We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Vaquero

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Vaquero
1200 E. Highway 24, Moberly, MO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 33 Restaurants in Moberly
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were just passing through Moberly and found our original restaurant destination closed so we opted for the El Vaquero. Overall we found the food to be very good. After pigging out on the excellent chips and salsa our food arrived. With one exception, everyone thought their meals were excellent and the portions were quite large, so we left stuffed! My wife had the Taco Salad and was not very impressed. Otherwise it was a very good visit and I would eat here again (probably without my wife).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food in the Midwest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Near the highway 24 and 63 junction, this is Mexican food as good as you will find in the Southwest and competitive with some of LA's better Mexican restaurants. We've had a lot of different dishes there, and last night opted for the tilapia. It was a very good piece of fish, excellently prepared. A nice discovery in an unlikely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True Mexican cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Recommended to come here by a coworker - I was in town visiting a work office. Had the carne asada tacos. Muy bien! Wonderfully marinated steak meat. Served with an amazing sauce. Great service over the lunch hour! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Missouri
1 review
“Real good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Just went there with sister yesterday evening and got an order of 3 Burritos California to go for me, mom, and sister, while we had to go get a couple of other things first.. Got our order done within 15 minutes.. VERY good burrito, have had the Carne Asada as well on previous visits.. really wnjoy their food and will definitely be going there again in the near future

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Good Food Quick Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Waiter was great. The food was delivered to the table in a very short time. Chips were hot (nice touch) but avoid the. dip, it is just melted cheese and not very good

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vaquero also viewed

 

Been to El Vaquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vaquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.