We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino St. Louis

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Casino St. Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hollywood Casino St. Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043 (Formerly Harrah's Hotel and Casino - Maryland Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Maryland Heights
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Upon checking in Brianne was respectful but would not do a cash deposit when I had express to her about having to wait for 3 weeks for my credit card to be refunded the previous times we stayed there. Finally a manager on duty came out and did tell me that they'll do it these time but never again will they accept a cash deposit. The rooms curtain had cigarette burns on it and the bed sheets apparently they don't have a fitting one or whom ever dressed the bed did a very poor job on it that when I pull the covers over me I pulled every single one of them leaving the bed exposed. Aroma cafe had great service and outstanding breakfast. Upon check out miss Saneka was very rude because once she pulled up the account on her screen she started laughing as if what she read on the screen was some type of joke about me and my guest. We try to contact her over the phone to ask her what was on that screen that she found so funny and made her laugh at us. I can understand the casino being remodel and that I am willing to trade off for a high standard customer service not whatever I experienced as far being hassled for a credit card at check in or the laughter of Saneka at check out time. If I was in in the joke I would of laughed too but apparently it was all on her screen not for me to be part of it. Hopefully someone will see these and take the appropiate actions in order to maintain a high standard of customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    65
    47
    35
See reviews for
32
151
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As casino hotels go, this one isn't the best or the worst. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet (I was there on a Monday night so I can't vouch for the weekends). The only real drawback is that the furnishings, and in fact the whole hotel, really needs to be refurbished. The decor is very outdated, the carpet needed replacing ... the whole room just looked "old".

The worst part for me was that the room is seriously unfriendly to business travelers. There are almost no available power plugs except in the bathroom. They do have complimentary WiFi but it was slow. It would be easy enough to install "power stations" as some other hotels have done, and I would strongly recommend they do it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We decided to come back to town to visit family a day early and needed a place to stay for the evening. The rooms were clean and looked almost new. The staff was also very accommodating to our puppy. The only thing would be that the halls need a little more work to remodel. Overall a very pleasant stay. We look forward To a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here from 10/9-10/12. Upon attempting to check in at around 2:00, we were told that check-in is at 3:00, but we could check in early for $10.00. I have never heard of this, but it does make sense to charge a premium for this. The only issue is that when we went to check in at 3:10, we were told the room was not ready yet, and would not be until after 4:00. When we finally got checked in, they told us the wrong room number, so our keys did not work. We had to go back to get this straightened out. Overall a poor check-in experience.

There was a lot of construction going on in the casino area as this property transitions from Harrahs to Hollywood. The hotel room with king size bed was large and comfortable with a loveseat and sitting chair. Our room had a refrigerator located in the cabinet under the TV. The bed was very comfy and housekeeping did a great job. The bathroom was also quite large with an oversized tub. Midway thru the trip, both of our keys were deactivated and had to be replaced.

The casino had all the usual games with 10X odds on craps and a double deck blackjack game for $15 minimum. There are large TVs throughout to watch the big game (Cardinals NLCS game was on almost every TV giving an awesome atmosphere). They have one of the larger poker rooms in St Louis with 2 tournaments each day with buy-ins starting at $60.

While we did not eat on property, there are several options available, and all looked nice.

I would have rated this hotel as very good, but the check-in experience knocked it down to average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Gambling is dumb and stupid and even moreso when you go to a casino that is under construction. They are changing their look from a Harrahs to a Hollywood and they have been doing it for a while. I'm not sure the new look will help us win or even breaking even but at least when the construction is done there will be more machines on the gaming floor that will hopefully improve our chances. The room was clean and comfortable but tv channel selections were limited to news, sports, and car repair which pretty much guarantees you will be downstairs gambling and eating. Although it is labeled a steakhouse, we ate fish at Kelly English and it was very good. Club Aroma was open for coffee, bakery items and the same food choices of Harrahs but now the sandwiches have clever movie names. The Cool Hand Luke was delicious. There is no way to avoid the scaffolding, construction crews and the noise that comes with remodeling unless you avoid this hotel until it is completed. If youre still willing to gamble that the work will be done by the time you arrive you also need to know that they now charge for early check in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Never again...The room was clean, but was very worn. However, it smelled of stale smoke and mildew (I had requested a non-smoking room and even added that I had allergies in the requests). The smell was so bad that the clothes in our suitcase even picked up the smell, so we continued to smell of this room for days after our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's a descent stay, staff was friendly; however, there were food stains on the sofa, chair, as well as the desk chair. The carpet was dirty too, but at least the bathroom was very clean as well as the bed and bedding which is most important for me. The room service is always fast and efficient. There are quite a few restaurant options within the hotel/casino too. With the close proximity of the airport and highway, this is more of a flip of the coin kind of stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis

Address: 777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043 (Formerly Harrah's Hotel and Casino - Maryland Heights)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.