room, which smelled strongly of chemicals (like mothballs). Our daughter is very sensitive to smoke and mold, so I was a little concerned that it might be a problem. Our noses quickly adjusted to the smell in the room. We only really noticed it the first 10-15 minutes each time we returned to our room.

The room was moderately spacious, but slightly cramped for a family of four. The beds were a little softer than we're used to, so our backs were a wreck by the end of the trip. There were only two (large) drawers to put clothes in. There was a large mini-fridge (nice!) and microwave in the room. The desk/table was fairly large, but had no convenient plugs. Fortunately, I always bring a power strip, which we ran to the plug in the corner. When we went to plug in my wife's fan behind the end table between the beds, we found that the outlet behind it was just hanging loose (not mounted) with no faceplate on it. The carpet, bedspreads, and decorations were fine but a little worn.

The walls are thin and the doors were extremely noisy, which was the other major problem we experienced. If you didn't carefully close the door, it would loudly slam shut. Although there were only (at best) ten rooms being used, it was quite noisy. With two kids still taking naps during the day, that can be (and was) a problem.

The free continental breakfast was one of the best ones I've ever seen. They had a commercial waffle-maker and pre-measured waffle batter, so you could make fresh waffles. There were also danishes, baggles, boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, and more.

The housekeeping staff was very, very helpful. By the time we got up, ate breakfast, and got everyone dressed every day, it was almost time for our youngest to take her first nap. With so few rooms, they would be done cleaning before she woke up. We explained the situation to them, and they happily came in and did a quick cleaning (make the beds, change out towels, empty trash) before her nap each morning. The only problem we had with hosuekeeping was that two of them stood outside our door chatting loudly one day while our daughter was trying to nap.

During our daughter's morning nap, we would take our 3-year old son to the indoor pool to swim. It wasn't anything fancy, but it certainly fit our needs. The Hot Tub never got hot. The pool could use resurfacing, but it's fine. We were a bit perturbed that an employee would come in to the pool area and smoke while we were swimming. You can get towels for the pool at the front desk.

The free Wi-Fi worked great. I was able to get online and work when I needed to.

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. They even let us use the pool after hours one day. They would always say "Hi" when we came and left.

I have a hard time trying to decide whether to give them 3 or 4 stars. The price was great. The amenities (indoor pool, free Wi-Fi, free continental breakfast with waffles, mini-fridge and microwave in room) were better than expected. The smells and noisy doors are annoying, but are fairly minor.

If we were to stay in Mount Vernon again, we would gladly stay here again.

  • Liked — Fresh Waffles for Breakfast
  • Disliked — The Smells and Slamming Doors
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2005

Have stayed at this hotel several times in the last six years, but no more! Reserved non-smoking rooms, got smoking rooms the last three times. Rooms were dirty, in one room the tub had a hole in it and a dangling light fixture in the bathroom. To add insult to injury the last time we stayed we were overcharged on our reserved rate. When we pointed this out to the clerk, he told us it wasn't enough money to worry about. This used to be a fairly decent hotel, but has declined sharply. Save yourself some grief and stay across the road!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon

Address: 1125 E. Daniel Dr., Mount Vernon, MO 65712
Location: United States > Missouri > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Mount Vernon offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, free lobby coffee service, free continental breakfast, indoor heated pool, meeting facility, and free Wi-Fi in guest rooms and public areas. All guest rooms include microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, flat panel satellite TV, ESPN, and HBO. At Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Mount Vernon, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, BookIt.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Mount Vernon
Comfort Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Mount Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.