We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Twain Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monroe City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mark Twain Landing
Save
You added Mark Twain Landing to your Saves list
42819 Landing Ln, Monroe City, MO 63456   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Morton, Illinois, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“NO Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My parents had a reservation here for the weekend to go fishing. My mother ended up going into the Emergency Room the day before with balance and heart issues. My father was told..."unless there is a death in the famlily, nothing will be refunded". While he was focused on getting my mother back to health, I called, called and called to try to talk to the manager. Finally, after 12 hours of trying and 6 phone calls...I finally got through. She had absolutely no sympathy at all. Policy is policy. Paula is the manager and is not responsive to customer needs. From what I gathered, her staff isn't stellar either...they could barely look up the reservation. I would look to another place to stay if I were you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Angela and please accept our apologies for the late reply. We are doing our best to make some changes at the campground so the type of experience you had won't happen to anyone else. While we cannot correct your situation, please know we are listening now and will strive to make our park better for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    3
    5
    16
See reviews for
36
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This will be our 5th year going to Mark Twain Landing. There are 8 families that go for a total of about 30 of us with about half being kids and young ones. We generally stay 4 days It is great for us because some of us that do not have campers rent cabins and we can all stay right accross from each other. The cabins are not the best but how often are you really in them? they serve thier purpose. I do not recommend them though for famlies with allergies. The kids LOVE the playground and you can't beat the deal you get for the waterpark if you stay there. We always have a great time. The campground is clean, most of the staff are pretty nice and there is ALOT of activities for the kids and grown ups alike. We will contiune each year as it is a great outing for all of us families who live in MO and IL to meet up and spend quality time together.

Room Tip: We always rent the family bungalows not good for people with allergies or asthma but they are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Mark Twain Landing, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying at our campground, we are really trying hard to make changes and upgrades to better serve our campers and water park guests. Some of our cabins have been completely remodeled and are available for rent now and we are doing our best to make them more accessible for those with allergies. Thanks again for your feedback, we are always listening!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Charles, Mo
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This park is not pet or family friendly. You cannot find any managers that could be any less unprofessional, rude, and extremely disrespectfully to campers and that includes all the staff at Mark Twain Landing. The rules only pertain to certain people; the rules change daily and are not posted. The food in the restaurant is poor and overpriced. The "posted" activities for kids are now activities that must be paid for. They yell and scream and curse at the children and also confront the children without the presents of their parents.
This park has a water park across the street that they manage, and they close the park many times due to electric problems or water leaks in the pools, and they will not refund your money or give you a rain check. The rules are not family friendly which means if you have kids you can't take in any food or drinks for your little ones into the water park. They no longer have bumper cars or mini golf. If you are staying for even more than one day and have any visitors come to Mark Twain Landing, then they charge $5.00 per person to visit you in this park. During high peak like Memorial Day or 4th of July, the electric will go out. They blow the transformers every year and your camper could be without electric for hours. They have karaoke on Saturday nights by the pool right in front of the campers. If you are one of those who does not like loud, screaming, drunk people singing off key you will not like that, and if you have kids that are trying to sleep, good luck with that also. If you want to come to a camp ground for peace and some relaxing down time this is not the camping spot for you. Also no tents are allowed. How many families do you know whose kids don't like to sleep in a tent at night! Well not here....no tents. All in this entire park is not recommended. I hope you will find this review helpful and informative. Thanks we camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monroe City hotels

Columbia, Missouri
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I don't know what happened but this campground has gone from GREAT to BAD in one year.
My family has taken vacations here for over 5 years and the kids really looked forward to it however this year the park has closed many of the things that made it worth the extra money it takes to stay in a first class park. The cost is now way to much for what is available. For those who wish to stop here by what you have heard "DON'T". The Fun Zone, gone. The Restaurant, gone. The Game Room, is good. The Play Area for the little kids has a bearded mean Drunk who feels its his job to harass campers. And last but not least the main attraction "Water Park" has hours that were variable and not posted. The day we were there they closed shortly after opening because of bad weather that never showed up, it turned into a nice day but it did not reopen and we were told no refunds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We rented a cabin. Upon entering I noticed black stuff on the wall under the air conditioner. The cabin was clean enough but not great. The bed in the bedroom was very soft and it was not comfortable at all. The air conditioner froze up in the middle of the night and started making horrible noises. My son has asthma and he tried to sleep up in the loft but was unsuccessful due to all the dust and stuff up there. The second night was better as it was cool and we were able to open the cabin up and not use the air conditioning. All the other activities that were suppose to be available were not open when we were there. The water park was only open one day and it was very expensive. I would not stay here again unless I brought a camper in or a tent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

This camp site is very nice. Full hook up, all concrete pads. Everything was very clean. Bath house and bathrooms very clean. Nice pool. Water park very close, which was very fun.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This would not have been a bad deal for camping, since you normally spend your entire day outdoors. But since it was over 100 degrees we found ourselves inside alot. The lakeside cabins are small and dirty, and they are located right next to a "catch and release" pond that smells like feces. Tip 1: bring a mop or swifter wetjet to clean the floor and ant spray. Tip 2: you must bring all linens, towels, dish rags and hand towels.
Like I said, it wouldn't have been that bad if we could've spent more time outside
Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mark Twain Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Twain Landing

Address: 42819 Landing Ln, Monroe City, MO 63456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Monroe City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Monroe City
Number of rooms: 29

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Twain Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.