We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong direction” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino St. Louis

Save Saved
You added Hollywood Casino St. Louis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hollywood Casino St. Louis
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043 (Formerly Harrah's Hotel and Casino - Maryland Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Belleville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wrong direction”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

rooms are dirty,buffet stinks and overpriced, requested microwave didn't get it. told of free internet, no such thing. poor service, if any. put down 3k to gamble gave them very good action, made me pay 4 @#@### dollars for a beer. won a little money and cashed in, they treated me like I robbed the casino. what a @#@@# joke of a casino.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    57
    42
    33
See reviews for
31
141
29
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is our first time staying overnight since it became Hollywood. We are locals who gamble here a lot, but wanted to be close to the airport for our early morning flight.

They gave us a comped Suite. It was the largest suite I every stayed in . The whole top two floors are Suites. There was a huge whirlpool tub if you want to relax.

We found the slots to be a bit tight this time, and they are under construction in half the casino. We do not understand why it would take forever to do this, but it has been quite a while for about a fourth of the casino to be down.

The comps seem to be a little more generous than Harrah's so far (Since the November 1st takeover), but we will see how long that lasts. It does appear that they are trying to improve on many things, but in the end they will need to loosen their slots somewhat to compete with Ameristar across the river.

We had a very nice dinner at Charlie Gitto's Italian restaurant in the casino. A first class place with terriffic food and not all that pricey for what you get.

This is still our home base casino and we hope they will continue to make improvements as promised to this property.

Big Jim

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel/casino several times when it was Harrah's, and this is the first as Hollywood. The place is showing serious signs of wear and tear. This is the first time anywhere I've had to get a different room due to smell. Second room wasn't much better. Casino still decent, as was the buffet. Overall, this place does not have the WOW factor anymore.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Really nice room, extremely clean, lovely bathroom.
They let me check in early. Staff was very friendly.
The service was very good, I needed some extra towels
and didn't have to wait 5 minutes before they brought them.
Food is great, try the prime rib on Thursday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Don't waste your money playing slots here. Look around before you throw your money away at the slots. Much tighter than when it was Harrah's. I didn't see anyone winning and spoke to several "regulars" who felt the same way. Gambling is supposed to be entertainment but how entertaining is it to go to a casino with nothing but cold machines where you can't even win enough to play for a little while. The drink and change people were not very friendly and I got a general vibe of discontentment from employees as well as patrons. Just not a fun place since Hollywood took over. They have taken sheer greed to a whole new level and have tightened their slots to a ridiculous level.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently spent three comped nights at this hotel, that was recently converted from a Harrahs property. The hotel room was very nice, clean, with a refrigerator. The only problem we had was upon doing the check-out in the room, found there was an error which we had to go to the front desk to correct. The staff at the desk were efficient and friendly. The casino is under some renovation. The buffet is average.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vandalia, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed with my dad at the New Hollywood casino on January 1st. The hotel was excellent, rooms were clean, nice and beds very comfortable. The Staff was very nice and pleasant. Only bad side was they did not have a swimming pool or hot tub for when you want to relax when your not gambling.

We went to the Casino it was okay. I went to the bar in the Casino sat down to have a few drinks and play some video poker. I waited almost 45 minutes until a bartender came up to get my drink order. There were 3 bar tenders and only about 4 other guest at the bar. They were occasianly making drinks for when the waitresses came up with the orders from guest through out the casino, but they weren't very busy at all. Half of time the bartenders where standing around talking to each other and one was constantly leaning against the counter. They looked at me several times, so they knew I was there. When the bartender finally came up to me and took my order, which was a Long Island Ice Tea, I watched him as he went to the cash register with my credit card. He started to talk to the other bartender and showed him my credit card, they both looked at me and laugh. I guess they thought it was funny using a credit card for buying drinks. I had two Long Islands, which where Highly Over Priced, cost almost $9.00 for just one!!! The Casino Queen only charges about $3.00 for a Long Island Ice Tea.

This is the second time we been to the New Hollywood Casino. Each time bad customer service! The casino is nice but they need to do something with their staff!

Room Tip: Get a room close to the elevators if you have trouble walking. Their hallways are very long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hollywood Casino St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Casino St. Louis

Also Known As:
Harrahs Hotel Maryland Heights
Harrah's Saint Louis
Harrah's Maryland Heights
Hollywood Casino St. Louis Saint Louis/Maryland Heights, MO
Harrahs St Louis Casino Hotel
Address: 777 Casino Center Drive, Maryland Heights, Saint Louis, MO 63043 (Formerly Harrah's Hotel and Casino - Maryland Heights)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Maryland Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Maryland Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hollywood Casino St. Louis 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hollywood Casino St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino St. Louis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.