We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With some work they could be average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino St. Louis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Casino St. Louis to your Saves list
Hollywood Casino St. Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043 (Formerly Harrah's Hotel and Casino - Maryland Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Maryland Heights
kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“With some work they could be average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We booked a stay and play package and they messed up at booking on the price. When we got there, they wanted to charge us almost $40 extra for one night!. I fought for my reservation price and cleared it up, but they still tried to charge me the extra $40 when I checked out. They had a free buffet on Wednesday for playing for a half hour, but it created nasty lines at the buffet. Their buffet was a good concept done badly. I'm glad I didn't pay for it with the package, i would have been mad. Paper thin walls + party next door = long night. Otherwise, hotel was a decent place to rest your head for the night, if you can get it on the cheap. Don't bother with the casino, tightest slots i've ever played. Bad layout of guestrooms and parking make it a bit of a hike to get to your vehicle.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    84
    72
    50
    37
See reviews for
32
165
31
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

Was hoping to at least hear music and have drinks at the VooDoo but it was closed on a Tuesday night. The new spot, Sammy Hagar's was also closed as well. Checked out the work out facilities and did spend some time there. Hopefully things will pick up a bit and the other bars and restaurants will be open early in the week.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Rooms are typical Harrah's, 1 or two beds, single cup coffee maker, not able to reserve room requests only a room. Water $4. They do have suites, but since I'm only a visiting 7star player I've never seen one.

Nicest buffet I've seen for a Harrah's, plus 7stars get 2 free buffets a day. What was funny was watching two 7star "ladies" stealing food from the buffet. They brought their own containers and were filling them up and putting them in their "bags"more like carry on luggage.

Room service is very fast!

Of course no 7star lounge, Diamond with snacks. Good luck finding a hosts, haven't seen any after 24 trips.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Mo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

Dear Harrah's St. Louis:
Thank you for the opportunity to spend 2 days in your gaming facility end of March, 2009. We had a luxurious room, with bed exceeding expectations, and generous food allowance offered us bragging dining. That means we uttered aloud our "yumms."
BUT, paying for Internet asccess is not acceptable. These days, even the cheap hotels offer free wireless--even Go-marts and cafe's don't charge for free cyperspace air.
I am insulted for paying for one hour of Internet access--when it is my job to post devotoinals for children every Tuesday and Friday on Biblestudyforkids.com.
AND, charging $1.00 everytime one uses the telephone contravenes the purpose of the 800 numbers--which is FREE long distance calls!
Wrong move, Harrah's nickel and diming GUESTS who stay in your Gaming facility--it makes you smell like the greedy money grabbers you evidently are.
I urge you to change these two amenities you offer which should and must be Free of Charge!
We went to Harrah's Kanasas City, and got free 800 number calls there.
Thank you for this opportunity to offer you advice and provide avenue of my wrath.
Very truly yours, Mrs. Murray L. Griffith

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Il
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Have stayed here several times and always have excellent service. Check in and check out always easy. Rooms always clean. However this last visit second day housekeeping not quite up to par. Woke me up to clean room at 9:30 am and I told them later please. As of 7PM, had not come back. So checked out early. But I will go back. Other reviewer is correct about Sammies being misleading. Not always open.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

Great rooms and great ...although the information on their new Sammy Hagar restaurant was not truthful, they are only open Wed thru Sundays. They are closed Mon and Tues yet no information is posted about that. Also the Voodoo lounge is now only open Fri and Sat nights which also isnt published information. Otherwise great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

We arrived on Friday night ( March 6 2009), after traveling 5 hours by car from home. There were no lines, no waiting and the staff was not only pleasant but helpful too! We ere invited to the blackjack tournament, and there was plenty of staff to assist with registration and and other time we had questions. Room was excellant, clean quiet and the beds were heaven! We ate in the buffet on Friday night ( all you care to eat crab legs) and they were always fresh and plentiful. Saturday we ate at THE RANGE which was as good as any other casino steak house we have ever tried. Next time we will try Sammy's! It looks interesting and the reviews from other guests was that it was good! Only two negative ( ?) comments.
1. With all the glitz and glammer, the revolving door at the main entrance had leaves from last fall in the interior of the door. Seems like this would be very simple to take apart and clean.
2. The announcing during the tournament could be heard better in far parts of the casino rather than in the tournament area. It was difficult to understand in the table area, and we ( along with everyone near us) had to continually ask for the announcements to be repeated!
We will be back to Harrah's St Louis!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis

Address: 777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043 (Formerly Harrah's Hotel and Casino - Maryland Heights)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.