We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable ... but terrible for business travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel to your Saves list
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable ... but terrible for business travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As casino hotels go, this one isn't the best or the worst. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet (I was there on a Monday night so I can't vouch for the weekends). The only real drawback is that the furnishings, and in fact the whole hotel, really needs to be refurbished. The decor is very outdated, the carpet needed replacing ... the whole room just looked "old".

The worst part for me was that the room is seriously unfriendly to business travelers. There are almost no available power plugs except in the bathroom. They do have complimentary WiFi but it was slow. It would be easy enough to install "power stations" as some other hotels have done, and I would strongly recommend they do it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We decided to come back to town to visit family a day early and needed a place to stay for the evening. The rooms were clean and looked almost new. The staff was also very accommodating to our puppy. The only thing would be that the halls need a little more work to remodel. Overall a very pleasant stay. We look forward To a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylorville, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here from 10/9-10/12. Upon attempting to check in at around 2:00, we were told that check-in is at 3:00, but we could check in early for $10.00. I have never heard of this, but it does make sense to charge a premium for this. The only issue is that when we went to check in at 3:10, we were told the room was not ready yet, and would not be until after 4:00. When we finally got checked in, they told us the wrong room number, so our keys did not work. We had to go back to get this straightened out. Overall a poor check-in experience.

There was a lot of construction going on in the casino area as this property transitions from Harrahs to Hollywood. The hotel room with king size bed was large and comfortable with a loveseat and sitting chair. Our room had a refrigerator located in the cabinet under the TV. The bed was very comfy and housekeeping did a great job. The bathroom was also quite large with an oversized tub. Midway thru the trip, both of our keys were deactivated and had to be replaced.

The casino had all the usual games with 10X odds on craps and a double deck blackjack game for $15 minimum. There are large TVs throughout to watch the big game (Cardinals NLCS game was on almost every TV giving an awesome atmosphere). They have one of the larger poker rooms in St Louis with 2 tournaments each day with buy-ins starting at $60.

While we did not eat on property, there are several options available, and all looked nice.

I would have rated this hotel as very good, but the check-in experience knocked it down to average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyWorldFan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Gambling is dumb and stupid and even moreso when you go to a casino that is under construction. They are changing their look from a Harrahs to a Hollywood and they have been doing it for a while. I'm not sure the new look will help us win or even breaking even but at least when the construction is done there will be more machines on the gaming floor that will hopefully improve our chances. The room was clean and comfortable but tv channel selections were limited to news, sports, and car repair which pretty much guarantees you will be downstairs gambling and eating. Although it is labeled a steakhouse, we ate fish at Kelly English and it was very good. Club Aroma was open for coffee, bakery items and the same food choices of Harrahs but now the sandwiches have clever movie names. The Cool Hand Luke was delicious. There is no way to avoid the scaffolding, construction crews and the noise that comes with remodeling unless you avoid this hotel until it is completed. If youre still willing to gamble that the work will be done by the time you arrive you also need to know that they now charge for early check in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driverandnapigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Never again...The room was clean, but was very worn. However, it smelled of stale smoke and mildew (I had requested a non-smoking room and even added that I had allergies in the requests). The smell was so bad that the clothes in our suitcase even picked up the smell, so we continued to smell of this room for days after our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadiep2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's a descent stay, staff was friendly; however, there were food stains on the sofa, chair, as well as the desk chair. The carpet was dirty too, but at least the bathroom was very clean as well as the bed and bedding which is most important for me. The room service is always fast and efficient. There are quite a few restaurant options within the hotel/casino too. With the close proximity of the airport and highway, this is more of a flip of the coin kind of stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EWBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Had Reservations For 9/11. We Arrived Around Noon For Lunch. Ate AT The Buffet IT Was Just Ok...Not Worth $16 After Player Discount. Then Went To See About Checking In. We Have Never Had a Problem Checking In a Little Early At Other Casino Hotels so We Didn't Think It Would Be a Problem...We Were Very Wrong. The Told Us They Were Going To Charge Us a $10 Fee Plus Tax For Early Check In...Are You Kidding Me! That Is The dumbest thing I've Every Heard Of. So Of Course We Waited. When it Was Time To Check In We Waited In Line For Over Ten Minutes And They Tools Us Or Room Wasn't Ready Yet...So, Now We Should Be Charging Them $10 Plus Tax Right? That Just Seems Fair... After Waiting Another 30 Minutes To Actually Get a Room We Played a Bit And Got Food At The Coffee/ Cafe Place. The Service Was Slow And The Employees Were Not Friendly! i Went To The Room Around Ten And The Whole Floor, Hallway, Room Wreaked Of Sewer Gas. It Was So Strong That It Was Hard To Breath And Made My Nose And Eyes Burn. i Called The Desk To Find Out What Was Going On And The Operator Tells Me That it's From The Land Fill Across The Street And There Is Nothing They Can Do About It. Then i Speak With The Front Desk And The Girl Tells Me The Manager is Working On Fixing It...Really??? Talk About a Run Around. It Smelled Like That For The Next Hour And Never Got Any Better So i Decided To Pack Up And Leave. i Went To The Front Desk To Ask For My $79.00 Plus Traxes And Fees Back And The Useless 20 Year Old Tells Me There's Nothing She Can Do About It. i Want a Manager. She Disappears For 5 Minutes And When She Returns Tells Me The Manager Can't Come Talk To Me For 20 Minutes Or So...You Have Got To Be Kidding Me!!! Unbelievable! The Room Was Also Very Dirty So i Guess i Should Be Glad i Didn't Have Far To Go Home So i Didn't Have To Sleep in The Filth. I'm Uploading The Pictures i Took. Check Then Out Before You Step Foot In That Disgusting Place. I've stayed In Many Hotels And This One Was By Far The Worst! i Don't Know How They Can Claim To Have Luxury Rooms. They Are Awfull! Small! Dirty! Old! Furthermore i Don't Know How They Can Rent Rooms Filled With Sewer/Landfill Gas Isn't That a Heath Hazard? Shouldn't They Have To Disclose That Before stealing Your Money?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jen2978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maryland Heights
River City Casino & Hotel
#7 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. Louis...
#7 of 15 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
HoteLumiere
HoteLumiere
#85 of 121 in Saint Louis
3.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham St. L...
#2 of 15 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Homewood Suites St. Louis-Riverp...
#10 of 15 in Maryland Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel

Address: 777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While you are here, we invite you to discover exciting gaming with non-stop entertainment and gourmet dining. Test your luck on our extensive selection of over 2,100 slot machines plus over 57 table games. We also have a number of dining options from fast, delicious burgers at Celebrity Grill to a more upscale experience at Final Cut Steakhouse. There is something to settle everyone at our seven dining venues. The excitement doesn't stop there! Don't forget about Boogie Nights. Dance the night away with the Ultimate 70s & 80s dance club open every Friday and Saturday from 9pm - 3am. Experience fun and excitement all under one roof. If there is anything we can to enhance your stay, please do not hesitate to call us at 1.855.STL.GAME. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing